We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akcent is ideal base for Prague visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akcent Hotel Prague

Save Saved
You added Akcent Hotel Prague to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Akcent Hotel Prague
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stroupeznickeho 1 | Praha 5-Andel/Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 668 hotels in Prague
Magor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Akcent is ideal base for Prague visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel is situated beside the Andel subway station and opposite the bus station. The hotel is on the 6th floor of an office building. Reception and the restaurant and bar is on the ground floor. Your room pass-card is used in the lift as an added security feature that gives you access to the hotel. We had rooms at the back of the hotel. The rooms are basic, but clean and a good size. All rooms have a little terrace. There is quite a bit of road noise but if you close the french door and window it shuts out most of it.
Air conditioning, a safe and Wi-Fi is provided free of charge - not something you'd expect for free in a 3* hotel. However, although tea and coffee making facility is provided no tea and coffee is provided! I had already spotted this on Trip Advisor and popped some in my case.
The beds were comfy but the pillows are useless! As soon as your head hits them they go flat.. We requested a couple more which made our second night more comfy. Breakfast is quite basic, ham, cheese, eggs, frankfurters, bread and yogurt. Plenty to get you set up for the day.
It's a short walk to the local area where there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. Just come out of the hotel and go left.
If you'd like to read more about our visit to Prague, reviews of transport and restaurants please visit my blog post - this one has links to my other 2 days and a hints a tips section: http://soosieboo.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/prague-day-3/

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for extra pillows as soon as you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    138
    44
    11
    4
See reviews for
23
119
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the previous reviews.
Stayed for 4 nights. Average temp was 24-27C..absolutely brill.....
We took the pre-booked shuttle which was on time.

(If u had time and wanted to take a cheaper mode of transport from airport to the hotel, then take bus 119 and then u can get the metro to hotel.)

Dont change money at the airport, ....the hotel also changes money but the rate was worse than airport.
I changed at the bank CSOB in the town centre rate was excellent and no commission.

The hotel doesnt look like the photos maybe an older version.
When we arrived I walked into the casino next door by mistake couldnt tell where the hotel entrance was.lol

We were given a room on the 6th floor, all hotel guests are on the 6th floor. (elevator only goes to the 6th floor) ......All room numbers on this floor was in the 700s.
The hotel was clean and the receptionist was polite.
Check in was easy.
Keycard entry for the rooms and to use the elevator.

The room was big, two single beds with clean sheets.
The bed was comfortable.
There was an LCD TV with most channels not in English..... the usual 2 english news channels were CNN AND BBC.
A frigde with a full minibar was available.
Cups and a kettle were provided but NO tea or coffee, this could be purchased at reception for 5 CZK and milk and sugar for 2 CZK.

Room had a safe and the free wifi was great.

The bathroom was big with a shower just like in the pictures.
It appeared clean but there was mold on the plastic bits....I hate mold in the shower!!!!
The shower was powerful but the shower holder on the wall wasnt holding the shower head securely and it kept falling off the wall while showering.
There was a small bar of soap and some sachets of shampoo/body wash which was replaced on 2 of the 4 days only. Not sure why it wasnt replaced everyday? maybe because she saw that we brought our own.
On the last day when the room was cleaned the cleaner left a wet towel on the floor of the shower and the hand towels we got was torn...very odd.
Saying that the towel that were left on the previous days was clean and smelt good.

We had a balcony with views of the bus station but we could see the St Peter/Paul church in the distance.
This was a great balcony as it didnt face the sun so we could sit outside in the afternoons without sun in our faces......we were in room 731.

The hotel was non smoking but we got a constant smell of smoke in the corridors.

Breakfast started from 7-10am. Large breakfast room. There were a couple of birds in a cage which added to the atmosphere of the restaurant.
We were really excited to go for breakfast from the previous reviews but I was slightly disappointed.
Having said that the breakfast was ok for me, scrambled eggs and fried eggs available.
There were cereals and cheese,ham and yogourt.
The fruits included oranges and apples............. and they very old and bruised.
The cucumbers and tomatoes were not fresh at all except on the 3rd morning....
There was machine juices and coffee which was ok.
There was also what looked like meatballs but I didnt try that.

The metro entrance was literally outside the hotel lol.
Which was a good thing.
We got all day travel cards(CZK 110) but I recon if you plan your journeys well...... u can just get away with two 24CZK tickets each.

There is a big mall, Nový Smíchov 100m from the hotel. As u exit the hotel turn left and u can see it at the end of the street.
There is a food court at the top floor, good food.
Also a Big Tesco supermarket.

