We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Praha to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Praha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staromestske Namesti 481/22, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor special offer
Ranked #115 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“You will love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

The Grand Praha was a delight! The rooms were clean, and attractive, the service was friendly, and you can't beat the location. Breakfast was delicious and there was a wide variety of pickings. Although large crowds were right outside the door, we never heard the noise or felt like we were in the middle of the tourist area. The outdoor cafes came in handy for lunch and we enjoyed our walks through the windy streets after a day of seeing the sites. I would tell all to stay her.

  • Liked — Attraqctive rooms and clean
  • Disliked — No mirror other than the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    151
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
95
295
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

When you book this hotel you should know that you pay for the location and not so much for a great hotel. And the location is perfect ,situated at the old town square. We had asked for a room with a view (based on other recommendations her at TA), and got a room staring directly into the astronomical clock. What wasn't so great was espesially the bed. It got a 15 cm thick mattress, and it was no problems feeling the planks beneth through it. We tried out the big sized bathtub and got a call from the reception telling us water was running down the walls in the resturant under our room (broken pipes or something..). Our room was situated at an apostolic part where you have to walk outside for a half block to get to the main part where the resturant and main reception is, We spoke to both superfriendly and rude staff. To be honest, this is not a four star hotel as I see it. But the breakfast was great, and the location is excellent...

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

A great Hotel if for its position only - assuming you want to be in the thick of it - However a very poor hotel for service and one where the client is only right if he is prepared to pay more for it - My advise - avoid the 'Romantic' package as it appears to 'limit' any form of 'service' even further.
My overall advise - a 'cost centre' based hotel where 'service' is a word that exists only on the company literature and staff dont know the first thing about it...Do some more homework there are far far better places just off the old square.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Praha for 4 nights on our first trip to Prague a few weeks ago. this is a great hotel. the location is perfect. you are right in Olde Town Square in the Stare Mesto. we could see the Astronomical Clock from our window and were quite amused at the crowd of people it attracts every hour for the not that exciting show it puts on. i was a little concerned before getting there about noise from the square, but it was not an issue at all. they have double windows that make the hustle and bustle almost non-existent. you could also open the windows to allow the noise to come in which we did almost every night while getting ready for dinner. and after a nap. in my opinion, the Old Town is really the best area of Prague. it is just so beautiful. and it is not difficult to walk across the Charles Bridge to get to the Hradcany area. get lost in the Jewish Quarter and wander down to the Hvelska market--which is probably the only place we saw any fruits and veggies in the city. and definitely take advantage of one of the classical music concerts in one of the cathedrals while you are there. they are inexpensive and worth going to, even if you are not a classical music buff. i certainly am not, but they are not too long and lovely.

our room at the Grand Praha was well appointed, had the biggest bed we have ever had in Europe, and you could turn the AC way down to super cold...which was great. i believe we were in room 312? at least it was definitely the 3rd floor. oh and breakfast was included everyday! love free food!

a definite stay and very reasonable!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — expensive restaurants in the square
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

This is a lovely hotel - very spacious and airy, with gorgeous antique furniture in all the rooms. Really comfortable beds, and well appointed bathrooms.

The breakfast, which was included in the price (such a rareity these days!) was fantastic. Everything you could ask for - cooked or continental, with fruit salads, cheeses, a variety of breads.

Slightly disturbed by the freely available 24 hour 'adult' TV channel. If you're travelling with children, you'll need to supervise their use of the remote control. I mean, it was very hard core!! Not sure if this is normal in Prague, or whether it was a mistake, but I didn't mention it to the staff for fear of looking like a prude!

Yes, it was slightly noisy in the square at night, but as another reviewer suggested, if you're looking for absolute peace and quiet, don't stay so centrally. The location of this hotel is really hard to beat

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

The hotel does not have lift. To go to my room it was necessary to go up/down 100 steps. It was very hard.
The hotel is clean and has an excelent breakfast.
Its location is very good in the downtown of old city.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

We stayed at the Apostolic Residence for three nights in May 2007, in a room with a view of the Astronomical Clock. We booked based on the reviews here at TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed!

I booked our room from the hotel's own web site, and my only complaint about the process is the fact that [at the time] the web site did not accept credit card information because it appears they do not have encryption enabled. Therefore, I was presented with the choices of relaying my card information via email, fax or phone. This was only a minor hassle.

We opted for the hotel-arranged transport to and from the airport. And let me tell you, at only 25 Euro each way, this is one of the best bargains in Europe. I highly recommend using this method of transport for the lowest worry factor. Additionally, we felt like rock stars when our driver pulled us right into the main square in a sleek silver Mercedes, and we were immedaitely met by a member of the hotel staff who whisked our bags away!

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. We watched with amusement the crowds gathering around the clock at all times of the day and night, while we were able to see everything perfectly from our window. That was great fun in itself. At this hotel, you are within walking distance of everything.

Our room was large and filled with interesting antiques. The bathroom was brand new, with beautiful marble throughout. The "shower" was the typical bath tub with a hand-held shower head and no shower curtain, but that wasn't a problem for us. The room even had air conditioning, which we did utilize at night since it was rather hot for May. There was a small refrigerator in the room - a mini-bar - that could be used for small bottles of water or soda if needed (and if the contents of the mini-bar were removed for this purpose). Also, the windows are double-paned and, when closed, we heard absolutely no noise from outside. when opened, there was a constant buzz of activity from the old town square.

Breakfast was served, buffet-style, in the main part of the Grand Hotel Praha, which is just a few doors down from the Apostolic Residence. There was a typical selection of food, all of which was very good. Coffee service was a little slow one morning, but we weren't in a hurry. Aside from a lady who attempted to steal my purse (I'd left it at the table while getting coffee) right in front of my husband, we had no complaints!

This was my second trip to Prague, and I have to admit that I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the cuisine in the city. We had phenomenal food everywhere we went. Some restaurants we tried and highly recommend: Cervena Tabulka (Google the name for address; kind of a hike, but you can walk there); micro-brewery Pivovarsky Dum (best beer I've ever tried); Ariana (an Afghan restaurant in the vicinity of the hotel); and Rasoi (an Indian restaurant in the vicinity of the hotel).

For some unique and fun things to do, I suggest trying to Black Light Theater while in Prague. It is a little strange, but it is unique to Prague and therefore I would definitely recommend it! I would also recommend trying the different micro-breweries, as we had some of the best beer of our life in Prague. Additionally, try to the Museum of Torture and the Museum of Communism for a different pace.

All in all, we absolutely loved the Apostolic Residence, and we would not even consider another hotel if we return to Prague for another visit!

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Online booking
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#71 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#104 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#84 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#29 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#11 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Prague
#97 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#98 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Praha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.