We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beta to your Saves list
Beta
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Jaromirova 174/46, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 353 Prague B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very bad place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is not a hotel but a hostel although you can't understand this from the description on the site. The photo of exterior doesn't provide the right information at all: the hostel is situated in a very poor place under the train bridge and near tram line, so it's VERY noisy in the rooms. You can find much more good hostels or even hotels in Prague for that price. We were really disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
16
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was a tad nervous staying here as I've never stayed in a hostel before, but it was a very good experience! The room was really clean, the bathroom was immaculate, we had clean fresh towels & a good choice for breakfast. For what we paid I certainly couldn't have asked for more.

The tram stop is literally a couple of minutes walk down the road which was then only a short journey to the centre of Prague.

The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful.

Only advice would be to take ear plugs as I did find the trams going past a little noisey but its the best 3 nights I've stayed someone for what I paid.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poręba, Polska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I've stayed in few hostels in the past but this is by far one of the best if you consider the price and location. The breakfast was suprisingly good. It's all-you-can-eat buffet which included many kinds of foods to choose from (different types of bread, eggs, canned meat pie, yogurt, cereal, honey, chocolate butter, milk, orange juice, coffee, tea...). And don't worry about the huge overpass going over the building :) We didn't hear a smallest noise comming from up there during the night. Service was very kind. The hostel is open 24/7 so you can enjoy Prague's nightlife with no limits.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

What a great hostel. I got a nice big, airy, clean room. The Wi-Fi worked well.

Breakfast was plentiful and items replaced as they were used. Several choices of bread, cheese, spreads, pate, cereals & fruit juice. A tray of eggs and a saucepan on a cooker for doing your own boiled eggs. A microwave and toaster were also provided. It was self-service and do it yourself but that was fine. Breakfast is from 0800 till 1000.
Transport wise there is a tram stop a few yards from the Hostel that will take you into the city.

There is a Lidl supermarket a few hundred metres down the road.

The staff were all pleasant and spoke very passable English There are loads of brochures / leaflets about things to do. They give you a card with your room number, a small map and the hotel address / contact details so if ever you did get lost you can easily get in a taxi and be brought back.

The only drawback I found was it is a bit noisy. There is a road above the Hostel, a train line behind and a tram line in front. However I didn’t go on holiday to spread too much time in bed all day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This turned out to be a Hostelling International hostel as well as a Pension, although we stayed in a private twin room. Facilities were clean but fairly basic, with a shared bathroom - not great value at 16 euro a night per person - seemed to be neither a decent backpackers (which would have been cheaper) or a decent pension (which you'd get for the same price or marginally more).

Overall a very average pension, nigh-on impossible to find from the Metro station (it's thorugh the park and down some steps that you can't see from the Metro, if you do decide to stay there!). Regular trams from outside the hostel once you know where you're going, but not a great area and no restaurants etc particularly nearby that we could see. Slightly dodgy looking pub downstairs trying to advertise itself as a backpacker-friendly place, but didn't look particularly welcoming. The main problem with this Pension is that which troubles many HI/YHA hostels - school groups! We were sharing the place with a very pleasant and well-mannered group of French sixth formers, but none the less a large group, with the inevitable noise that a school group bring. HI need to decide - either cater exclusively to school groups, or cater to tourists and backpackers - they don't mix! Our room was also quite noisy anyway with trains passing every 20 mins or so until late at night. Breakfast included but again very average and the worst of our trip.

Overall I was a bit annoyed with myself for not booking accommodation sooner, hence staying here - we had visited Prague before and it has better to offer than this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
283 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

very cheap accommodation, but not good for a long stay. The breakfast is poor, the streets are noisy, no air-con, old furniture, not close to the city centre. They have a bar on ground floor and give some discounts (if you stay at that hostel). Nothing good, but not too bad, either

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Good place for people on budget, nothing fancy. Its certainly not in the center of the city but you can get easily to center (old town, charles bridge etc) using Tram 18. Just 30 meters from the tram stop. Rooms are very clean and tidy. Decent breakfast in the morning included in the price. Service personnel are excellent and always gave required and correct information.

Disadvantage is there is no metro station that is close. Vysehrad seems to be close to it on map but you have to climb a mountain to get there. There is a bar downstairs, but I was not disturbed any sound.

Room Tip: Take one on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Residence V Tunich 14
Residence V Tunich 14
#358 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Corinthia Hotel Prague
#150 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#148 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Praha 5
Barcelo Praha Five
Barcelo Praha Five
#108 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Union Praha
Hotel Union Praha
#261 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beta

Address: Jaromirova 174/46, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beta 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beta is located in a residential area of Prague 2, near by Vysehrad National Cultural Monument and Prague Congress Centre, close to the city centre. The Pension offers cheap accommodation in 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5-bed rooms with their own or shared bathrooms and WC. In case of shared social facilities there are altogether 3 rooms with 2 bathrooms and 2 WC separated for men and women on the floor. The building is connected well by public transportation which is easy and fast. Take tram no. 24 from Beta Pension and get to Wenceslas Square in 10 minutes. Tram no. 18 will take you to Charles Bridge,Old Town in 11 minutes and 16 minutes to Prague Castle.-The reception desk is open 24 hours a day.-Local taxes, buffet breakfast and WIFI are included in the price.-Luggage storage is free.-Telephone,fax service and safe at the reception desk.-Front desk-City tours.-Free WIFI in rooms.-The safe parking is 200 m far from our pension.-Parking for coaches is 400 m far from the pension.-Cycling track 450 m far.-Discounts for groups, students and members of IYHF.-We provide the chargeable parking . It costs 200,-Czk / 24 hours. We hope you will be satisfied with our service. We wish you a nice stay in Prague . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Beta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.