We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archibald City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Archibald City to your Saves list
Archibald City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zitna 1319/33, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #152 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

great hotel /nice staff good breakfast
had a nice time in Prague until my disabled wife exchanged some money in the Sq My wife gave them £81 and they gave her Czech money to the value of £51 ,this company has bright yellow signage/They make their money by exploiting the unwary and inexperienced traveller as well as the disabled/So be warned do not deal with these people see picture below

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Sir, thank You for Your kind words about our hotel! We are glad that You enjoyed Your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry to hear about Your trouble with the exchange office. Sadly it still happens in Prague from time to time. Our hotel offers our guests 100% safe exchange office services for all major currencies. Wishing You a great day,E.Aljanabi,FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    258
    71
    12
    11
See reviews for
55
271
43
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I liked it very much
everything was really good
clean room
quite room
warm water, good pressure
all equipped
nice staff
good breakfast
excellent location both to center and to public transport inside city and airport-hotel
I would go there again
They also has a good deal for price with Czech airlines
Recommended

Room Tip: ask for quite room "at the back" not to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Sir, We would like to thank You for Your visit and a great review. Our goal is always to make the hotel as good as possible. If You ever wish to return, please be so kind to call our reservation department to get a nice discount for returning guests. Weth best wishes from snowy Prague, E. Aljanabi, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in Archibald City Hotel for 7 days for X-mas holidays and the main advantage of this hotel is its perfect location! It’s only 5 minutes to Wenceslas Square and 10 minutes to Stare Mesto and overall not far from other sights and metro station. It will take about 10 minutes from the airport, we paid 40 euro for a taxi and arrived at the hotel at 6 in the morning, they will give you a room before check-in time if any available. You also can take a metro from the airport till National Museum station and walk about 3 minutes to the hotel, it’ll be much cheaper. Windows in some rooms do not open so you should ask about before check in. Breakfast is included but be ready for unvaried food everyday morning. Overall hotel is good and quiet without any entertainment and bar; it’s a real deal for a budget stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Madam, We are glad, that You enjoyed Your stay in our hotel. Thank You for Your comments about the breakfest. We are currently working on jazzing up the breakfest as well as our lobby bar. In the near future, You can expect more local pastry, better-tasting coffee and a more welcoming lobby bar. Thank You again. Our team wishes You a great Year 2013. E. Aljanabi, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Archibald City hotel during a New Year's excursion with friends. This hotel was perfect for us, from the prime location to the spacious clean rooms to great customer service and delicious full breakfast...we couldn't have been more pleased! The only small hiccup we encountered was regulating the room temperature as it was quite warm in the room, but we opened the window for fresh air and problem solved, no big deal. Our room was very clean and the breakfast included was complete with eggs, bacon, pastries, cereals, salads, cold cuts, fruit, coffee, tea, juices, etc. There was something for everyone....perfect! We easily walked to the many beautiful sites and the tram station was a 5 minute walk for when we were too exhausted to walk anymore. Overall, a great hotel and I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
first of all I would like to wish you good luck and all the best in 2013... I am happy that you enjoyed together with your friends celebration in Prague! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback you posted regarding your stay at Archibald City hotel, it will be pleasure for me to share your compliments with my colleagues as well. Your recommendation is always the best advertisement for all of us, thanks a lot.
Best regards to North Carolina!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights here while exploring Prague. The hotel is a block from the top part of Wenceslas Square and we walked there every day and then down to the holiday market on the Old Town Square, and even to the Charles Bridge. Be aware of the sexually-orientated shops/enterprises in the vicinity - although these never posed a problem to us. It is probably the way things are.

Unfortunately there were two small snags right at the start. The arranged transport from the station did not arrive - apparently he was waiting there but we never found him - and the room we were allocated smelled of smoke. The first problem was not really that of the Hotel and if my phone was on would probably have been dealt with quickly. The room issue was excellently and immediately dealt with. It is a smoke-free hotel after all. Another room was awarded without delay.

I found the staff helpful on all fronts - were to exchange money, what transfers should cost, good local restaurants, calling our arranged excursions to to have us picked up. Jiri was a star.