Even though the hotel is located close to the bus station, we could hear cars at night but it wasnt that loud and it didnt affect our sleep.......
I was worried about the hotel as it didnt look safe at night but we had no problems.
There was police visible constantly.....which made me feel safe.

We didnt have dinner at the hotel.
But try Restaurant Zlaty Klas, opposite the Ibis. Good food.

All in all.......I had a good holiday and I slept well.....sure the alcohol before bed helped lol.......only a few issues we had with this hotel........
For the price we paid I would say this hotel is a little better than average.

So if u looking for a basic budget clean hotel in a quiet but centrally located hotel this is it for u.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was not terrible, very standard bed and breakfast type. But reading the great reviews I expected much better impression. First I was offered very small room with two separate beds along different walls. It was much worse room than the ones on the photos in booking sites. After my return to reception they found one bigger standard room with 2 beds placed together.

Breakfast is very poor with almost no variety of warm food - sausage and cold omelette. No desserts except dry bisquite.

Location is good, entrance to metro is meters from hotel entrance. But surroundings and window view are bus station and dark non-residential area and it looked quite gloomy. To be fair - just 200 m around the corner (by the other entrance to Andel metro) the picture is completely different - many restaurants and big shopping mall.

Some of staff members were friendly, some - not so much

In net - next time I will try something else

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Based on the earlier good reviews and the price we chose this hotel. The hotel is close to the city center by public transport. The stairs to the underground is right in front of the entrance door. I advice to choose the tram instead because you can see more and it is almost as fast as the underground. By underground the Wenceslas Square is only 3-4 stops from the hotel so it is really close. If you arrive by underground then follow the signs to the bus station direction and go up. Then turn right and choose the stairs on your right. Then you are directly at the hotel.

All rooms are on the 7th floor. We had a great view from our room to the direction of the bus station and the city center. Our room was quite big and comfortable. Also the bathroom was big and well equipped. For some people the noise can be disturbing which comes from the streets, but for us it wasn't a problem at all.

The breakfast is served on the ground floor and it is very good. Plenty of selection, also warm food, like scrambled egg, boiled egg, frankfurter, bacon...etc. It is perfect for starting the day.

We could check in earlier and the staff were always helpful.

Sure this is no a luxury place, if you are looking for a 5 star service than this is not a hotel for you, but if you are looking for a fairly cheap, clean hotel, close to the city center than don't hesitate.

Room Tip: I guess rooms on the bus station side our noisier, but it was good for us. On the other side there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This hotel was good:

good location
helpful staff
spoke english
breakfast was good.

room was huge, had a lovely balcony, looked out over the bus station and the surrounding area

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Decent hotel in a good location.
Staff speaks some foreign languages so convienient for western tourists.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

To get there, take Metro to Andel. On platform look for “Bus” exit, turn right at exit and go up stairs to be outside hotel. Reception staff friendly and helpful; speak basic to good English. Rooms are all on top floor; for security you need room key card to use lift.

Single bed room includes desk, CRT TV, stocked mini bar and kettle with mug + spoon. No tea/coffee/ milk/sugar supplied. Bring own, or buy from Hotel or shops nearby. There is also a small balcony. Room has central heating for winter and an aircon for summer. Bathroom had a shower; shower pressure good and water always hot. Two towels, bath mat and soaps supplied. Overall, room was nothing fancy, but reasonably spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good. Cereals, yoghurts, breads, rolls, cold meats, cheese, and fruits. Hot food was mainly frankfurter sausages and scrambled eggs and small meatballs some mornings. Drinks included fruit juice, tea, coffee.

Hotel is located on edge of the central area of Prague. Charles Bridge about 2km from Hotel. A nice walk with lots to see, else Andel station only 3-4 stops from city centre. A 5 minute walk from Hotel gets you to 2 tram stations which will also get you to various parts of the city (e.g. Prague Castle). Also down the street is a large shopping centre with various shops + restaurants. There is also a Tesco supermarket. There are also other shops, restaurants and fast food outlets in the area. Went to Cyril’s Pub nearby: good food, reasonably priced with a smoking and non-smoking area.

Overall, a good room, adequate breakfast, reasonable price, friendly staff and closeness to public transport, shopping and food means I would consider staying again.

p.s. If you like model railways, visit Kralovstvi Zeleznic just down the street. Awesome layout and still growing!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akcent Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akcent Hotel Prague

Address: Stroupeznickeho 1 | Praha 5-Andel/Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Prague
#191 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Akcent Hotel Prague 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Akcent Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Akcent Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akcent Hotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.