We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Old Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aurus to your Saves list
Aurus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karlova 3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny) (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 666 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem in Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed between Christmas and New Years. The staff was great, breakfast was just right, and the location was perfect. The ONLY thing I could maybe complain about was the street noise. the bar crowd got loud one night around 0200. It only lasted a few minutes thoiugh.

All in all I would highly recommend the Aurus and would stay there again if we go back to Prague.

Room Tip: If you get room G, take the lift to the third floor, not the second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdoggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 night. The suites are very large, with a wonderful bathtub! The staff is very helpfull and friendly!
Breakfast is perfect, a great way to start the day. Located near Old town and Chales bridge, we went everywere on foot!
We would certainly stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank straffevrouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock Staffs.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you like calm and tranquility with personal service this is the place to go. 8 rooms in total (no international chain crap it is family run). The hotel offers bed and breakfast facilities, but who needs any more in Prague. Rooms are very well appointed, staff are very friendly and always keen to be of assistance. They organised transfers to and from the airport at basically the same cost as all other providers. We arrived at 11am and departed at 6pm, they accepted our baggage on arrival (check in was 1pm and kept our baggage after check out (12pm) until our departure. Location is ideal mid-way between the Old Town Square and Charles Bridge and about 10 min. walk to Wenceslas Square (OK if you want to shop at M & S, Debenhams and H&M). As it is on the main pedestrian route between the Square and the Bridge there is the potential for passing noise. We were there Mid. Dec. and after 7pm all was quiet, to be honest when Prague is in full swing I think it would be difficult to find total peace. There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance where you can eat anything from fast food to fine dining. All in all an excellent experience and If I return to Prague the hotel would be top of the list, I would have no reservations about recommending 'The Aurus' to friends and associates.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocky04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location is perfect, between the Karls bridge and the astronomical clock. Our room was medium sized but with all the amenities, including its own wifi router, and extremely comfortable. The included breakfast offered a wide range of food, individually prepared eggs, and surprisingly good coffee. Note that the Aurus is a boutique luxury hotel with six large and beautifully reconstructed suites with two double rooms of average size, but with all the services of the large suites.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, the only difference is size and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well located in old town and near Charles bridge.Plenty of action outside the hotel. Generous sized rooms - allowed us to assemble our bikes. Full of character. Lovely breakfast. Friendly staff. Highly recommend. Just make sure your taxi knows which U zlate studn? Hotel you are going to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCardCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

In my honest opinion, I am not sure we could have chosen a better hotel for our visit to Prague in October 2012. It was a great rate, amazing location, courteous and helpful staff, great breakfast, and a large room. The street noise is a minor issue if your windows are open. In the summer you can, of course, close the windows and turn on the A/C and block the noise.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDMullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#11 of 666 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Pod Vezi
Pod Vezi
#3 of 666 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#31 of 666 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 666 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#12 of 666 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#37 of 666 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurus

Address: Karlova 3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#53 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#85 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing