We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Aurus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praha 1 - Stare Mesto, Karlova 3 | entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny) (Praha 4)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 668 hotels in Prague
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A gem in Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed between Christmas and New Years. The staff was great, breakfast was just right, and the location was perfect. The ONLY thing I could maybe complain about was the street noise. the bar crowd got loud one night around 0200. It only lasted a few minutes thoiugh.

All in all I would highly recommend the Aurus and would stay there again if we go back to Prague.

Room Tip: If you get room G, take the lift to the third floor, not the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    45
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
99
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 night. The suites are very large, with a wonderful bathtub! The staff is very helpfull and friendly!
Breakfast is perfect, a great way to start the day. Located near Old town and Chales bridge, we went everywere on foot!
We would certainly stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock Staffs.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you like calm and tranquility with personal service this is the place to go. 8 rooms in total (no international chain crap it is family run). The hotel offers bed and breakfast facilities, but who needs any more in Prague. Rooms are very well appointed, staff are very friendly and always keen to be of assistance. They organised transfers to and from the airport at basically the same cost as all other providers. We arrived at 11am and departed at 6pm, they accepted our baggage on arrival (check in was 1pm and kept our baggage after check out (12pm) until our departure. Location is ideal mid-way between the Old Town Square and Charles Bridge and about 10 min. walk to Wenceslas Square (OK if you want to shop at M & S, Debenhams and H&M). As it is on the main pedestrian route between the Square and the Bridge there is the potential for passing noise. We were there Mid. Dec. and after 7pm all was quiet, to be honest when Prague is in full swing I think it would be difficult to find total peace. There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance where you can eat anything from fast food to fine dining. All in all an excellent experience and If I return to Prague the hotel would be top of the list, I would have no reservations about recommending 'The Aurus' to friends and associates.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location is perfect, between the Karls bridge and the astronomical clock. Our room was medium sized but with all the amenities, including its own wifi router, and extremely comfortable. The included breakfast offered a wide range of food, individually prepared eggs, and surprisingly good coffee. Note that the Aurus is a boutique luxury hotel with six large and beautifully reconstructed suites with two double rooms of average size, but with all the services of the large suites.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, the only difference is size and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well located in old town and near Charles bridge.Plenty of action outside the hotel. Generous sized rooms - allowed us to assemble our bikes. Full of character. Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff. Highly recommend. Just make sure your taxi knows which U zlate studn? Hotel you are going to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

In my honest opinion, I am not sure we could have chosen a better hotel for our visit to Prague in October 2012. It was a great rate, amazing location, courteous and helpful staff, great breakfast, and a large room. The street noise is a minor issue if your windows are open. In the summer you can, of course, close the windows and turn on the A/C and block the noise.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurus

Address: Praha 1 - Stare Mesto, Karlova 3 | entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#48 Family Hotel in Prague
#63 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.