The room was quite spacious which was good as we spent almost a week. Clean, tidy and no hassles. I just find it impossible in most hotel rooms to get the temperature control to respond properly to my required settings. This room was no different but we could open the windows (in winter) so no harm done after I gave up on the control working fast enough.

Although the bathroom is spacious, I wonder at the high side-wall of the bath. Older people will probably have a little difficulty getting in/out. Also, there is no second rack or shelf for 2x toiletry bags. We moved the loose chair in there and still had enough space.

There is a laundry around the corner which we decided was a little too expensive, but it is convenient.

The buffet breakfast was local and extensive enough to enable one to find something to his or her taste. Just never saw boiled eggs, though. I could probably have asked for it.

Internet is indeed free and works. After the Mac found it there were no further problems.

What I liked best was the sufficient space to move around, with the closet in a separate area. Least liked is probably the limited shelving in the bathroom, and the modern idea of closet hanging space 90 degrees to the wall, instead of the more traditional hanging parallel to the back wall. If you don't understand now you will quickly understand when you see it. These are minor issues thought and overshadowed by the positives.

All-in-all good value for money and a nice place to stay. Will do it again.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor faced the street and sirens were often heard. The view over the rooftops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your winter city break. I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our services and amenities and I am sorry for few issues that caused you troubles - although our hotel is really non smoking, unfortunately some guests don´t respect this restriction but my colleagues from reception are always here to solve these kind of problems, thanks for your understanding!
We´ll be happy to welcome you back, on our web you can use promo code LOYALTY to get a discount for your next stay...Happy New Year to Cape Town!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 7 friends for 4 nights in September, and had a very positive experience. The price was great (less than $100 per room), and the value was excellent. The hotel is very modern, clean, and rooms are well appointed. The breakfast buffet, included in the price of the rooms, was superb, with a full array of choices to fit many cultural tastes. It was constantly replenished by the excellent restaurant personnel. As all budget-minded travellers know, hotel breakfasts in Europe are a great way to fill up before a day of sightseeing.

We booked 4 double rooms. Mine faced the inside courtyard, and was very quiet. The rooms facing the street are a bit more noisy from traffic. The hotel is just a few blocks from Wenceslas Square, and is ideally located in that it is not right on the busy and noisy square, yet very close to all the fun action of Prague. We walked everywhere, even across the river to the castle.

The multi-lingual day-time front desk staff were always friendly and accommodating. However, one of the evening front desk staff (a middle-aged gentleman) was surly with us the evening before departure, when we were attempting to pay our bill and split the cost of the rooms. He gave the impression that this job was a bit below his dignity. When I inquired as to his name upon getting the cold treatment, his attitude improved a bit.

I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your autumn stay at Archibald City hotel. It´s really kind that you decided to share your positive impressions with others travellers on Tripadvisor, all comments are truly appreciated....I am happy that you and your friends had a pleasant few days in Prague and that you were satisfied with our hotel, location and services. I hope that we´ll get a chance to welcome you back in future.
Kind regards and Happy New Year from Prague!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over Christmas and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is well situated, close to Wenceslas Square and just one stop on the metro to the Old Town Square. The rooms are extremely clean and has all the things required such as safe, fridge, AC, free wifi. It wasn't a problem for me, but some may find the rooms on the smaller side.

Breakfast was included, and it had both cooked breakfast and cold food options. It wasn't amazing but definitely did the job.

The service was mix and matched, depending on who was on that day. There was a young guy and also a young woman who were both very nice and helpful. However there were 2 men who were slightly older and were more wishing that I had not approached the front desk...

I would definitely stay here again though, it is very good value and a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
firstly I would like to Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your Christmas vacation in Prague and your kind feedback you posted here, on Tripadvisor. It´s always nice to read that our guests were satisfied with their stay with us. I really appreciate that you mentioned the cleanliness and breakfast as well. We´ll be glad to welcome you back and for future booking through our website you can use our new promo code LOYALTY to get a nice discount...
We wish you Happy New Year and all the best!
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#94 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
#54 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amarilis
Amarilis
#231 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#201 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Sonata
EA Hotel Sonata
#380 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald City

Address: Zitna 1319/33, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#118 Business Hotel in Prague
#124 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#155 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald City 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Archibald City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Archibald City
Archibald City Hotel Prague
Archibald Hotel Prague
Archibald City Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archibald City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.