We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Tara

Pension Tara
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Tara to your Saves list
Pension Tara
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Havelska 15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 552 Specialty Lodging in Prague
India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The location of the hotel is fabulous , just in the center near the old item square. The staff is really friendly , We reached at 6:30 in the mornigi wheras ten checking time was 2 , they kept our luggage , guided us what to do and promised to try and get us room as early as possible being weekend nothing was available . The worst part is the stairs , no lift and u have to carry your own luggage to 3 rd floor. Please note it is Bed and breakfast -not a hotel. The rooms very neat and clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    18
    7
    12
See reviews for
6
14
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aviano, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I booked a stay here while my husband, brother-in-law and myself were traveling through Prague. When we arrived the reception was very kind and accommodating. She gave us a map and the keys and shows up to our room. We were on the third floor (the stairs are probably the worst thing. We had two heavy bags and those stairs are steep) There was very little noise outside at night, but we had the windows open cause it was too warm to keep them closed. We chose not to eat at the breakfast, it looked like cereal and some pastries, and honestly you can get better around town. The location is a block away from Old Town Square, which was really nice.
Overall, this hotel was not bad at all, some minor things that were no good (stairs, breakfast) and some great things (price and location)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The room was on the top floor above the market. It was a nice no frills place. The room was a good size even if it seemed a bit old fashioned.

The staff were friendly and give me some great advice about were to eat and what to see. They even sent an email before my arrival to inform me about the disruption to the local travel. The place was so quiet at night it was like I was the only person there. Its also in a great place to see everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

the rooms are not those showed in the pictures. they are ugly old rooms, with wore out bed linen and towels. internet is included but it never worked in 4 days of stay. I have slept in dorm-beds in hostels that were nicer. Location is ok but u can find better places in Prague for this price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We organized a trip with 20 people to Prague and this was our stay for 4 days. Since we were young and broke, we chose this pension as it was recommended to us. We were given two 4-bed rooms and two 6-bed rooms.

The accommodation is VERY basic, but at a great price (we paid approximately 80eur for 3 nights). Really, don't expect too much for that price! While the rooms themselves weren't the cleanest places, the beds were fine. There is a fridge, a kettle and a private bathroom in each room.

The location is great and since we only used the rooms to sleep and shower, it was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a lot of problems there. First night, no hot water, second night, no electricity for us. Third night, no hot water again. When we wanted complain about that, nobody was on the front desk any night. Bathroom was very dirty. It needs ASAP a make over, the whole building. Very bad service aswell. The only good point was the location, but i wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

At first, we had been SERIOUSLY put off this place when looking at reviews on here, but we'd booked anyway and prepared ourselves for the worst...

We stayed here for 3 nights and LOVED the place! Sure, it wasn't the cleanest place in the world, (few stains on carpet etc) but that didn't bother us. Sheets, towels, cutlery, plates etc were all clean.

Staff were great, we originally booked 2 separate rooms for 6 of us, and we asked if we could swap and stay together as a group and they arranged that for us. Our room was MASSIVE! it had a en suite bathroom and shower, a hallway with a kitchenette, a main room with 2 single beds, a room off this with 3 single beds, and another room off the main room with a double bed. We had plenty of space and this makes such a difference when there's a big group of you.

We weren't bothered by the staff once like we had been in other places on our trip. We had freedom, and we could smoke in the rooms which was a plus for us.

They provide you with a kettle and some other basic cooking equipment.

The place was really cheap, and the own the restaurant next door and gave us a discount on food and alcohol upon arrival (although the restaurant is slightly expensive for our budget backpacker taste - however, it was good food and we appreciated the discount).

unexpectedly, this was one of my favourite hostels on my european travels!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Tara

Address: Havelska 15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 552 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Tara 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pension Tara is situated in downtown Prague, just two minutes from the old square with magnificent views. The pension Tara offers many tourism services for a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Tara Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Tara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.