We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down the Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed In” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trziste 303/19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Easton, CT USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hands Down the Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I just went on a 12 day trip to Europe. Our first hotel was the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa in Prague. Absolutely the best hotel I've ever stayed in!
The hotel itself is gorgeous and all the areas are most beautiful. The staff is the friendliest and most helpful that I've ever experienced. The breakfast in the morning out in the courtyard was delicous with fresh squeezed orange juice and yogurt. I went on to stay in two other hotels in Austria, the Ambassador Hotel in Vienna and Hotel Bristol in Salzburg and neither could hold a candle to the Alchymist. The cost is not prohibitive, and yet, the value for your money is terrific. I have traveled for many years and never experienced a hotel as nice as this one. So cozy and comfortable and plush and in a great neighborhood to boot. Look no more - stay here. (And I don't often write reviews, but I had to write about this hotel!)

Room Tip: We had a Superior Double which was lovely. We looked out onto the alley, but it was very quiet. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    113
    24
    15
    1
See reviews for
131
882
54
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

As soon as I walked into the hotel, I knew I was in for a nice weekend.

Check in was conducted in a lounge area after they offer a glass of wine, water or coffee and provide you with scented hand towels to freshen up!

The individual attention to detail is first class. I interacted with Mohammed and Emmanuel on my first day and they greet you by name from then on.

The room was great, airy, spacious and luxurious without going over the top. My room (201) had a seperate door to close so that you can seperate the entrance/bathroom and the bedroom. The bed was very comfy and I had probably the best (non ambien assisted) sleep I have had while travelling in a while!

From a location point of view, the hotel is in a very quiet part of town is about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the old town square and bars etc.

I can go on, but if you read the other reviews, you will get the idea, lovely courtyard to relax in, good advise on everything (e.g. where to buy gifts).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This might well be the most remarkable and unique hotel you will ever stay in.

The 46-room hotel opened in 2006 in a building originally built in 1517. The infinite, jaw-dropping attention to detail will astound you, while the sumptuous decor will both amaze and delight you. After four days you will be surprised to notice new details that had escaped you previously. The Italian owner's personal art collection is evocative and eclectic. Gorgeous fresh flowers and orchids are everywhere. You will be enchanted and at the same time rejuvenated. It is a captivating hotel which you will find relaxing and cathartic. This will be one of the most--if not the most—civilized, refined and romantic hotels you will ever hope to stay in anywhere.

Enjoy the complimentary wine and cheese reception every afternoon in one of the three elegant salons. Downstairs you can enjoy complimentary use of the top-drawer, modern Fitness Center with its refreshing, small, indoor pool, as well as the sauna and two steamrooms.

The included buffet breakfast that you'll enjoy daily is amazing and extensive. Everything from freshly squeezed orange juice to fresh fruit, Czech pancakes to croissants, cereal to cheese, eggs to possibly the best old style bacon you've ever eaten, plus grilled vegetables, potatoes and four kinds of homemade butter. This is a real breakfast! But you will almost drop your plate when you step onto the exceptionally charming breakfast patio. It is like a Hollywood movie set.

Adding to the value that you will receive, the hotel also features free wi-fi and Internet. Also, each room daily receives a large bottle of water, again at no charge. This hotel even has its very own chocolate shop that makes everything fresh daily.

For a transcendent experience cross from Europe on a wooden footbridge surrounded by waterfalls to the hotel's Balinese spa where you can indulge in an optional facial or massage by one of the attendants direct from Bali. When you open your eyes after the spa treatment you are sure to think that somehow you're in Bali, not Prague.

The thing you will especially appreciate about this hotel is its location. It is three blocks from the famed Charles Bridge and several blocks beyond that is the world renowned Old Town Square. A 10-minute walk from the hotel is one of the city's biggest tourist attractions, Prague Castle. The castle, bridge and square are major tourist attractions--close enough for an easy stroll but far enough removed from all the tourists to be an oasis of calm. The Alchymist Grand is literally next door to the American, German and Irish Embassies. You've probably never stayed in a safer hotel—the Czech police stop and "check" (errr, sorry) every vehicle entering this block 24/7. The hotel is also less than a block from St. Nicholas Church, one of Prague's top ten-rated tourist attractions along the bridge, square and castle. This church has Europe's largest fresco—yes, larger than St. Peter's and the Sistine Chapel in Rome.

As I sit in the hotel's (free) Business Center around midnight writing this, one of the waiters walked by, turned around and came back to ask if I'd like a glass of water or something to drink. That simply never happens in larger, less personal hotels.

This extraordinary hotel is sure to surprise and delight even the most discriminating traveler.

Room Tip: The hotel is only 3 stories and all the surrounding buildings are 3 or 4 floors so very few of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a piece of luxury that is worth it. Travelling as a family of 4 to get a 2 story suite for the price was a lovely oasis. The service was impeccable and the ambiance was like being in a palace. Being next to the US embassy security was tight

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel has loud live music right outside guestroom windows. It's crazy. If you don't mind staying up late or if you can get a room in back, it might not be a problem. But if you need to get up on time to go to work or catch a flight, then forget about a good night's sleep here!

I wish I could give this hotel a great review -- they have so much going for them:

The hotel is like living in an art museum. It is really a beautiful place.

They really "get it" when it comes to pricing. Unlike most 5-star hotels, wifi is included, breakfast is included, the spa is included. This makes for a very nice experience.

But the number one reason you come to a hotel is to have a place to sleep, and you cannot count on sleep here unless you want to stay up late. The management needs to decide if they are running a hotel or a night club. The two are mutually exclusive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Predeal, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice hotel in Prague. From the reception till the leaving. Luxurios rooms, very nice restaurant and a beautiful spa in the underground. The breakfast is also more than you expect. The only week point is the parking, but there you get full service from the personal of the hotel at the arriving and the leaving.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, USVI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

NOTE: the title states "to experience", it is exactly that, an experience. From the location, to the property, to the service, the Alchymist Hotel and Spa is to be experienced.
When I returned to Prague, I wanted to venture from the mainstream hotels. In my case, the Four Seasons (which I stayed in 2009). So, I researched something different... the Alchymist Hotel and Spa caught my eye.
Read the reviews and believe the hype. I have been converted.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#10 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
#16 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Trziste 303/19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#5 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#7 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.