We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #81 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I must say how dissapointed i was staying at this hotel,we were there last week
and after looking at their website i thought i was in the wrong place.The so called room as that is all you could call it was nothing like the photo on the website,no evening meals,the shower gel was a tiny sachet that only lasted once and we didn't get left any more we had to ask.The bedroom,well if we had died all the y would've needed to do was just to fit the room with handles and bury us in it,One night we were really late back 10.30pm and the place was locked and we had to knock and the gfirl on reception came and let us in with a face that was tripping her she was not friendly at all.It was about 6 mins walk to the square and a lot longer than 3mins to9 jewish quarter we took a tram.I love Prague and will go back but not to this hotel.Just ne more thing swimming pool and fitness centre well i don't know where they kept them we didn't see them.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    253
    74
    28
    12
See reviews for
125
358
50
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Hastal is a convenient and comfortable hotel. Small hotel with a restaurant close to Old Town Square. The hotel staff is friendly and extremely helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
Rooms are clean and quiet. WiFi service is free. Food is delicious in the small restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The moment I entered the hotel, I knew that this was the best place to be. Upon arrival I was greeted by Eva, a kind woman with a welcoming smile with great tips on the tram and travel. Later that evening I met Steve, owner of the pub and his dog Mattie. They rock. Leaving the cafe I met Tomas at the front desk. He was most accommodating, and went above and beyond in helping with our travel arrangements. My first time in Europe and I feel like friends to all I met. Good food, Good laughs, lots to see and great people. Praha you stole my heart. Looking forward to returning one day. Thank each and everyone at Hotel Hastel for making my stay the best. Warm Regards, Linda Hubbard USA

Room Tip: Best location - near Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint paul, minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Small, family run hotel off the main tourist route (which we preferred). Modest, clean, well managed, reasonably priced, quiet. Great location in Old Town. Helpful front desk and very professional contract taxi driver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, and it's location within a couple minutes' walk of the Old Town Square. We weren't disappointed.
As we pulled up to the hotel in our ride from airport, all we saw was green netting and scaffolding - they are obviously taking advantage of the off-season to spiff up it's exterior. We were concerned that this would obscure our 'dramatic view' from our 'comfort room'. However, we were on the 6th floor, in a room with gable windows right under the roof. If I stood next to the window, and peered out the bottom, I could see the spires of the nearby church - not much of a view, but we spent so little time in the room, it didn't matter. As a matter of fact, more than once those spires were a landmark to find the hotel as we got a little lost walking back from the Old Town Square late in the evening.
We were there four nights, left the hotel by 9am, and weren't back until after 9 every evening, and my daughter and I felt perfectly safe finding our way back every night.
It was quiet at night - except for once or twice the guests in the next room knocked on their door, or fumbled their key, it sounded like they were trying to get in our room!
The room was clean, as was the bathroom with shower only. I think the only housekeeping during our stay was a quick straightening of the duvets. The bathroom wasn't touched, and we had to ask for clean towels on the second day. After that we were more careful to hang up our towels!
The breakfast was neither the best, nor the worst we have experienced in a European hotel. I noticed a few people taking advantage of the bottle of champagne include to make themselves mimosas!
On the whole, the hotel suited perfectly our needs for our stay in Prague - clean and quiet, and location, location, LOCATION!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I chosed this hotel because of its location and value. Nice small hotel, friendly staff. The buffet breakfast was OK, but sometimes cold. Not enough tables and sometimes we had to wait for other people to finish, Rooms are plain but the bathroom is good. The bed was too hard, like sleeping on the floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location of Hotel Hastal couldn't be better: minutes from Old Town Square and Josefov and convenient for Charles Bridge and New Town too it was the perfect base for us to explore Prague, and for the price we paid we weren't expecting luxury.

The room was small but pretty, with a nice view over the picturesque rooftops of Old Town and a number of Mucha prints on the walls. I wasn't expecting to complain about being too warm in November but weather that week was very mild... and the room warmed up quickly and became stuffy, and we had no apparent control over the heating or air conditioning (in fact, there was a note on the wall instructing guests to call reception to change either! There's also a thick manual of guests' duties, from not moving furniture to not using their own electrical items, but I digress...). The TV couldn't be made to work no matter what we did with it, but we were on holiday - watching TV wasn't top of our list of priorities.


Breakfast is basic but OK - but with a huge variety of cafes just around the corner, we wouldn't have eaten in the hotel much anyway.

We were, however, expecting a double bed. Admittedly, we didn't complain about this: as a same sex couple in a city we'd never visited we were wary of doing so, not knowing what sort of response we'd get. In the end, it was actually for the best as we found the foam mattresses so hard that there was a lot of tossing and turning and at least in separate beds we didn't disturb each other. Apart from the bed situation, the only real concern was the luggage room, which we used on the last day: it's kept unlocked, and we were just allowed to stroll in and out to drop and collect our suitcases, which didn't strike me as particularly secure.

Despite these complaints we had a really pleasant stay at Hotel Hastal, and for the price I don't think we could have found anywhere better. If I was in Prague again with the same budget I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Address: Hastalska 16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.