We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extol Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Extol Inn to your Saves list
Extol Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pristavni 2, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic (Praha 7)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #331 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It is difficult for me to believe that this is THE BEST budget hotel in Prague. While the price is not too bad, the place has a few deficiencies. Foremost, the location is not great. It nowhere near the city center, and it takes about 15 minutes of leisurely walking to reach the nearest subway. The room furnishings and fixtures also leave something to be desired, as they are a constant reminder of cheapness. Hotel policies regarding children also echo this parsimoniousness, as anyone over the age of two is charged the same price as an extra adult. Finally, the breakfast that is included is barely fit for human consumption.

That said, the place is kept quite clean, and the staff is courteous and helpful.

It's a good place, but I just don't think that it rises to the level of being "Number 1".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    82
    45
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
55
40
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warsaw
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Somehow we overlooked the warnings on the tripadvisor about the noisy elevator here. The room was not even in the near proximity, but trying to sleep was impossible. Unless you are equipped with good ear plugs, grew up near an active volcano or are death-tired after sightseeing a beautiful city of Prague the noise of the elevetor running up and down will make sleeping impossible. Lucky they had another room available at the greatest distance from the elevator which allowed us to move there at 2AM in the morning. Otherwise we would have to wander around Prague in our pyjamas looking for another place to crash. I'm surprised that after quite a few comments about it in the tripadvisor, the managment hasn't done a thing to repair that noisy elevator.; Apparently the comments of serious travellers do not mean much as they are geared mainly towards school groups who probably wouldn't mind much even if the concert of the Rolling Stones or the Greatfull Dead took place in that elevator all night.
Otherwise the hotel is a good deal in an expensive city of Prague. Rooms have free wi-fi, are clean and well taken care of. The beds are little hard, but putting another mattres on top from an extra bed almost solved it. The restaurant, open 'till 11PM. There is a gym, jacuzzi and sauna, unfortunately, not free even for the hotel guests (bit tacky). The distance to the city center is about 15 min. by tramway, 30-40 min walking. Would I stay here again ?. Yes I would, but only if they promised to give me the room far away from the elevator or if they assured me that the noise has been eliminated.

Room Tip: as far away from the elevator as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It is excellent, especially for teams of young people. You can share 2-3 rooms with one bathroom,
it is great fun :) Rooms are ok, breakfast is simple, but still ok, staff is english spoken. Tram stops nearby, goes down to Charles bridge, Malastrana. Also a red light house is close to there.

Room Tip: check out if You have own bathroom or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was here with a high school group, and it's a great value, close to public transportation, and spotlessly clean! Rooms are very basic and utilitarian, but fine, and bathrooms had everything you'd need. Everything was spotless, including white linens and duvet.
The only downside was that it can attract a heavy drinking crowd that hangs out in the lobby where there is wifi, and since I was chaperoning a school group, I was uneasy at first, but the hotel staff were very diligent and professional and not reluctant to step in if needed to move people along. That being said, I wouldn't go here with small children.

Room Tip: They have a variety of room arrangements, some with two or three bedroom "suites" (but wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was here with a friend for the Prague Beer Festival in May. The location, 15 minutes north of the city centre by tram is superb. It was ridiculously cheap compared to the city centre places and with the tram links being so good, getting anywhere was really easy. It's ten minutes walk north to Letna Park, which is absolutely beautiful, so you actually get to see more of the city than if you stayed in the city centre. And the local food and beer prices are incredibly cheap! The city centre itself is more like UK prices, so more than double what you'll pay in this area.

The area itself is clean, safe and pretty quiet. There are plenty bars and things to see nearby (including a quirky bar / beer museum just up the street which is amazing!).

We stayed in a twin room, which was a little basic, but suited our needs perfectly. We had a shared bathroom with one other room, but that was never a problem.

The staff were extremely helpful, very efficient and professional.

If I was going to Prague again, I'd definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Great for keeping the cost down on a trip to Prague, without compromising on quality. 5 min walk nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Booked this one with Hostelworld (22€/night) Perfect for a citytrip to Prague! Located 15min from the 'Old Town' by tram. The room (3 pers. shared bathroom) was spacious and clean, with fresh sheets on the bed and towels. Breakfast was good, containing eggs, sausage, cake etc. Free wifi (lobby). Hotel staff was friendly, helped us with all our questions and requests. Several extra facilities were available, such as sauna, jacuzzi, fitness.. at a small additional cost. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the jacuzzi (4€/hour) after our 8-our drive to Prague! The Hotel restaurant provides insanely cheap meals and drinks. Overall, a very nice stay, and extreme good value for money!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed there for two nights with three friends and had a great time. It was only €45 for two nights per person in economy class. This means it was really cheap actually. The room was basic but neat. We had a shared bathroom which was clean. The accommodation was nice as well, you can take a jacuzzi for €4 to relax, the restaurant was decent for its price. Great hotel

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hotel Mars
#383 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#147 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Praha 4
Ostruvek
Ostruvek
#317 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Aplus
Aplus
#445 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Praha 3
EA Hotel Populus
EA Hotel Populus
#274 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Residence V Tunich 14
Residence V Tunich 14
#358 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extol Inn

Address: Pristavni 2, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Extol Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished hotel is located approximately 15 minutes by tram from the historical centre (accessible by public transport for 24 hours). According to your budget you can choose from 4 kinds of rooms ( 3*executive, 3*standard, 2*standard or 2*economy). The hotel has also jacuzzi, sauna and fitness, is non-smoking and completely accessible for the handicapped. It has a secure car park (subject to availability, please book in advance). Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Extol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extol Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extol Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.