We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel brilliantly placed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pachtuv Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pachtuv Palace to your Saves list
Pachtuv Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Karoliny Svetle 208/34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 666 Hotels in Prague
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel brilliantly placed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We got a really good offer on this hotel and got amazing value for money. The hotel is right next to the Charles Bridge so perfect for exploring all the main sights in Prague by foot. It looks over the river although you have to pay a premium for the river view. We had a deluxe room ie their basic and it was really luxurious. Four poster bed, kitchenette, lovely bathroom, separate toilet, free wifi, dressing gown and slippers. Ours also had a an outdoor seating area (not tested in December...). The staff were very helpful and everything we asked for was accommodated. We did not eat here so can't comment on the food. On our last day they were using the hotel to film a Czech movie so we got to watch the action briefly :). Prague is a beautiful city and I would heartily recommend this hotel as a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback here on the Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to find out that our guests are happy and enjoy their stay at Pachtuv Palace. I am happy to hear your compliments on the service and I will forward it to my colleagues, your comments abour hotel facilities are also highly appreciated..

I hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future.

I wish you wonderful Christmas season and Happy New Year 2013,

Yours Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lancs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We visited for 3 nights in Dec 2012 for my birthday weekend in Prague. The hotel is attractive inside and out and in a great location along the river seconds from the Charles bridge and very close to the Metro, tram and bus stops. It is only minutes from Old town square and other attractions such as theatres and churches. Apparently Mozart once resided in the building although we weren't told anything further...

Our room was on the first floor and while it didn't have quite the great views other people have mentioned, we could see the river and while it didn't benefit from any balcony, it didn't really matter to us because we were out a lot and it was far too cold to be on a balcony anyway!

The room itself was lovely and spacious with a large and very comfortable four poster bed, A bath in the bathroom big enough for two and a fantastic Tassimo type machine and a kettle tucked away in a little kitchenette for a quick cuppa. Everything else was good quality and more importantly in one piece! There was also free WiFi in every room which was quick and always worked and came as a great help. The TV had very limited English channels and we couldn't seem to get any pay per view films etc but again it didn't bother us but I know that some people like them.

While we didn't get any of the perks other people seem to have benefited from i.e. upgrades and arrival drinks etc, on our few brief encounters with the staff we found them friendly and efficient and happy to accommodate and help however they could.

There is a restaurant in the hotel which we didn't have chance to try but it certainly looked very nice and seemed to have a good reputation with other people we spoke to and the prices seemed reasonable.

As with most hotel, The mini bar was as ever over-priced (although not quite as bad as some we have been in) as was the room service especially when you added the seemingly obligatory charge which was in itself more than a lot of the dishes!

All in all, A very nice hotel which we would certainly stay at again.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are excellent and so I would think It is probably well worth the small addit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Pachtuv Palace and also thank you for your positive feedback.
I am happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we could be part of your Prague experience. Thank you for your compliments on room, staff and services. Feedbacks like yours mean a lot to us.

I apologize you weren’t offered a glass of sparkling wine upon arrival. Do you remember the name of a person who checked you in? I would like to find out why they didn’t offer you this service as it is part of our welcome treatment for every guest. I was disappointed to hear that. I also apologize for the problem with the pay tv. I am not aware of any problems and will make the technician to check this service in all the rooms. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

As per the Mozarts stay at Pachtuv Palace, I wonder if you asked the reception about the story? The story says The old Count Jan Josef Pachta considered to be an important person, was famous for his musical tradition, and had his own orchestra. Many prominent personalities and musicians have grazed the walls of Pachta’s palace among many being Giacomo Casanova, Richard Wagner, Ludwig Van Beethoven, but the most esteemed guest above all was Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, who was a frequent visitor of the Count. It was at the palace that Mozart and Casanova met for the first time, it was to be the first and last encounter between the two.

It is told that Mozart had promised the Count on several occasions to compose six dances for him for his ensemble, however Mozart always had an excuse or an engagement to meet. One evening the Count invented a clever ruse and tricked Mozart to a dinner at the Palace. When Mozart arrived at the designated room, he found to his dismay spread out on a table, ink and parchment and no one around, only himself and the Count.

Mozart seemed to be annoyed and said: “It means that I´m your prisoner. For how long will that be?” Pachta replied: “ It depends on you. The sooner you finish the work, the sooner you will be free.”

Then he left rather unhappy Mozart looking out of the window on the river. At noon he finished his compositions. The same evening a big ball was held in the Pachta house and everyone could listen to Mozart´s new dances. The atmosphere was wonderful and Mozart but especially his wife were overjoyed.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future.

