We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurus to your Saves list
Hotel Aurus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praha 1 - Stare Mesto, Karlova 3 | entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny) (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Small but perfectly formed family run hotel.
There are just six rooms (all suites) and everything is within easy walking distance.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the breakfasts were great too.
Not a slick an experience as you would get with one of the bigger chains but if you are looking for a great hotel with history and character, I would highly recommend this. A memorable stay and excellent value for money. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: They are all great and have fantastic views of the royal route
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    48
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
71
103
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This 16th century building is so beautiful, we watched as tour groups stopped and took pictures of it (and had fun, posing in the window...) We stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor (2nd floor by european expression). Everything about the room was stunning, from the view to the tub, and especially the original, 16th century hand painted ceiling. They had a romantic package I surprised my wife with for four nights. The staff was great, the breakfast outstanding. May be the best value in Prague. There couldn't have been a better location. Right between Old Town and Charles Bridge, in the middle of it all, but still quiet and calm. I don't think I would ever stay anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Accommodation is an important part of the trip and this hotel is excellent. It's not only the location and rooms, but the personal and feeling - they made us feel comfortable and taken care of.

Rooms are clean and breakfast excellent and service outstanding.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeton, West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stumbled on this hotel on the internet and have no regrets whatsoever. It is very quaint. The location is perfect and centrally located within walking distance of all all the main sights. The room (suite A, on the top floor) was immaculate. The staff are welcoming and friendly and our thanks go to Martina for all her assistance including arranging taxi pick-up and drop-off at the airport which is 650Kr. each way. The room rates are slightly higher than some of the others available....but worth every penny !
It is located in a busy part of the old town and can be lively during the day and into the night. With the room windows closed, there isn't any problem with getting a good nights sleep.
If ever in Prague we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs if you're a very light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one wonderful week. We had decided to upgrade to the Family suite which was a excellent choice as it gave my young one year old the space to run. The room was very beautiful and was classically appointed. The ceiling in the living room had beautiful decorative wooden beams. And the bed was comfortable. The view was excellent and the location of the hotel is unbeatable. Two blocks from the Vltava and the Charles Bridge and roughly 5 blocks from the Old Town Square. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. The weekend is buffet style but the weekdays are made to order. The front desk was super courteous and helpful. They knew that we had a small boy and they brought in a portable crib and padded it nicely. My only complaint which is entirely out of their hands is quite simply, its best asset is also the greatest liability, meaning its location. Being in the center of it all has its draw backs because when bars close all the drunkards wander slowly down the street at various hours. Some sing others yell. But when you are trying to sleep and in turn keep your young one sleeping this may be a bit of a issue. Having single pane windows is primarily the problem. Also the door separating our room from the next is only a door so when neighbors stumble in, and I do mean stumble, it can be a bit annoying. Again both the issues are out of their hands. However, overall an amazing stay at an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We found this little gem on the internet and would go back tomorrow. Martina and Petra were simply fantastic. Great breakfast and beautiful rooms. The location is right in the middle of the old town, only drawback is that it's near a nightclub but don't let that put you off. Discounts offered for paying in local currency which was nice. We arrived at 6am and they offered us a complimentary breakfast before the kitchen had even opened. Don't think twice, just book it. Beautiful spacious rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here for the last night of our vacation before flying home in May 2012. The staff were very professional and helpful. They arranged our taxi to the airport, 650czk, and the breakfast was very tasty. Our room, right beside the breakfast room on the second floor was large and had a lot of interesting detail. This hotel is right in the center of things near Old Town square. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurus

Address: Praha 1 - Stare Mesto, Karlova 3 | entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#42 Family Hotel in Prague
#70 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aurus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.