We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town to your Saves list
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #70 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, and it's location within a couple minutes' walk of the Old Town Square. We weren't disappointed.
As we pulled up to the hotel in our ride from airport, all we saw was green netting and scaffolding - they are obviously taking advantage of the off-season to spiff up it's exterior. We were concerned that this would obscure our 'dramatic view' from our 'comfort room'. However, we were on the 6th floor, in a room with gable windows right under the roof. If I stood next to the window, and peered out the bottom, I could see the spires of the nearby church - not much of a view, but we spent so little time in the room, it didn't matter. As a matter of fact, more than once those spires were a landmark to find the hotel as we got a little lost walking back from the Old Town Square late in the evening.
We were there four nights, left the hotel by 9am, and weren't back until after 9 every evening, and my daughter and I felt perfectly safe finding our way back every night.
It was quiet at night - except for once or twice the guests in the next room knocked on their door, or fumbled their key, it sounded like they were trying to get in our room!
The room was clean, as was the bathroom with shower only. I think the only housekeeping during our stay was a quick straightening of the duvets. The bathroom wasn't touched, and we had to ask for clean towels on the second day. After that we were more careful to hang up our towels!
The breakfast was neither the best, nor the worst we have experienced in a European hotel. I noticed a few people taking advantage of the bottle of champagne include to make themselves mimosas!
On the whole, the hotel suited perfectly our needs for our stay in Prague - clean and quiet, and location, location, LOCATION!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    279
    82
    29
    12
See reviews for
150
421
58
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I chosed this hotel because of its location and value. Nice small hotel, friendly staff. The buffet breakfast was OK, but sometimes cold. Not enough tables and sometimes we had to wait for other people to finish, Rooms are plain but the bathroom is good. The bed was too hard, like sleeping on the floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location of Hotel Hastal couldn't be better: minutes from Old Town Square and Josefov and convenient for Charles Bridge and New Town too it was the perfect base for us to explore Prague, and for the price we paid we weren't expecting luxury.

The room was small but pretty, with a nice view over the picturesque rooftops of Old Town and a number of Mucha prints on the walls. I wasn't expecting to complain about being too warm in November but weather that week was very mild... and the room warmed up quickly and became stuffy, and we had no apparent control over the heating or air conditioning (in fact, there was a note on the wall instructing guests to call reception to change either! There's also a thick manual of guests' duties, from not moving furniture to not using their own electrical items, but I digress...). The TV couldn't be made to work no matter what we did with it, but we were on holiday - watching TV wasn't top of our list of priorities.


Breakfast is basic but OK - but with a huge variety of cafes just around the corner, we wouldn't have eaten in the hotel much anyway.

We were, however, expecting a double bed. Admittedly, we didn't complain about this: as a same sex couple in a city we'd never visited we were wary of doing so, not knowing what sort of response we'd get. In the end, it was actually for the best as we found the foam mattresses so hard that there was a lot of tossing and turning and at least in separate beds we didn't disturb each other. Apart from the bed situation, the only real concern was the luggage room, which we used on the last day: it's kept unlocked, and we were just allowed to stroll in and out to drop and collect our suitcases, which didn't strike me as particularly secure.

Despite these complaints we had a really pleasant stay at Hotel Hastal, and for the price I don't think we could have found anywhere better. If I was in Prague again with the same budget I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickerson, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great stay. Nice clean rooms, small but perfectly normal for European town center. Convenient location. Friendly helpful desk service. English speaking. Good breakfast. I would definitely stay there next time I am in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel Hastal gives you European charm in Old Town Prague at a reasonable price. Our room was located in the front of the hotel and had a balcony. Every part of our room was spotless including the bathroom which must have been updated. All bathroom facilities were quite modern but that does not detract from the charm of the room or the hotel.
Enjoy a European breakfast which is complementary. This is a real brekfast with eggs, various rolls, meats,cheese and so on. Juice, coffee tea are also right there.
From the hotel you can walk to the historic Jewish portion of Old Town, The Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and so many other sites and places of interest.
For other attractions such as the National Museum, just use the conveniently located METRO which combines subways with trams. You are in close proximity to a METRO stop.
This is a wonderful hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The booking process is very simple: the website is clear with plenty of useful information.
Soon after my booking, I was contacted by the Hotel team to confirm and finalise my booking
Hotel transfer service from the airport was excellent.The transfer from the airport to the hotel in a limousine was only €29 – a great value for money.The driver was a hero and a real gentleman! We chatted all the way about Prague and California, our home. When we arrived at the hotel (1.30pm), the room was ready even though check-in is not until 2pm We were pleasantly surprised to be welcomed by the owner, Mr Hanslik, a charming man who told us about the history of his family hotel. I have never stayed in a hotel with such a long tradition and history and I have visited many places across the world. One of the team members, Tom, was always professional and offered us a free upgrade. This was the perfect start to our stay, a truly home from home experience. Their service knows no limits: upon arrival we were given a complimentary bottle of wine and fresh flowers. The room was huge; I was rather expecting a standard European size one like they have in Rome, Paris or Milan. The Czechs have different standards! The room was light and roomy! The décor of our room was in the style of Czech artist from the 1930s, Alfonse Mucha. It was excellent, minibar prices were also a good value so don’t be afraid to celebrate this excellent deal with another toast! In comparison to Hilton, where we often stay, this one is much friendlier and with a soul. The whole team is welcoming; rooms are clean with a beautiful view of an old quite square. The restaurant is comfortable and the service is great. Breakfast was also tasty with plenty of choice; in addition you can have a glass of champagne for free – this can’t get any better! This is a hotel that I will definitely come back to and I left Prague with plenty of great experiences. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. It is our new home in Prague, albeit for only few nights at a time. I fully recommend this hotel and make sure that you book in advance for a better deal. Here are some photos from our stay.
Thank you for making our stay the best ever!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My sister and I were in Prague from Oct 10 to 16. Nice time to visit since tourists are not so plentyful and hotel prices are now in low season. Great staff who showed patience with non-czech speakers. Breakfast was consistently good. Nice bar for a beer or wine in evening and pasta dishs are really tasty. Tomas, Eva, and Richard were very nice desk staff with good tips. We had small room on top floor facing rear so very quiet. Hotel will arrange private auto to airport for almost the same price as CSA minivan. I would suggest if you are making booking arrangements to have the Hastal schedule a pickup at the airport. 700kc (35us$) Great car and ultra safe driver. Only reason I did not give 5 stars is the location to public transportation is bit of a walk of 6 blocks to Tram 17 (this connects to the major trams in tourist area) and 8 blocks to Metro (Nam Rep)

Room Tip: Back side of hotel is very quiet. Friday and Saturday can be a bit noisey because of late night drun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#124 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#20 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria
Astoria
#154 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#103 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#60 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.