We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Prague's secrets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trziste 19 | Lesser Quarter, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Penzance, Großbritannien
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of Prague's secrets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Hidden away near the safe haven of the USA and Irish Embassies, this unique hotel must be one of the most romantic and interesting hotels in Prague. Great service and a wonderful spa complete this amazing experience. And in a perfect location too....some might say it's the 'wrong' side of Charles Bridge, but in reality only a leisurely 15 minute walk across the bridge to the old centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    101
    23
    14
    1
See reviews for
114
810
50
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

This is an amazing 'secret oasis' of excellence in a great location. Nestling near the American and Irish Embassies this unique hotel will make you feel like a king or queen. Romantic, impressive, arty, comfortable, interesting.... the list goes on and on. If you are looking for somewhere very special and memorable then don't look any further. You will leave with wonderful memories.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We went here on our honeymoon in November 2010. The whole experience from arrival, to departure three days later, could not have been better. A five star boutique hotel with a five star service to go with it.
The hotel is very well located in a nice and quiet charming road. It is only a 5min walk to Charles Bridge and only a 20min lovely stroll to the old city centre (over the bridge whilst being able to look at all the impressive buildings around the bridge) . Most sights are walking distance (up the hill) from the hotel. We actually found the side of the city where the hotel is located nicer than the old city (can be a bit touristy). A brilliant restaurant nearby is the "Blue Duckling". Well worth a visit.
Once we arrived we were immediately welcomed with a smile, smooth and personal check in and a delicious glass of sparkling wine.
We were impressed by the romantic and charming features of the hotel (nice courtyard when you come in, lots of gold furnishings,velvet curtains and lots of plush sofas and cushions!).
The room was lovely too with a big four poster bed and a nice bathroom with generously sized and nice smelling toiletries. Breakfast is served every morning in the restaurant. There is a buffet with cheese, ham, jam, honey, cereals, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, sausages and a menu that you can order from (some things are included in the price like Eggs Benedict, omelette, scrambled eggs with mushrooms, French toast etc).
Every afternoon from 5-6pm the hotel offers free wine and cheese in the lounge. This was a very nice touch and a nice start to every evening.
There is also a small pool, sauna and spa in the hotel. The atmosphere is very relaxing and soothing with the spa area having an Asian feel to it.
The Alchymist hotel is a real gem and returning to it after sightseeing in Prague was always a delight. Go there and see for yourself!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Dear guest, thank you for your extensive review about us. I am very happy to read you found our place special. I hope to see you back at the Alchymist. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I visited this hotel with my wife for her birthday, the setting is fantastic and the staff where very friendly and helpful.
We used both the restaurant and the Spa facilities both of which were fantastic with excellent service throughout our 3 day stay.
Hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from the old town square and all the main attractions, we would definately stay there again if we return to Prague.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Dear guest, thank you for your nice comments. I hope to see you back at the Alchymist. Regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Mary, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We booked this through the internet and without any other recommendation. The staff were very helpful and the concierge booked everything we wanted without a hitch. For the quality of accommodation and service the cost was reasonable. Shame the food didn't live up to the rest of the experience. There is another website that is an 'agent' for the hotel and caused considerable confusion when booking: alchymisthotel.com is the one direct to the hotel. It may be better to ring them as opposed to book via the web.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Dear guest, thank you for your review here at tripadvisor. I hope to see you back at the Alchymist. Sorry for the problems with your booking that was not our mistake. I hope to see you back with us. With my kindest regards, Veronika choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

My husband surprised me on my birthday with a ticket to Prague so that he could take me to the the State Opera, something I've alaways wanted to do!
We returned to The Alchymist Grand in Prague because it is simply superb. We are lucky enough to travel quite a lot, staying at some very special places. This hotel is up there as one of our most favourite.
Situated on the same road as the American and the Irish Embassy, also about a 5 minute walk from Prague Castle, this place is one of the most exclusive hotels in Prague.
Inside it is stunning! Think of some of the palaces in France, this is what it is like when you step inside The Alchymist. The attention to detail will blow you away. Every room, including the spa's pool, has a chandelier. The dinning room has hand painted wall paper as well as some of the most incredible collection of brandy's ever. The hotel was originally a monastery and the ceilings are just beautiful to look at.
Our suite was amazing! Huge! All gold gilt and total over the top decor...We loved it!
Everything in the hotel is total opulence and has had a huge amount of money spent on it. It is truly a hidden gem and if you want total luxuary, stay here!
From the greeting of the wonderful staff, Ahmed and Mohammed on reception deserve a special mention as they arranged everything we required, including our fabulous evening at the opera, Carmen. Another very important thank you is for Veronika the manager, you made our stay very special!
Yes this hotel is expensive, but it is definately worth it, even if it's just for a really special treat! I can't recommend it enough if you are looking for something very exclusive and very unique.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Dear Mr. and Mrs T, thank you very much for your review. I am very happy you like our place. It is my pleasure to have you as our guests, always! Thank you ! Regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The hotel is very luxurious and a good location for easy access to the sights of Prague. The service was excellent and the comfort and splendour of the hotel lived up to the recommendation of a friend.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. Looking forward to have you with us in near future. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa

Address: Trziste 19 | Lesser Quarter, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#6 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.