We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Modern?!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 987 Design Prague Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 987 Design Prague Hotel to your Saves list
987 Design Prague Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Senovazne namesti 15/987, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too Modern?!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A friend and I booked a twin room in this hotel based on the reviews we read on the BA holidays website. The first impression was okay the room was clean and modern. There were however a few downers.

1. A glass door separated the toilet and shower room from the main sleeping area which was not very "private" as the smallest noise echoed in the room, not to mention any odour! :-/ The wash basin also was in the room which meant when you are brushing your teeth etc your room mate had to know.

2. The TV size was very small and the picture (signal) quality was less than perfect and very few English speaking channels.

3. There were no disposable slippers in the room and you would have had to pay for one which is not what you'd expect from a 4* hotel.

4. Smiles were not aplenty at the front desk although the morning seed to have better grasp of customer service.

All in all I expected a bit more and I had a choice between this and the Ramada in town and I had to check it out and once I did, I wished I had taken Ramada.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicol K, General Manager at 987 Design Prague Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am very glad that you found our hotel clean and modern. Our hotel is published in the category of design hotels, our aim is that our guests experience something different. I am sorry to hear that you did not find our modern LCD TVs convenient. We have 25 foreign channels. It would be great, if you have mentioned which English speaking channel you were missing. Usually, slippers are not being the standard equipment of the room, however we offer complimentary WI-FI and full buffet breakfast. Overall, we hope that you have enjoyed our hospitality.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
With warm regards,
Nicol Klaubenschalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    336
    107
    29
    19
See reviews for
74
403
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greece, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel was near the center which was good. However, the personell was not very warm. The most important thing was that someone got in our room and stole my watch and the sunglasses of my wife.When i told to the manager that i want to watch the video of the surveillance cameras(there is a sign in every floor that says that there are cameras for our protection) so as to see who entered my room, they told us that these cameras do not work so as to protect the private life of the customers!!!!!!i told them that i understand that there should not be cameras in the room, but outside the room i dont see the problem. It is not private life in the hallway.They did not convince me at all.!!!So be careful of your stuff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicol K, General Manager at 987 Design Prague Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and mentioning the good position of 987 Prague Hotel which is very important for us. I believe that the subject of your review is to strong and without any proof of evidence. I am the manager that you spoke to regarding your lost things. As long as I remember you have mentioned the sunglasses only, and you were even admiting that you might have left them somewhere else, it seemed that you were not absotutely sure about it. You have asked us about the list of the entrences of your room were was abvious that you were the only people entering your room during that time. Regarding the camera system, we do have a functioning camera system of the main entrance and public areas, unfortunately I am not going to specify where are they based as I belive that this should be highly confidential. I am realy sorry about your misplaced sunglasses and I hope that you have enjoyed your stay at 987 Prague Hotel.
All the best !
Nicol Klaubenschalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

987 Prague hotel is situated just 5 minutes from some of most visited monuments, but in a peaceful cornet of Opletalova -Senovázné street, 1' from main train station, 2 minutes walking from airport bus stop (bus is called AE), and 10' from main bus station, Florenc.
So, the BEST CHOISE if you want to spend some days in Prague walking around the city but sleeping like an angel.
The hotel has a very nice furniture desing, better front desk (the employees are most kind than tourist offices and they know all you need) and big and comfortable beds where you could rest after a hard day walking the thousands Prague streets.
The breakfast is correct and has a long shedule, so is you need to set off early, it start at 7:00 or if you want to enjoy your room, you can take it since 10:00 during the week or 11:00 at weekends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicol K, General Manager at 987 Design Prague Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Diana,
Warm greetings from Prague ! Thank you for your review about 987 Prague Hotel. We are always here committed to consistently provide efficient and discrete service to our guests, so your appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward !
We look forward to welcoming you again.
All the best !
Nicol Klaubenschalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from our trip through Europe. We stayed here for 5 days, and the hotel cannot be beat. The place is very well designed and incorporates the building's sometimes unusual architectural features and angles in a very inspired and fun way. The angles shown in the pictures tell some of the story, and it really was a very large room (we had the executive). The bathtub is deep, the shower very powerful and the bed nice and firm (the way I like it). Tons of plugs and seating.

Breakfast is, indeed, the same every day, but it was good. All I typically eat for breakfast is coffee and eggs, so this was just fine with me. They had cold cuts, cheeses, various corn flakes and the like, and eggs (sunny side up or hard-boiled) and I think bacon, but we didn't partake of any of the meats. Espresso and Cappuccino was all you can drink, as was the various juices. No complaints.

