We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trziste 303/19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“One of the best in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We are in room 206. I have stayed some lovely hotels including the some 7 star hotels. This hotel is up there with the very best. It is not a huge hotel but the attention to detail and customer service are absolute class. Paul made us feel welcome on arrival as did Emmanuel. Our driver from the airport was very friendly too. There are too many good staff to mention all. The shower is lovely as is all the decorations in the room. Chandeliers are a neat touch. Breakfast is excellent quality. I cannot rate this hotel any higher from the music to the decor to the food and staff. A real global gem. Keep up the efforts. Almost forgot the home made chocolates are Devine.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    107
    23
    15
    1
See reviews for
121
850
51
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We really enjoyed getting picked up at the airport by one of the hotels drivers. After a smooth ride to the hotel we were greeted by very courteous and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. It was my 50th birthday and they arranged a bottle of champers and choccies in the room for us. The hotel has great character and charm and every room has so much too see. Our bedroom was lovely and was very comfortable.
The hotel is situated in a very convenient place to get around and see the centre of Prague from. We spent our time mostly walking around Prague which is a great way to enjoy all the sights. We did manage to enjoy an afternoon in the Spa at the hotel and were lucky enough to have the facilities all to ourselves.
If you're looking for a lovely venue with great service then this fits the bill exactly.
We would and have recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

we stayed in many leading hotels of the world, but the Alchymist Grand Hotel beats them all. From the welcome to departure we felt at home and the service couldn't have been better.The restaurant is excellent and the rooms have that romantic touch you expect to find in Prague.
Although we have seen most of Prague we certainly come back for just the hotel and the opera and ballet performances . We stayed 5 nights and I wished we could have stayhed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for my 50 something birthday. I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years but this really was outstanding. The service throughout our stay was superb, the public rooms quite extraordinary and our bedroom was beautiful. Don't come here if you want a bleak, cream hotel with angular furniture - but if you like a bit of baroque, this is for you. We enjoyed both the hotel restaurant and the café - sadly not the spa, as the delights of Prague were too compelling. Breakfast was a banquet too. Terrific attention to detail - staff noticed it was my birthday from my passport and sent up a complementary bottle - wholly unexpected, quite delightful. Excellent help from reception staff, with tips on using the trams and maps. Our only problem was leaving at the end! Thank you to all at the Alchymist, we hope to be back and will be recommending to friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouarzazate
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Location...TOP
Room...even it was a small delux.....good
Service.....Great...Thanks to the Bell boy named Slan, it is due to His good service that we book on this Hotel
Breakfast.............good
Decoration......it is really like a Doll House but it ok for a fews nights
Ambiance...TOP
Spa, i did a facial treatment.....SUPER

Room Tip: if u need space forget the delux room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Loved the hotel..stayed for 3 nights..had one incident at the restaurant where we were charged for 2 rather expensive glasses of champagne when we under the impression they were going to be complimentary based on the way te waiter approached our table an offered us the drinks...this was quickly rectified the next day by the hotel manager giving us a voucher for the restaurant to compensate being charged for the drinks. This hotel has a great spa and we had a lovely massage. I think the temperature in the pool could be hotter. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if staying in Prague. Location is great and hotel staff were very approachable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I booked this hotel form my husbands 50th birthday what can I say ...WOW! It is like stepping into a fairy tale. We were collected by the hotels own driver in a gorgeous BMW. We felt like celebrities! The driver was so welcoming and pleasant and carried our luggage in for us. As you walk into the entrance of the hotel it is amazing. A beautiful welcoming courtyard with red carpet a lovely seated area with candles on the tables and the staff are wonderful. Really professional, friendly and helpful staff. They make it feel very special, nothing is too much trouble. We could not believe on check in we were offered refreshing towels and a welcoming glass of champagne! The staff carried our luggage to and from our rooms for us. The lounge area is beautiful with gorgeous chairs, and beautiful pictures and chandeliers. We had a lovely buffet breakfast and took advantage of the cheese and wine that they offer each evening between 5-6 pm. This is definitely worth doing. The extra touches to your visit make it magical and romantic. The staff even offered to turn the bed down with chocolates!

We also enjoyed using the very magical spa facilities. On our last night even though we had checked out we were offered the chance to store our luggage and make use of the pool and spa. We were given keys and on opening the locker found fluffy white towels, a dressing gown and slippers! We had the facilities all to ourselves which was heavenly, which could also be made into a large jacuzzi! Just what we needed after all that walking around Prague.

If you want a truly memorable, romantic and magical stay this is definitely the hotel to book. Thank you so much to all the staff who all made it such a wonderful break.

Room Tip: The cheese & wine is worth trying and you must try the pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Trziste 303/19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Prague
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#7 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.