We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archibald City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Archibald City Hotel to your Saves list
Archibald City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zitna 33 | Prague 1, Prague 113 00, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The hotel is on a busy road, but just round the corner you are on to a quiet street leading to Wencelas Square. We stayed for 4 nights.

Not far from the Old Town, Charles Bridge and within walking distance of Prague Castle although tram stops are not far away (tram 22 takes you to the castle).

Room was comfortable and spacious, bathroom large and immaculate, maid service excellent. Well stocked mini bar in room. Our only concern was on arrival there was no milk in the room to go with our coffee/tea however we rang reception and was told to go down and he would give us some.

Breakfast of cold meats, salad,fruit, cereals, bacon, eggs, sausages, pastries and breads on offer

Although there are strip bars round the corner we found it a very safe area to be walking around.

We found a very friendly bar on the side street where meals and drinks were very reasonably priced

All in all a very enjoyable holiday and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your time taking to share your positive impressions through Tripadvisor with us and others travellers. I really appreciate your detailed description and I am happy that you choose our hotel for your stay in Prague and that you were satisfied with almost everything here...It´s always nice to read that our guests would come back, thanks a lot!
Kindest regards to UK,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    223
    62
    11
    10
See reviews for
38
235
32
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

As a late arrival we were greeted with a slightly grumpy night worker, but he soon sorted out our door keys. The room was more than adequate, although we would have liked a double bed – Asking the gent on reception, he told us to push the beds together. As it was late, we left them.

I would be reluctant to recommend the hotel to the elderly if they plan on using the shower, the step up is huge. However, it was more than fine for our morning shower. Off to breakfast we go.

A wide variety of cold meats, pastries, cereals and cooked breakfast in a buffet style was on offer. Everything was fine there, the juice could have been a bit stronger, it seemed watered down, but was still fine.

Back in the bedroom and the cleaner (who, might I add, was very friendly every morning) had turned the two beds into a giant double bed. How kind of her.

Internet access was also available across the hotel, free of charge, along with PCs available in reception.

A nice hotel, in a central location. Would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel team I would like to Thank you so much for your summer stay in our hotel and your valuable feedback as well. I have to apologize for not the best start but I am happy that the rest of your stay have met your expectations and you enjoyed your short city break in Prague....Of course, we´ll be glad to welcome you back anytime!
Best regards to UK,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

When we arrived, about noon, the lady in the reception was talking on her cell, she continued talking without even looking at us. It was obvious it was a personal call. After about 5 minutes another couple came and lined up behind us, at that point she finally got off the phone and checked us in.
The air conditioning was not working in the room they gave us. The temperature in the room was 28 degrees, and we turned it on and went for a 3 hour walk, came back to find it at 28.5. I called reception and the guy that answered informed me that all he could do was give me another room.
He gave us a room on the 1st floor that had a window to the inside of the hotel. The AC didn't work there either, the temperature was 24.5 degrees, and the air coming from the vent was not cool at all. I went back to the reception to talk to the attendant, and he told me that all rooms were the same, that nothing would be cooler than that.
We had unfortunately paid in advance, if we hadn't I would have walked out right away. It was not the best sleep needless to say.
The breakfast was extemly poor. nothing else to say.
There are no fascilities besides the breakfast room. Just rooms and a breakfast room.
Don't stay at the archibald.
If you do decide to stay, bring sleepers, since the carpets are filthy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guests,
first of all I would like to Thank you for your stay and your comments about it, although it is not pleasant for me to read this kind of review but please be sure that it´s very important for me to avoid these inconveniences for future...Please accept my sincere apology for troubles with AC and for bad manners that you found during check-in. Unfortunatelly I didn´t know about any complaints or problems with AC so I will be happy if you´ll provide me with more details directly(sudlikova@archibald.cz), because this is not a standard situation and I really want to solve it and find a way how to satisfy you...Thanks a lot in advance.
Best regards,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Arrived at the end of July for a 3 night stay. On arrival we instantly felt welcome as reception quickly processed our check in. Our room on the 6th floor was immaculate with no noise heard from traffic or other guests, on a number of occasions throughout our stay we said how clean everywhere was. Breakfast was perfect with a mixture of food types and set us up for a day out and about. The hotel is ideally situated for metro, tram and bus enabled easy transfer around the city when walking gets too much. Being so close to must see sights we mostly walked during the day. Staff could not be more helpful when we needed our boarding passes printing out and they made no issue of helping. Overall a fantastic stay, would recommend to anyone and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you very much for your lovely comments written about your recent stay in our hotel. It´s more than pleasure for me to read that
you enjoyed your holiday in Prague and that you were satisfied with your choice...Thanks for mentioning your compliments for breakfast and cleanliness as well. Please be sure that we´ll be glad to welcome you back, if you´ll have a chance to visit Prague again! Thank you...
Kind regards to York,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It is a very nice and confortable hotel. The ubication is perfect, just 15 minutes (maximum) wlaking distance to the Centrum. The breakfast is high quality. The Hotel es very clean and well organized.

The team that is in charge of the reception are very nice!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us and your kind feedback you posted here.
All comments from our guests are very important for us and our team really apprecite your compliments. I am truly happy that you were satisfied with our location and staff as well and of course, we´ll be glad to welcome you back in future.
Best regards to Mexico City,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Look past the few sex shops nearby and notice the short 1 block walk to Wnceslas sq and only a few blocks more to old town. 5 min walk to Nadrazni Hlavni. Breakfast exceeded expectations and attendants worked hard to please. Outstanding friendly desk clerks at all times coming and going . Room clean and quiet, more than adequate. Worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
I would like to Thank you very much for your stay in Archibald hotel and your pleasant review you posted, all comments are very important for us. I am happy that you enjoyed your city break in Prague and that you were satisfied with our central location, breakfast and last but not least with our staff - it will be pleasure for me to share your compliments with them, thanks a lot!
Kind regards to Aspen,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Archibald City hotel for 3 nights in June. It's a very nice, very clean hotel, located close enough to all the tourist attractions, yet away from major traffic and noise. It's within 5-minutes walking distance from Wenceslas square, 10 minute walk to Hlavny Nadrazy (Main rail station), 15 minute walk to the Old Town square. There're some adult shops in the neighborhood, yet we felt completely safe walking to our hotel pretty late at night. Lots of cafes,pubs and restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is very clean: our room, bathroom and linens were spotless! The reception desk staff was multilingual, friendly and helpful with dining suggestions and directions. A few weeks prior to our trip, we had to change our reservations. We communicated with the hotel via email, and they replied promptly. The hotel provides free wi-Fi, two computers in the lobby. A very good buffet breakfast was included in our price. Just a few things to note: the directions to the hotel were a little confusing for first time Prague visitors. The directions tell you how to get to the hotel from the Museum metro station, however, the station has more than one exit. But once you become oriented, the hotel is very easy to find. Another thing to note, the bathtub is very narrow-to the point that it's hard to stay and not slip. Other than that, it is a very good hotel, perfect for exploring beautiful Prague.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel I would like to Thank you so much for taking time to share your positive impressions from your recent stay through Tripadvisor with us and others travellers. I really appreciate your more than kind words written about our staff and services. I am happy that you were satisfied with our location as well and thanks a lot also for your notice for improvement, I can assure you that we´ll try to do something with it...
Best regards from Prague to Minnesota,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Archibald City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald City Hotel

Address: Zitna 33 | Prague 1, Prague 113 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#122 Business Hotel in Prague
#133 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#164 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Archibald City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Archibald City
Archibald City Hotel Prague
Archibald Hotel Prague
Archibald City Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archibald City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.