We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply TOP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hradebni 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Bolzano, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply TOP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Frinedly restaurant staff, helpfull reception clerk, great location - all you can wish....5 minutes to the city centre, 5 minutes to shopping mall Paladeum..we will be back :-) next year! If I have to find any negatives: small pillows. Tutto ottimo!

Room Tip: Have a river view with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town****. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your kind acknowledgement of our staff and level of service. For your information reagrding the pillows, we allready agreed investition for the next year and we will replace all of them in completely different quality. Thank you for your positive rating. We certainly look very mich forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jakub Trapek
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    187
    56
    24
    15
See reviews for
42
191
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chaves, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you book ahead this hotel can be an excellent choice. First, the location is perfect. The Vltava River is a few meters away and the dock where the tour boats start and finish their voyages is five minutes on foot. There is a tram stop, Dlouha trida, five minutes away on foot and the Nemesti republiky metro stop for line B is five to ten minutes away in front of the Palladium shopping center, which is also convenient for shopping and eating. Walking slowly the Old Town Square is fifteen minutes away. The hotel is located in a quiet area so you can take walks at night without feeling the stress of the large crowds near the center. Just around the corner from the hotel is a main avenue, Revolucni, which has a tabacco shop for buying your transport tickets and a well stocked supermarket.

As for the hotel itself I was happy with the room, the service, and the breakfast. Our room, number 605 on the top floor (there are six floors) was much larger than a typical Ibis room and had light coming in on two sides. There was a beautiful view of the rooftops looking towards Old Town Square. The bathroom was large and clean and there was plenty of room for our suitcases. There was a small frigobar and a safe for keeping passports and extra money. There was also a coffee making machine and a variety of coffee, including decaf, and teas for that early morning pep-me-up.

As for the bed, yes there were two single beds put together and the mattress was perhaps firmer than some people are used to, but I would prefer a firm mattress to a saggy one. Finding the pillows too soft we asked for two more and they came immediately.

The staff at the front desk was always helpful and went out of their way to make reservations for the musical events and the different tours we took. As an English teacher I always pay attention to the language skills of workers in these situations and at least at the front desk the English was good. Some of the staff in the Benada restaurant and the girls serving at breakfast, on the other hand, could benefit from an intensive course in English. An example was the waiter at the Benada restaurant who could not carry on a simple conversation.

Breakfast, which was included in the rate, was fine, for me at least. There was a variety of hot foods, including bacon and scrambled eggs, sausages, and even pasta. There was even excellent oatmeal (porridge), which is rare in these restaurants. There was a large variety of breads, cakes, and pastries and the cold cereal section had four types of cereal, including sugarless muesli. Coffee was not fantastic, but from a machine coffee is rarely of the quality of Starbuck's or Costa's so one doesn't expect it to be so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and receive such a positive and warm and very detailed review of your stay.
We are most appreciative of your ackowledgment that our hotel services and facilities far exceed your expectations.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor, I look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town**** in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Jakub Trapek
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel is located in an excellent place in the old town and you may walk everywhere in the center. Tram and bus stops are near. Very short trip to Palladium shopping center and Old Town Square.

Service was businesslike and good. Room was ok and overall clean and tidy, but the fitted carpet was stained. Couldn't open the windows and some periodic weird noise from the street (stayed in the 1st floor). Overall grade 4- (four minus) in scale 1-5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for spending your valuable time and giving us feedback about your stay. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with stay with us. It is very motivating for me and my colleagues to read such a positive words.
Once again, thank you for highly recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was certainly our pleasure to ensure your stay was as relaxing as you have so warmly describe. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Jakub Trapek
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed there 3 nights with hubby and daughter. Room was enormous as well as bathroom. Air conditioning is central and does not work great. Had to ask for a fan. Breakfast is very good with a lot of options. Restaurant Benada's food is fabulous and is much recommended. We enjoyed the food there. Location is off the old town and a ten mins walk to central Prague. Taxi rate is about Eur 10 from the train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Hotel guest,
on the behalf of the hotel team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing our experience with the others. I have to excuse for troubles with AC. We do hope that you won't hesitate to visit us again on your next trip to Prague.
Sincerely
Jakub Trapek
hotel director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

In the reality the hotel hasn't the adequate preparation for International tourists, in special in reference to the english skills of the employees, some of them excesively ruds for the occidental customes and norms....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our Prague trip. I booked it online on their website and it is definitely wise to save/print the confirmation on their website as their system doesn't send an automatice confirmation email. We didn't need it for the check in but just in case... The room we got was quite spacious and it was clean. We asked for a non-smoking room but it clearly "used to be" a smoking room. Luckily we were able to open the windows, so that was ok. The elevators are quite small and during the busy times one waits quite a bit for it to stop (especially on the top floors). The breakfast buffet was ok - nothing really special. The first morning we got there at peak time (09.30am) and we had to "fight" for a table (not sure they have enough tables for all their guests). The reception staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived by car and were able to park it outside in the meter zone as it was Sunday (parking is free on Sunday) but Monday we had to move it at 8am and put it in the parking of the hotel which is EUR 30 per day/night (very expensive!).

Room Tip: Point out that you would like a non-smoking room (should you wish that) and ask for a room towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town with us and everybody interested in our hotel. All comments we receive are taken extremely serious, your feedback helps us to continuously improve our service. All the inconveniences during your stay will be discussed with a management team of the hotel and all necessary steps for improvement. I want to thank you once again for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Prague and would be happy to welcome you back in our hotel.
with kind regards
Jakub Trapek
hotel director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Clarion is close enough to central Prague (10 mins walk) and still far enough for peaceful sleep. The area has little traffic so it is quiet at night. The room was perfectly ok, nothing special, but clean and comfortable. Sound-proof door was nice. The air-con control did not work, though. Breakfast was OK, a bit crowded. Professional staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking your time and writing your feedback about your recent stay at the Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town. We are grateful for your comment, which is a important thing and award to our work. We are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.
Best regards
Jakub Trapek
Hotel director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town

Address: Hradebni 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Business Hotel in Prague
#144 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#147 Family Hotel in Prague
#176 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Prague
Clarion Hotel Prague
Prague Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.