We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hostel with Extras” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Sophie's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Miss Sophie's Hotel to your Saves list
Miss Sophie's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melounova 3, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #58 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boutique Hostel with Extras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This review is based on receiving a very nice upgrade the day we arrived from a basic ensuite room to the penthouse apartment (I did say very nice), so obviously my evaluation is a touch biased. However, I will say that the penthouse apartment was outstanding, extremely clean, with lots of modern touches (ultra-trendy bathroom, full kitchen, king bed, and enormous). The place is basically a hostel, so there are a lot of younger people (we are in our mid-twenties) so it this allows for a couple of extras including a "free" guided tour of the city (tips are requested and deserved) and a pub crawl.

Another great bonus is the 7 euro breakfast which was excellent. Far from the "croissant and a coffee" affair, this breakfast includes made-while-you-wait omelettes, pancakes, bacon, sausage as well as a wide assortment of fruit served in a very cozy basement lounge. Another nice benefit is that the reception desk has public transit tickets for sale. Add reliable wifi service and 24 hr door staff, and for the price of a solid pension you get a top-notch stay.

The only "negative" is that it is a 15 min walk from the old town. This was not a major problem for us, but some might prefer to be closer. However, for trips to Prague Castle, the hotel is right next to the #22 tram which takes you straight there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    150
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
29
157
117
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Older buildings in Prague 2 being remodeled to very modern, contemporary style. Our room on the top floor was well equipped incl kitchenette, comfortable, quiet, and well secure. Exceptional breakfast in a charming little area. All employees were most pleasant. We are older people and would recommend this to younger travelers. Centrally located to walk and ride trams.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at miss sophies for a week in april, renting one of the apartments. This is something that we really recommend if you're planning to stay more than a weekend. the czech cuisine might be a little over the top if you're not used to this kind of food and beer.
So... what about a review on the apt? Well, the combined livingroom and bedroom was so nice! High ceilings, huge windows that let the morning and evening light in. Very comfy beds. Beautiful spa-inspired bathroom with a almost addictive rain-shower! The kitchen was nice, even though it wasnt that equipped as the description on the web-site. We didn't have an oven, maybe it was just our apt that didnt have it? The staff was very nice and service-minded. Beware of the elevator though, we got stuck a couple of times, but it started working again when we pushed another button! =D
The hotel is located a short walk from the subway and tram that works excellent and it is a cheap alternative to taxi. If you take the subway to Wenceclas Square we recommend you to by some cheese and real butter from the Formaggeria on the corner close to Burger King.

Room Tip: Choose the apartment if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very nice staff, excellent buffet, a little bit far from the Charles' Bridge and Staromestske (old town square) but in general, pretty nice place. From the first moment you go to the Front Desk you receive the best attention letting you know about the best choices you can make for transportation and all the best practices you can have during your stay in Prague.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

When I was looking for accommodation in Prague I was initially worried that this might be a hostel. However, the apartment was self contained and provided a great base for my stay.

The service was excellent, and the apartment was only a short walk from new town.

Would heartily recommend staying here. I certainly will next time I go!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hostel is in a very good location, this is 5 minute walk to the main attraction square and about 15-20 mins walk to Old Town where the tourist area is. The cafe opposite the hotel provides cheap beer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've been looking for apartment to stay in Prague for one week with my fiancee, and googling I found Miss Sophie's.

I don't know about hostel part, but I rented one of their apartments, and - wow! It was real flat located in the centre of Prague, fully furnished, and very clean. It was without air conditioning, but that was one of my requirements when I was looking for a place to stay, so I don't see it as negative at all.

Everything was fully functional inside, and no matter it was located centrally it was pretty quiet even with windows opened.

As I mentioned, location is really central, and it's just five minutes walking from Wenceslas Square. There's everything you need around when renting something like this - post office, groceries store, exchange office, so we didn't use public transport at all during our five days stay.

When coming to Prague next time, this would be my choice again for sure.

Room Tip: Just check their site. Rooms ARE really the same as on pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#12 of 566 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#32 of 566 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel One Home
Hostel One Home
#4 of 566 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#28 of 566 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Artharmony Pension and Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Sophie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Sophie's Hotel

Address: Melounova 3, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Sophie's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miss Sophie's offers boutique hotel accommodation right in the heart of the Prague Nove Mesto (New Town). Our recently renovated rooms (2015) are an ideal option for a quick getaway, romantic escape, business trip, or just for those who want quality accommodation and service for their stay in Prague. Miss Sophie's is a short walk from Wenceslas Square and the National Museum, with great public transport connections nearby as well. All rooms include air-conditioning, rainhead shower, TV, safe, tea/coffee, phone, towels, hair dryer, toiletries and more. Also on offer is free wifi, keycard security access, elevator, airport shuttle service, friendly knowledgeable staff and a wonderful breakfast (and bar) at Sophie's Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Miss Sophie's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Sophie`s Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Sophie's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.