We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with nice atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archibald City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Archibald City to your Saves list
Archibald City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zitna 1319/33, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #152 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Archibald City Hotel was surprise me for good. I didn't expect to much since I booked there just to
take a chance.

When I arrived there in the morning the reception was very kind a he gave me the room immediately even it was around 10 AM. (in many hotels even they have room they told you to come at 14:00 PM (check in time) Thos hotels are petty. Whay not to give a room to turist which arrived after traveling a room (if they have a room) so the one could fresh and rest a little?

The room was very clean like to hotel halls, lobby and others.

The room temp. was good and you could set it like you want.

The shower also great and very clean.

The breakfast was really great (for my taste).

The service in the hotel was very good.

It was goon surprise and I will be book to this hotel again.

The location is 50-50. What I ment that for me or pople who could walk a little is no problem but to seniors it is little difficult bexause it is not close to Tram or Metro.

The internet is very good and in the lobby hall there are 3 compiters for free use.

loveprague.

Room Tip: Usually I takes higher floors so it is less noise and some view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you for your kind and thorough review of our hotel! We are especiall glad that you liked the local atmosphere and our service. We are always trying our best for our guest to maximally enjoy their stay! Wishing you a nice spring and sumer time, E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    258
    71
    12
    11
See reviews for
55
271
43
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was a very good experience. The hotel is very close to all the main touristic points of interest, on walking distances. It is in a safe area and it is very nice. The only disadvantage is that you can't park the car anywhere else but in the hotel's private parking and it is quite expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you for a great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately our central location next to Venceslas square and local traffic authorities don´t allow for a free parking in the streets around.If you´ll intend to return to our hotel, and you´ll have special requests, please contact our department. We will be glad to prepare you another nice stay! With kind regards from Prague, E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just back today from 3 days in Prague. We had a great time. My wife booked the trip for us as a surprise for me for my 40th birthday. This hotel was recommended to her by a travel agent she spoke to.
This is a 4* hotel. but not an Irish 4* hotel so its much more basic than we would be used to. That said this is a perfectly acceptable hotel. Located just off Wencelas Square and not to far of a walk from the Old Town & its famous Old Town square.

Positives:
Completely spotlessly clean. Lobby, hallways & bed rooms.
TV & Free Wi-Fi in the rooms
Free safe in the room
Complementary tea & coffee facilities - Segafredo instant coffee. Very nice indeed!
Beds are very comfortable and plenty of extra pillows & blankets if you need them.
Double glazed windows keep out the sound from the busy street below
Air Con in the room.
Room well finished if a little dull and stern. A bit communist is how I would describe it.
Bathroom in great condition, nice powerful shower and loads of piping hot water.
Loads of sockets so mobile phones/hair straighteners can be plugged in.
All the staff we dealt with were really friendly and had impeccable English.
We were given a 20% discount voucher for their sister hotel the Archibald @ the Charles Bridge. Review to follow.

Negatives:
No bar or food available after breakfast - so no night cap. Not even a coffee available in the lobby.
Breakfast was rank. Loads of it and plenty of choice but the hot breakfast consists of horrible little German style sausages. Vile looking things. I chanced the scrambled eggs on Thursday morning, I can safely say they were the most disgusting thing I have ever eaten. The meat & cheese selection was cheap looking and tasted it. We were there on B&B basis but skipped it this morning, went down the street and paid for a breakfast!
The street out side is dirty and rundown, not the hotels fault but it forms part of the overall experience. Its neighbours are sex shops, strip clubs, and manky mini marts.

I would recommend this hotel though as for the price it was hard to beat.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 303. Street facing, but the view is of a derelict building. Check out its sister h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for a great and incredibly thorough review! We appreciate your feedback, it´s the best way to improve the comfort for our future guests! It was a pleasure to accomodate you in our hotel, we hope to see you again soon. As with all the guests, if you will have any special requests, please contact our reservation dept.before your arrival.So thank you again and have a great day! Sincere regards from Prague,E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel was excellent in both staff and design. The bedroom was spacious with Tea/coffee making facilities and a safe at no extra charge. The hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch or evening meals but serves an excellent breakfast to suit all tastes.We planned to stay B&B as from our research we knew there were plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance. We went to enjoy the Christmas Market which found was a very short walk from the hotel after going through Wenleclas Square towards the Astronomical Clock.
One warning if you get a taxi agree the price before you get in ..... Beware.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank You for Your kind words about our hotel! We really appreciate it. We are especially glad that You liked the breakfast, we are trying our best to offer the widest selection available.
As for the tip about the taxis, You are absolutely right! That is our hotel car service has fixed prices and our receptionists can tell it to all our guests anytime. Also there is a price list on reception desk.
So once again, thank You and have a grea day!
E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and I were staying in Prague for three days and got a good deal with Archibald City. We received a warm welcome from the receptionist, the rooms were spacious, warm and the beds comfortable. I had a problem with the bathroom sink (the plug wouldn't work so the sink wouldn't empty) and they had a maintenance guy come up and fix it immediately. There was a decent minibar in each room with affordable drinks and the breakfast was more than decent (a mixture of cold meats, cheeses, cereals, breads and the Czech equivalent of the full English breakfast) and served at a reasonable hour (until 10.30am), which was nice for two people on holiday. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location was very handy for Wenceslas Square and Old Town was a short walk away. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would definitely book here again. An excellent hotel in a truly great city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank You for Your nice review! We are glad that You enjoyed Your stay despite the cold weather during Your stay. We are trying hard to offer our guests the best service around for a reasonable price.
Thank You again and have a great spring time!

E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

February in beautiful Prague can be very cold but the warm welcome we got from the Archibald City Hotel was great.

We had a room on the seventh floor overlooking the castle - a lovely room with excellent facilities including tea making equipment and hairdryer, and it was quiet too. Our room and the public areas in the hotel were spotlessly clean. The breakfast was varied and plentiful with good coffee too.

The rates for this hotel are really good. Location was great - close to Wenceslas Square and the metro, the highlights of Prague easily reached. This is a really good hotel with very nice friendly and helpful staff. (All the reception staff we met spoke English.)

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Madam, thank You for Your kind review fof our hotel! We can assure You that we are doing our best for our guest to enjoy their stay with us. The location really is not as bad as it seems at first and the hotel itself is surprisingly quiet. If You´d like us to arrange You something special for Your next stay, please contact us and we´ll do our best to prepare You a nice stay again! Wishing You a nice day,E.Aljanabi,FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a great hotel with friendly staff with excellent English. Do not be put off by the location on the map - it is deceptive. You are only a few minutes walk from Wenceslas Square and the Old Town is not much further. Prague's highlights are easily walked, save, perhaps, the castle.
Buffet style breakfast of hot and cold food is great as was the coffee.
The rooms were warm (it was a snowy January) and had a small desk should you have to work.
A well placed hotel right on the attractions' doorstep but just on the edge to avoid tourist prices.
A return visit is a must.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Madam, thank You for Your great review! We really appreciate it. Our hotel is indeed well located and the general area is getting nicer and nicer every year. Also you can get to Prague Castle by public transport (subway or tram for nice views) from our hotel in less than 20minutes. Once again, thank You very much and have a nice day! E.Aljanabi,FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#94 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
#54 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amarilis
Amarilis
#231 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#202 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Sonata
EA Hotel Sonata
#378 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald City

Address: Zitna 1319/33, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#118 Business Hotel in Prague
#124 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#153 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald City 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Archibald City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Archibald City
Archibald City Hotel Prague
Archibald Hotel Prague
Archibald City Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archibald City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.