Have a wonderful Christmas,

with kind regards,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was upgraded to a suite on what was the last stop on a four week tour of Italy and Prague. The staff were amazing and could not do enough to assist. A champagne was waiting for me on my arrival which was a great touch. The room was great and had an excellent view of the Charles Bridge and the Castle - although there were scaffolding for renovations - still did not detract from the view. The staff arranged for a tour for me which was really good. The wireless internet was strong and I easily communicated back home on Skype numerous times over a amble and satisfying breakfast. The location is fantastic and within walking distance of everywhere. The cafes and bars around have great food as does the hotel. I sincerely recommend this hotel to travellers. Thank you Mamaison.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade to a suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Pachtuv Palace and also thank you for your positive feedback.
I am happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we could be part of your Prague experience. Thank you so very much for the compliments about the employees as well as the restaurant Amade.

I apologize for the reconstruction of the building and the impact it might have on your stay. Thank you for being so understandable. The façade is done as of end of November and now we have our views back.

I hope to welcome you back in the future,

I wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 2013!

With kind regards,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I actually stayed here last Thanksgiving (2011) with my mom on a 5 day vacation in Prague.
Hotel is well located and the room is spacious with plenty storage areas. We had the standard double with a private terrace facing the courtyard at a corner. The room is also equipped with a small kitchenette hiding inside an armoire. The toilet room is separated from the bathroom with its own tiny sink. The hotel offers basic toiletries from L'Occitane, sewing kit, bath robes, shoe shine kit, and an umbrella for guests that didn't bring their own.

Staffs are courteous and helpful. You get a welcome drink upon arrival and free WiFi in the lobby (complimentary wired internet access in all rooms). We also took their airport transfer service which we enjoyed as well. The hotel restaurant, Amade, is also wonderful, highly recommended to have at least one meal during the stay there!

Location is unbeatable because it sits in the heart of Prague. All the sites are within walking distance and Charles Bridge is only 5 minutes away. Subway and tram stations are also nearby.

I highly recommended this hotel for those who wanted an affordable, yet luxury stay in Prague!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llc2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback here on the Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to find out that our guests are happy and enjoy their stay at Pachtuv Palace. I am happy to hear your compliments on the service and I will definitely share this review with my colleagues.

I hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were so relieved when we arrived here after randomly booking from an internet deal. Very warm welcome and glass of prosecco before we were taken to our lovely four poster bed room. The bathroom was well decorated and very clean with everything you'd expect (Bar an IRON!). From being used to crappy hotels in London this was luxury and its right on the river, next charles bridge...you couldnt be more central without being on a side street above a bar (and noone wants that:-) ) The nextday a film crew arrived to film a czech movie which was interesting and made us feel very glam but meant we had to shuffle to the empty restaurant to wait for our taxi when we left. Understandable but worth mentioning. Do have breakfast there- the english fry up is actually a real treat after the day before where we tried breakfast elsewhere in town (expensive and weird) Go for the menu instead of buffet which is stupidly expensive for what it is. Overall a really really nice stay we were very sad to leave!

Room Tip: we didnt see others but eventhough we didnt have a room/balcony it was absolutely fine. Its winter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europhile13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and also thank you for your recent stay at Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace in Prague.

I am happy to find out that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with the services, room as well as the hotel breakfast.

I apologize if the filming crew was an inconvenience for you and if it had impact on your stay. I agree that the reception should mention it to you and I am sorry they forgot. They were filming a Czech movie fairy tale that will be on TV next Christmas.

I hope to welcome you back soon. Prague in Spring is beautiful.

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I don't know where to start really with Pachtuv Palace - the most central location, literally just two steps away from Charles Bridge and other beauties or Prague? Or should I mention the suites - enormous apartments even, we had a Junior Suite definitely worth its price with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, large sitting room, large windows into two beautiful courtyards? Or the impeccable service - efficient yet hardly noticeable? Of the lesser note, but also contributing to a great experience were breakfast buffet, selection of wines in the evening, frescoes in the suites and gorgeous reception areas for sitting with friends, waiting or playing cards... If you are going to Prague, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imantonina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback here on the Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to find out that our guests are happy and enjoy their stay at Pachtuv Palace. I am happy to hear your compliments on the service and I will forward it to my colleagues.

I hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,


Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

From the moment we checked in to our departure we were treated like royalty. starting with a glass of champagne. The architecture, furniture, courtyard, everything reminds you of Old Europe. Our room, or should I say our apartment, was very well appointed and comfortable. The service is excellent. The location close to Charles Bridge and within walking distance of the Old Town makes it a perfect choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jogetnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#56 of 666 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#51 of 666 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 2,119 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#11 of 666 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#7 of 666 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#12 of 666 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachtuv Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachtuv Palace

Address: Karoliny Svetle 208/34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#64 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#84 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Pachtuv Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pachtuv Palace is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Low Cost Holidays, TravelClick, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pachtuv Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing