We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trziste 303/19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Surrey UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfect for Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had four nights here over the Easter break, our welcome to the hotel when we arrived couldn't be faulted the staff were friendly, helpful and totally charming and the glass of bubbly was a nice touch. Our room was lovely with its super ornate gilt bed and we loved the monsoon shower.

The public ares of the hotel are amazing, very ornately decorated and we enjoyed looking in the various curio cabinets. Breakfast was excellent, extensive buffet choices including hot food and also the option of other hot food made to order. We used the pool and sauna / steam room areas which are very nicely done, although we were a little disappointed that they were not more couple friendly (both sauna and steam room facilities are within the changing rooms so are segregated). We tried the on site coffee shop too where we had a lovely coffee and cake and where they sell the lovely chocolates that you get when the room is made up in the evening.

The hotel was from our point of view perfectly located, it was just a 2 minute walk to the Charles bridge and into the old town but up a lovely quiet road away from the hoards of tourists we encountered in other areas (the downside of visiting over Easter). On days when we had been exploring all day and were tired there were a number of restaurants to choose from (as well as the Hotels own) at the bottom of the road.

The hotel for us was a perfect match for the city, interesting, beautifully ornate and a wonderful experience. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    107
    23
    15
    1
See reviews for
121
850
51
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

3 nights stay. had a great time. breakfast was very good, the room was beautiful. the hotel is a walk from everywhere in the city.
defiantly will stay here again !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have just returned from a brilliant three night stay at the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa. The location for us was fantastic - away from the busier tourist areas but within a very short walking distance from the Old Town. Check-in was excellent, a nice glass of bubbly and an upgrade to a suite (which was lovely!). The staff are very friendly, welcoming and attentive without being over the top. The reception staff recommended and booked us into some excellent restaurants during our stay. We used the hotel's car service to get from and to the airport and, although probably not the cheapest option, was great and completely hassle free. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend upgrading - our suite was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I brought my wife here for a weekend as a surprise 50th birthday gift and it was just perfect. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful, the hotel's public spaces were fun to be in and the breakfast got the days off to a great start. I'd stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: while the total square footage of our room (number 212) should have been fine for 2 people, much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Without a doubt, Prague is and will always be one of my most favorite destinations in Europe. Me & my wife were on our way to Prague from Zurich. Arrived Prague late at night.
Everything from then - the late night reception, the service, the rooms, the food, the evening wine tasting sessions, & many others really added to their trully grand and delightful experience at Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa, Prague.The hotel decor was nothing short of majestic, and gave sense of living in a castle. Everything about the hotel was exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have recently stayed for a short break to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary.
I cannot add much to all the other reviews on how great this hotel is.
From the minute you walk through the door, the Staff greet you with with warmth and broad
smiles making you feel very welcome - the flannel to clean your hands after a long journey
is a lovely touch, as is the glass of bubbly!!!!
When the Staff knew it was a special occasion for us - they upgraded our room - and we
enjoyed a bottle of wine with our evening meal compliments of the Hotel. We thank you for the upgrade and wine, and would like to say you helped make a special weekend even more special with your kindness.
I advise anyone thinking of visiting Praque - you need look no further, you would be hard
pushed to find a better Hotel to stay in.
We will be back - thank you again.
Best wishes to all the Staff.
Sharon & Steve Dunster

Room Tip: we had room 219 it is lovely - has its own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

A truly outstanding hotel with a highly professional staff that is anxious to please.

My wife and I were celebrating a special occasion and selected the Alchymist based on Trip Advisor reviews and what we perceived to be a top hotel at a fair price. After a long flight we arrived at 11:00. Ahmed and Mohamed behind the desk could not have been nicer and more genuinely interested in making our stay special. We were welcomed with chilled cleansing towels and offered coffee, tea or sparkling wine. The hotel is beautiful and very inviting. Take the time to look at the various photos from both the hotel and guests. We stayed for 4 nights and then traveled to Vienna. Our flight back to New York connected through Paris. We enjoyed the hotel so much that we rearranged out trip so that we could have more time in Prague and two more nights at the hotel. I find that many 5 star hotels have great facilities, but appear formal and not at all inviting. The Alchymist is a warm and inviting hotel, with great employees that seem to really care.

Both rooms that we stayed in were excellent. Ahmed made a special effort on our second stay to ensure that our room was even nicer than our first room. I do not think that there are any bad rooms in the hotel. We also enjoyed the fact that the rooms are very bright with a chandelier and more than enough lights.

Breakfast was included in our rate. I understand that it is expensive if you buy it separately. The breakfast was outstanding with many quality fresh choices and great service. The restaurant is incredibly attractive. Breakfast is also served until 10:30.

Massages at the spa are amazing. The pool and exercise room are nice additions.

WiFi in the room worked great, there is also a room with two computers and a printer.

Complimentary wine and cheese was offered daily between 5:00 and 6:00 (17:00-18:00). The wine was very decent and the cheese was surprisingly good. The setting is really nice and when we were able to partake, we met and talked to some very interesting people.

The location is actually a plus. It is in a very quiet location near the U.S. embassy. The hotel is not far from the Charles Bridge, the Prague Castle and public transportation. We walked almost everywhere. The Old Town gets very crowded on the weekend with students descending on Prague. We were glad to escape to the other side of the Charles Bridge.

We met Mr. Hamid, the Operations Manager, at the wine and cheese hour and advised him that we were very impressed with the hotel and staff. His response was "what else can I do to make your stay more enjoyable". Amazing!

Loren helped us purchase Opera tickets. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. Take advantage of anyone at the front desk to offer advice about Prauge or to make reservations. They can really help you.

If you want a top hotel at an affordable price, stay at the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa. It is worth the money.

Tips: Late March is a good time to visit Prague. The weather was very good and it was not that crowded. Old Town gets busier on Friday as students pour into Prague. The State Opera is an experience, book on line as early as possible.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 215 and 216. Both are great and interestingly not next to each other. Should no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Trziste 303/19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Prague
#7 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.