We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, near the old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hradebni 768/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Usa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, near the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Only 10 min walk to the old town's major attractions. Room space is the typical European hotel room size, good for two adults. Front desk is helpful and have free map and may help you mail the postcards. Breakfast is much better than its counterparts in US. I was surprised the food variety.

Room Tip: If you take bus/tram from the airport to the hotel, after getting off the tram at Dlouha Trida, reme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markéta N, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you very much for your great review about Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town and for choosing our hotel as your 'home away from home'.

I was absolutely delighted to read that our services and facilities fully met your expectations.

I would like, once again, to thank you for your valuable patronage and look forward to welcome you back at the Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town on your next trip to Prague.

With best regards from Prague,


Markéta Nedvědová
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    214
    65
    27
    16
See reviews for
47
216
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I got a great deal on this hotel. The street was quiet, but not difficult to get to.

The staff were very good at giving tips for places to go.

The room didn't look much like the photos online, but it was fine. The air conditioning worked but it could have been a bit stronger (my partner likes the room to be very cold).

We found that the part of Prague that was most interesting was the area east of the main station. The centre is so touristy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markéta N, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time you spared to share your fantastic comments following your stay at the Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town.

I am very happy to learn of your satisfaction with our services and that we presented ourselves according to our usual high standards.

We genuinely hope, to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our property in the near future again.

Truly yours,


Markéta Nedvědová
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The loby was renovated recently and also a part of the rooms.
The rooms are proper, not that spacy but nice and functual equiped.
The breakfast is good and various.
Caution: End of breakfast at 10 am means end at 10!
Nice service
Parking in front of the hotel free from 6 pm to 8 am. Otherwise 2hours max for 80czk an other parking slot with a nice park officer is opposite the hotel
Open 8 am till 11 pm for 50 czk/hour
The hotel is the perfect base for your city walks. River boats are landing near to the hotel.
A small super market is around the corner

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markéta N, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow me to thank you for taking your precious time and effort to share your feedback concerning your stay at the Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town with other travellers.

We are very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our facilites were up to your expectations.

I believe that we will have the pleasure of hosting you in our hotel again.

Greetings from Prague,


Markéta Nedvědová
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Nice bed, good shower, great (free!) Wi-Fi! Breakfast could be improved to reach the standards of the rest of the hotel, but was ok, really. Friendly staff also. Only a 5 minute walk from the famous Staré Město square.

Room Tip: I woke up at 5AM each day due to the sunrise; the curtains aren't very dense. If you want to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markéta N, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Marije,

Thank you for writing your comments following your stay at the Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town.

I was delighted to read that you had a nice stay in our hotel and thank you for mentioning the friendliness of the hotel staff!

Hope to see you soon in our hotel again.

Greetings from the Golden City of Prague,


Markéta Nedvědová
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here in January 2013 for 5 nights in an executive-room.

We were very satisfied with the hotel.

Good:
Great location, very central
Nice view from balcony.
Breakfast was great.
Amazing beds.
Good price in January.

Negative:
Sitting area was a little small
A lot of noise from other guests, despite the fact that we were on the top floor :-( . Could use soundproof doors.
Not all receptionists are good at english. We ordered a car to pick us up and take us to the airport, the day before our departue, but I guess the receptionist was not good at english and too busy talking to his colleagues to write it down. On the day of our departure there was no car to pick us up. However, the hotel quickly ordered a taxi for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markéta N, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me thank for writing your review after your visit of our hotel last year January 2013.

We appreciate your feedback concerning your stay in our Vltava Suite. Allow me to kindly inform you that many things had changed and improved in the hotel since your last stay in our property.

Nevertheless, we value your comments and hope to see you at the Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town in the future.

Greetings from Prague,


Markéta Nedvědová
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel: For the price very nice rooms, very clean and a normal size. Walking distance to a lot of the monuments, shopping streets , very close to the river where you can walk or have a run on the path.
The staff in the resepsjon, the bar, the staff / waiters in the dining room were all very nice and gave a great service.
Breakfast: great , a lot of choises, low karb and what ever you like to have from serial, fruit , bacon and scrammble eggs.
Lunsj and dinner : The hotel should have informed us when we asked that they normally don't serve lunsj or dinner. So that we didn't book it by them. The lunsj was not good, and the one in our company who's was vegetarian god meat.. Even though everything was booked a long time agao. After the terrible lunsj we asked if we could cancel the dinner that evening. Yeas we could, but we wouldn't get the money refunded.. So we gave them a second change. They didn't have any the wine from the wine meny. We had a three meal course. The main course was cold . We where the only guest in the restaurant that evening. It's strange that the food / dinner could bee so untasty .
Meeting / conferance: nice big room and during the day we had lovely fruits, Sandwiches and free coffe.
The hotel is as written nice but avoid to order lunsj and dinner there even though they give you a good offer. Prague have so many nice and cheep restaurants where you can eat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markéta N, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for sparing your time and writing your review on Tripadvisor.

With a great pleasure I was reading your fantastic comments concerning the service provided the hotel staff during your conference. Your kind words of praise act as a great motivator for the entire Team!

Furthermore, I was also happy to note that you remained satisfied with the selection of food we offer for the breakfast and with the accommodation.

Moreover, I was disppointed to learn that the lunch and dinner did not meet your full expectations. Allow me to mention that the matter regarding the dinner has been discussed with the Management during the stay, nevertheless, we thank you for your comments.

We highly appraciate your business and we sincerely hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you back at the Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town again.

With best regards from Prague,


Markéta Nedvědová
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My Fiancee and I stayed here during our short tour of Europe between 5/12/14-5/14/14. It was only a short cab ride to and from the train station and a short (5-10 min) walk to the town square. We could easily find our way to the hop-on-hop-off tour location from our hotel as well.

We stayed at 8 hotels during our Europe tour. This one had the best breakfast. Maybe the Italian hotels just don't know how to cook eggs or bacon, or know how great potatoes are at breakfast... and maybe that's the same for everywhere else too? This hotel was the ONLY one that served 'home fries' of any sort. Their eggs were great, bacon/sausage was great. They also had different kinds of bread, croissants, veggies, cold salads, yogurt, cereal and fruit. As someone who has a gluten intolerance, it's nice to have something besides eggs and yogurt at breakfast to fill you up!

The room was pretty small, although we stayed in smaller, simpler rooms than this one. It seemed pretty clean though. The bathroom was clean. No musty smells. Nice room darkening curtains, no loud noises from outside. No issues checking in.

Only thing we didn't enjoy was the hotel's restaurant was lacking. We were walking around all day and didn't want to figure out where to eat so we ate at the hotel's restaurant. It's a nice restaurant, the prices were... OK for Europe- nothing crazy but not cheap. I decided on risotto with chicken, and my Fiancee got a burger. My risotto was kind of cold, bland and the chicken was so overcooked that I didn't eat it. The burger apparently was fine, but would not eat there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markéta N, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for staying at the Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town during you visit of Czech Republic and for your time you spared to share your comments with us.

We are very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and that you remained highly satisfied with our breakfast.

Furthermore, I was sorry to note that the meal in our Benada restaurant was not up to your expectations that day. Please, be informed that in case of such situation there is F&B Manager who can take immediate actions, follow up and make sure this will not reoccur.

I believe that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you in our hotel again.

With best regards from Prague,


Markéta Nedvědová
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#93 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria
Astoria
#156 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#125 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#60 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town

Address: Hradebni 768/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in Prague
#147 Family Hotel in Prague
#165 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#216 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Prague
Clarion Hotel Prague
Prague Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.