The place is located centrally and near all of the attractions, but you do have to walk a bit to get to some of them, like the castle and Charles Bridge. We chose this hotel knowing that, because we didn't want to exit the hotel and enter a throng of tourists. So, while central and everything is walkable, the area is relatively quiet. There is a train station/mall across the street, and we used the trains there for day trips to out-of-center castles and churches and the like.

The staff, like everyone else we ran into in Prague, is efficient and responsive. Yes, they are not warm. You will likely not get a cheerful hello while there, but that is more a cultural thing. When I travel, I accept that other cultures don't do warmth in day-to-day interactions (Iceland comes to mind), but who cares? They all were always helpful, spoke English and gave us some excellent guidance and suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicol K, General Manager at 987 Design Prague Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your comprehensive review about the 987 Prague hotel and Prague in general. I am very happy, that we the hotel services met your expectations. It is nice to hear that you liked the design and size of our Executive room, also, the full buffet breakfast and our coffee. We fill definitely focus on more cheerful greatings from our staff for the future :)
Thank you again !
Nicol Klaubenschalkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, england
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

To be honest this hotel was chosen by a friend of ours but what a great choice. The staff at reception were very friendly & helpful and the style of the hotel is boutique chic but for a reasonable price. The bedroom was slightly quirky as upon entry you find a sink in the corridor. However when you realise what they have packed into a relatively small but surprisingly spacious space, that detail is insignificant. With separate shower room & toilet, minibar, LCD flat screen tv, decent width double bed the room had all of the facilities you would expect In a capital city bedroom for a decent price. The room was clean & sound insulation adequate. Location is good for the nearby train station. Please note that a tram line runs outside the building. Breakfast was well stocked with cereals, pastries, hot food & fruit. Overall a very good stay in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicol K, General Manager at 987 Design Prague Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was our greatest privilege to have you stay at 987 Prague Hotel recently. I would like to thank you for highlighting all the positive points of our services. Your words of appreciation will go a long way to motivate our entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you again !
With warm regards,
Nicol Klaubenschalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a great hotel!! My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in July. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast buffet was delicious! They had a great selection of food- something for everyone. The room was very clean including the bathroom. The actual room was a little small but aren't all rooms in Europe small? Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is also very close to a main tram station that will take you all over the city. Train station is also very close but we didn't use that. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicol K, General Manager at 987 Design Prague Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Nancy,
I would like to thank you for your comment about 987 Prague Hotel. It is nice to hear that you like the breakfast, cleanness and friendly staff. I am glad that you found it easy and convenient to use the tram, which has the stop right in front of the hotel. Next time, I also recommend the underground which is 2 min from us - called Hlavni Nadrazi. Regarding the size of the room I have to agree that the rooms in Europe are generally smaller, so I hope that it gives worm and cozy feeling.
I hope that next time visiting Europe/Prague you will stay with us again.
Best regards,
Nicol Klaubenschalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wished to find a hotel close to the railway station and selected Design 987 in Prague. What a delight! The hotel was comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast!! And the best surprise was how really close the hotel was to the railway station....literally we pulled our suitcases across the street, through a lovely park and we were there!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicol K, General Manager at 987 Design Prague Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to write your positive review about 987 Prague Hotel. I am glad that you appreciate our staff and felt comfortable at our hotel. I must agree that the hotel has the convenience of being situated close to the Main Railway Station and Masarykovo Nadrazi. Thank you again for highlighting these points on public.
We hope to welcome you in our hotel again.
With kind regards,
Nicol Klaubenschalk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 987 Design Prague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 987 Design Prague Hotel

Address: Senovazne namesti 15/987, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Prague
#110 Family Hotel in Prague
#132 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#145 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 987 Design Prague Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its dazzling location at the historical centre of Prague, 987 Prague Hotel is a dramatic and daring reinvention of the urban design. Smart, witty and sophisticated, Gca Architects design is a brilliant collision of influences that suffuses the hotel with energy, vitality and magic. Unique features include, and interactive light displays in every guest room that encourage guests to personalize their own individual space.987 Prague Hotel offers 80 spacious rooms and suites decorated with harmony and full details like the glass orange doors, LCD TV and bathroom facilities. All hotel has been carefully decorated with the particular designer’s pieces from Phillip Stark, white Tulip chairs in the restaurant from Aera Saarinena, reception light Shakti Air (Kundalini|), Swan armchairs from Arne Jacobsen as well as some pieces from Kartell.All guest rooms are comfortable and well equipped to give a feeling of relaxed luxury.All the bedrooms feature modern amenities such as satellite TV, air-conditioning, free internet connection and in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your 987 Design Prague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague 987 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 987 Design Prague Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.