We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, all of the reviews are true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lida Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lida Guest House to your Saves list
Lida Guest House
Lopatecka 26, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 4)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 275 Prague B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yes, all of the reviews are true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

There isn't that much for me to add beyond what all of the other reviews have said. After two decades of running the guesthouse, the brothers and their wives truly have mastered hospitality. I recently stayed here for seven nights, and I was very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    56
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
162
48
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lida for four days in May. It was everything I could have hoped it would be and more! Jiri is a perfect host-he had someone pick us up from the airport and take us right to the door. He kindly greeted us, carried my wife's bag up the steps, let us in our room three hours early, and even got us coffee to start. he then took 45 minutes to sit down with us and show us all "around" Prague (on the map, of course). He truly takes care of everything-theatre tickets, metro tickets/passes, drinks and snacks, directions and maps, etc.
The room was very spacious, one of the largest I have stayed in while traveling in Europe, with a huge bathroom as well. Breakfast was amazing. We were full until well in the afternoon.
If you are staying in Prague, you MUST stay here! It's a five minute walk to the tram or metro and a very quick trip to all the major sites. My wife and I couldn't have been happier. The place is in a very safe neighborhood also. The place is great, but Jiri and his wife really make this place-you can tell he loves what he does and he takes care of you like his own!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lida Guest House for 4 nights. The owners went out of their way to make sure we were oriented to Prague (it was our first time there) and comfortable in their guest house. Our room was comfortable and clean. The guest is located in a residential neighborhood that is a quick tram ride away from all of the major sites. Additionally, there are some really cool things within walking distance to the guest house, including a fortress and basilica. We would highly recommend the Lida Guest House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Jiri, the host, is great. Knows his stuff, and provides an excellent service. For that reason, Lida is great. But its more complicated. We arrived at the central train station. First up, change Euros to local money at the Currency Exchange kiosk. Forget the exchange rate - they don't advertise the 20% fee/ tax for doing so. We changed 50 Euros, and lost 10 Euros as a fee!! Use an ATM instead. We tried to get a taxi to the Lida - we were quoted 700CZK. No meter in the taxi!! Jiri had offered to pick us up for 450CZK. We ended up using the Metro with Jiri's very helpful instruction for 32CZK. Prague is another of these cities/ countries emerging from the Eastern Bloc. Western prices for stuff which is in decay. They know the prices in our home and assume that is a fair rate, but do not understand the context. Having said all that, it is beautiful and cultured and fascinating. Lida is intelligently run (for 22 years) by a wonderful host. It had good location, big rooms, reasonably clean. Jiri (the owner) is the key, and he is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our experience at this guest house could not have been better. Jan knew what to and say to make our visit the best it could have been. He gave us excellent advise, helped us minimize expenses and even loaned us money when we first arrived and had no local currency. We did not ask him for money, he handed it to us to get us started. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for two nights in early May. From the moment of our arrival to our departure, our stay could not have gone better. Jan was very helpful giving suggestions about what to see and do, how to use the tram, where to eat, etc. As we were arriving by car, this location is perfect. Our car was parked and we used public transit the entire stay. No worries about driving around this fabulous city. We really appreciated Jan's enthusiasm and hospitality and, if I come back to Prague, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

You could not make a better choice than this if you are looking for lovely, comfortable accommodations, a great breakfast and a built-in tourist guide to assist you in every way. Located out of the busy center of the city just a short metro trip and a 10 minute walk will get you there. Jan will make suggestions that will help you with your planning on a day to day basis. He arranged several concert tickets for us, helped us plan a day trip and just generally made our visit to Prague a truly memorable one. He an his wife are the perfect host and hostess .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lida Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lida Guest House

Address: Lopatecka 26, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lida Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lida Guest House Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lida Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.