We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check before you book.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Praha to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Praha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staromestske Namesti 481/22, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor special offer
Ranked #112 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Check before you book.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Grand Hotel Praha is in an excellent location.....BUT......if you want to stay there be sure before you book that someone Confirms that your room is in the main building with an elevator. We were placed in their building 2 doors down. Rooms were nice and big. Only problem it was 77 steps up and down every time you went out and dragging your luggage up and down was not fun. Our room had a beautiful view of the laundry room and the workers sat outside the door smoking and talking all day. I probably would pick a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Main building or don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am awfully sorry to read, that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and stairs up your room, in the other part of our hotel was a big problme, but our Apostolic residence is protected by Czech legislation to preserve it's heritage. Unfortunately due to these laws we are unable to install an elevator in the older part of the hotel, as this would alter the buildings original condition. We have staff on hand to help with luggage when required.

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    151
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
95
295
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Small old hotel in the center of Old Town Square. It has very nice rooms with all conveniences, great location with easy walk to many sites throughout the city. Provided good breakfast buffet in nice dining area. Need to make reservations for dinner seating. Staff was helpful and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your great respond to our accommodation!


And We are all looking forwrad to have you stay with us again, in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for several days in late September. The location cannot be beat. It is easy to walk to so many of the sites and there is a tourist office directly across from the hotel.

Do ask for a room with a view of the Astronomical Clock. Let the hotel know if an elevator is needed as some rooms are only accessed via stairway. Also, breakfast is served in a dining room overlooking the Astronomical Clock and the square. The rooms have double windows and noise was not a problem. The beds were comfortable and the bath spacious and clean.

The staff is very pleasant and helpful. We recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your great respond to our accommodation!


And We are all looking forwrad to have you stay with us again, in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This 29-room hotel is at the heart of Old Town Square in Prague. Our room, 210, overlooked the Astronomical Clock, which on the hour, chimed with the "saints" mechanisms moving and skeleton clanging the bell. Our room had the old and new features and was comfortable. This hotel also offers a buffet breakfast in the "room view" price, which we felt was reasonable at about $411 for 2 night stay. The criticisms I do have is the room was noisy with the crowd outside, and the tourists and businesses do stay up late. This hotel, as do many in Prague, may cause problems for those unable to carry luggage a few steps up to the lift. For those who run, there is a large park nearby (about 3/4 mile away) where my husband and I were able to get in our 10 miles. Hotel is near just about everything you would like to do and see in Prague. The staff was friendly, and room was clean. We definitely will stay here our next visit to Prague.

Room Tip: Get the view of the Astronomical Clock; it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am glad to read, that over all, you have enjoyed your stay with us in Grand hotel Praha!
I am awfully sorry to read, that the room was to noisy, we have got double glaze windows in all our rooms to protect the sound from outside, to disctract our guests. Also you have stated, in your review, that our hotel is only for guests, that do not mind to carry their suitcasses up some stairs, I would like to assure you, that in the main building there is an elevator that will take you to all leves of our hotel and we have got porter, that is there to help you with your suitasses.

We are all looking forwrad to have you stay with us again, in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into my room. The beautiful antique furniture and the size of my room were completely unexpected, but made my trip all the enjoyable. I felt as if I had stepped back in time to enjoy the olden days in Prague, and yet I had every modern convenience, including a large and well-equipped bathroom. The location on Old Town Square was perfect. I sat and watched the Astronomical clock strike the hour on several occasions - this was a dream come true. Lots of activity and good food to eat in the square. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Prague.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back may have less of a view, but definitely are larger and the antique furniture is am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your lovely respond to our accommodation and I am very pleased to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you loved the historical feel of our rooms!

We will look forward to have you stay with us again hopefully in the near future!
Regards,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 2 night and absolutely loved this hotel!
We had a room that looked out onto old town square and also the astronomical clock, we were nervous that it could be noisy but surprisingly it wasnt they had dobe a great job to sound proof the room!
Out room was a little small but we did not mind at all for 2 nights.
The staff were so friendly and really looked after us with taxis as we were told to be careful with the taxiz and also exchanging money.
I would definately stay here again and recomnend to my friends.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Mamadm,

thank you for your amazing respnd to our accommodation!
And hopefully you will visit us again in the near future!

Regards,
Lenka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Beware if you do not like noise and crowds but otherwise this is a very nice hotel. Could spend hours just looking out the window into the main square. Watching the clock never fails to amuse.

It can be very loud until all hours but if you close the windows it is quite nice for sleeping.

Lovely, old fasioned room. Very large and comfortable. Would advise getting room with two windows overlooking the square.

Staff very helpful. Breakfast good in nice room with view.

Close to most things you would want to see.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: Try to get a large room overlooking the square if you want to spend time watching people in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
Hopefully we will have the great pleasure to accommodate you with us again in the near future!

Regards,
Lenka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#71 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#102 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#84 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#31 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#12 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#8 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Prague
#96 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#97 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Praha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.