We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kampa Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kampa Garden to your Saves list
Kampa Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U Sovovych Mlynu 543/9 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #104 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wells - Somerset
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wonderful location. The hotel is clean and spacious, the staff are helpful and friendly, and when we mentioned that one bedside light was not working, the bulb was replaced immediately.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Give the staff a chance to put things right before moaning on Tripadvisor.
The Mediterranean market was vibrant and wonderful. Magic.
Several visitors to Prague have mentioned the trumpet fanfare played every hour.
This is "Intrada" by Adam Vaclav Michna.
Look forward to our third visit next year.

Room Tip: Over several visits, we have been given three different rooms. All wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampagarden, General Manager at Kampa Garden, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure for us to make your stay enjoyable again. We appreciate your confidence in our hotel and services.You as a returning guest, you are very important for us and thank you again. I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel personally. In case of a new reservation please contact me directly on tomas.pipek@kampagarden.cz. With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    198
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
92
228
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is on the Kampa Island near the Lennon wall and just below the Charles Bridge.
Location could not be better - easy to reach with trams from centre or from Airport.
Off the main streets. Quiet and welcoming. Breakfast excellent.
But the hotel needs to keep an eye out for details: one bedside light was not working on arrival and the fan had a defective plug, and the hairdryer had a worn cable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampagarden, General Manager at Kampa Garden, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for writing a review. We constantly replace used equipment and try to avoid any defect in the room or bathroom. I promise we will focus more on details as we want people to feel comfortable in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This Is a great Gem of a hotel and located just a short walking distance from Charles Bridge and basically in the center of everything. Easy walking distance to many places. I would recommend Hotel Kampa Garden for everyone. The staff are wonderful and everyone is very accommodating and very pleasant. Continental/hot breakfast is included with your stay.

If you happen to be there during the summer and it get's very hot they do not have air conditioning. However, this is common in many places throughout the region. It usually is never too warm and rare to get very hot in Prague most months. Naturally, would happen to me my first couple of days. No Problem, they provided me with a floor standing oscilating fan which made it comfortable to sleep. Only needed the first couple of days anyway. Thank you and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampagarden, General Manager at Kampa Garden, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.Wish you all the best. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This Hotel was the best location and price you can find in Prague. At least that what it was 2 weeks ago.

The rooms are spacious. The chair was dirty but I didnt use it so I dont care. The staff was very good. I am not sure if breakfast is included or not. But I would absolutely recommend the hotel to anyone.

My room didn't look anything like the pictures on the website LOL. But the room was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C., USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We could not have been more pleased with this clean, moderately priced hotel in an excellent location on Kampa Island, where the price included a hearty breakfast (the only "restaurant" services offered). All the staff bent over backwards to be helpful; the front desk staff, a 24-hour rotation of exceedingly pleasant young people with fluent English, were outstanding. The room was spacious and bright with 3 windows, a fridge and a spotless bathroom, and looked out on one end of a quiet little square. One could quibble about the breakfast--the OJ was actually a juice blend and tasted sweetened, the sausages, in a city brimming with great sausages, were a bit hot-dog-like--but on the other hand, there were many other food choices, the scrambled eggs were good and the pastries great. The other guests seemed mostly European, and included a number of families.

Our room was not air-conditioned, but did have a fan. We were there in mid-August and were worried about heat, but it was not an issue. We were on the first first floor and the room did not get that warm even during the day. Prague cools off at night, and we opened the windows and were very comfortable (insects were not an issue). We used the fan the first night, but actually felt cold by morning, and did not use it after that.

The location would be hard to beat--it is steps away from the Charles Bridge, the river, and one of Prague's most recommended restaurants. Also within a block or so, St. Nicholas Cathedral and Malostranské náměstí, the square where you catch the tram for the castle (and which has a Starbucks!), the Lennon Wall, the water wheel, the Kafka museum and Czerny bronze outdoor sculptures "Peeing" and one of giant babies with barcodes for faces. Also near the Kampa park. The adjacent little square had three or four restaurants and a tiny open-air market, but was quiet at night. Overall, a very clean, comfortable place well-run by friendly, professional staff, in an excellent location at a moderate price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Four of us all women, were here early August, and we loved this quaint hotel mainly because it was within walking distance to Charles Bridge, to Old Town and to everything that is memorable in Prague.
Was a safe hotel, staff, especially the women at the desk were extremely helpful.
Rooms are a tad bit cramped if you are sharing rooms, and can get stuffy in summer with no fans or airconditioning.
I would stay there again for sure!
ratna

Room Tip: Take rooms that face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a spacious quite luxurious room, with views on both sides as we were in a room on the corner of the building (great choice). There was a balcony, and windows right across and around the corner, and the room was light and very nice. We were in Prague for a conference and the hotel was just a 5 minute walk from the venue. Everything was handy, with the Charles Bridge and all amenities within a stones throw. We stayed for five nights, and breakfast each morning was great, with a good choice of hot and cold meals. If the restaurant was open for tea, we would have made use of it. This part of Prague is lovely and quiet, on day six we went to Vienna and when we returned stayed in another part of Prague and saw how bustling the city is in different parts of the city. So I would recommend Kampa Garden if you are wanting a quiet, but pictorial holiday. The staff are friendly and helpful, and always there to assist when needed. They also speak fairly good English, which is good, as there aren't that many English speakers in Prague. I also recommend ordering a taxi from the hotel if catching a train or plane anywhere, as they ensure to order taxis that are reputable. On our return from Vienna we caught a Prague taxi from the station and were ripped off. One other thing, Wifi is available at the hotel, and staff were also helpful in printing off my conference papers for me. Nothing was a problem for them. Recommend this hotel, had a very nice stay here.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampagarden, Front Office Manager at Kampa Garden, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are really glad that you liked your stay, especially breakfast. Since last month we have been trying to improve it by offering varieties of freshly baked pans and sweets, such as croissaints and pain au chocolate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
#210 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#78 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampa Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampa Garden

Address: U Sovovych Mlynu 543/9 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Prague
#110 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#146 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kampa Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-star hotel Kampa Garden Superior is situated in the centre of Prague on one of the most beautiful city islands in the world, just a few steps from famous historical monuments as the Charles bridge or the Prague Castle. Thanks to the convenient location of the hotel in Prague 1, it is very easy and quick to get anywhere.Hotel Kampa was reconstructed in 2011. It’s current form offers quiet accommodation in two single rooms, 23 double rooms, 8 superior double rooms and two family suites. From some rooms you will have a unique view of the canal Certovka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kampa Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kampa Garden Hotel
Kampa Garden Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampa Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.