We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lida Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lida Guest House to your Saves list
Lida Guest House
Lopatecka 26, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 4)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 353 Prague B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lida Guest House for 4 nights. The owners went out of their way to make sure we were oriented to Prague (it was our first time there) and comfortable in their guest house. Our room was comfortable and clean. The guest is located in a residential neighborhood that is a quick tram ride away from all of the major sites. Additionally, there are some really cool things within walking distance to the guest house, including a fortress and basilica. We would highly recommend the Lida Guest House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    63
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
173
49
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Jiri, the host, is great. Knows his stuff, and provides an excellent service. For that reason, Lida is great. But its more complicated. We arrived at the central train station. First up, change Euros to local money at the Currency Exchange kiosk. Forget the exchange rate - they don't advertise the 20% fee/ tax for doing so. We changed 50 Euros, and lost 10 Euros as a fee!! Use an ATM instead. We tried to get a taxi to the Lida - we were quoted 700CZK. No meter in the taxi!! Jiri had offered to pick us up for 450CZK. We ended up using the Metro with Jiri's very helpful instruction for 32CZK. Prague is another of these cities/ countries emerging from the Eastern Bloc. Western prices for stuff which is in decay. They know the prices in our home and assume that is a fair rate, but do not understand the context. Having said all that, it is beautiful and cultured and fascinating. Lida is intelligently run (for 22 years) by a wonderful host. It had good location, big rooms, reasonably clean. Jiri (the owner) is the key, and he is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our experience at this guest house could not have been better. Jan knew what to and say to make our visit the best it could have been. He gave us excellent advise, helped us minimize expenses and even loaned us money when we first arrived and had no local currency. We did not ask him for money, he handed it to us to get us started. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for two nights in early May. From the moment of our arrival to our departure, our stay could not have gone better. Jan was very helpful giving suggestions about what to see and do, how to use the tram, where to eat, etc. As we were arriving by car, this location is perfect. Our car was parked and we used public transit the entire stay. No worries about driving around this fabulous city. We really appreciated Jan's enthusiasm and hospitality and, if I come back to Prague, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

You could not make a better choice than this if you are looking for lovely, comfortable accommodations, a great breakfast and a built-in tourist guide to assist you in every way. Located out of the busy center of the city just a short metro trip and a 10 minute walk will get you there. Jan will make suggestions that will help you with your planning on a day to day basis. He arranged several concert tickets for us, helped us plan a day trip and just generally made our visit to Prague a truly memorable one. He an his wife are the perfect host and hostess .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Lida Guest House three times now, and when I am ready for a laid back retreat, I fondly think of it and then call for Jan or Jirka. The quiet residential location is great with local restaurants away from the tourist sights (and tourist prices) have good food. The breakfast at the guest house is very well done and replenished frequently. Jan has always been prepared to suggest and arrange tickets for us, in our case for a concert at the National Museum. The guest house is about 5-8 minute walk to the red line metro and is near one of the castles (walking distance). They also have a nice garden for lounging on the lawn. When you need to get away from the noise of life, consider the Lida.

Room Tip: Try to get a remodeled room for an awesome shower!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After reading reviews of the Guest House, I would really love to back again. We had a wonderful visit in Prague and mostly due to staying at Lida Guest House. We were picked up at the airport and also they took us to the train station when we were leaving.
We liked especially the small neighborhood restaurants, we shopped at the small grocery store and bought fruit at a fruit stand. We spent time in the small antique store at the bottom of the hill near the tram. We walked everyday to the metro or tram and came home after dark. We never felt unsafe at any time. We can recommend it and will stay there when we get back to Prague.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#20 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#4 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
HOLIDAY HOME - Hotel, Pension
Praha 4
GJ Residence Na Vinohradu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lida Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lida Guest House

Address: Lopatecka 26, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lida Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lida Guest House Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lida Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.