We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful, friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mansland

Save Saved
You added Villa Mansland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Mansland
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Stepnicna 9, Prague Prague 8, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 382 Specialty lodging in Prague
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a wonderful, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have been visiting Prague and Villa Mansland for seven years. It has become an annual visit, as the owner (Harry) and staff have become like family to me. This is NOT a four star hotel, and is NOT in the middle of central Prague and all of the parties. It IS a wonderfully friendly and relaxing hotel with a staff of young men that are very friendly and attentive to the guests. The outdoor deck and gardens are beautiful and well tended by Jarda. The bar staff is supervised by Stefan, who is also the cab driver, and is dedicated to ensuring good service. Olga runs the hotel side for Harry, and is a wonderfully friendly person. I spent four days at the Villa and left totally relaxed and satified. I cannot wait to return, in this beautiful old capital city there is a small jewel that is the Villa Mansland.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, even the standard room is above the norm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is hardly a normal hotel ! The rooms are large, comfortable, and well furnished. Breakfast is supplied. If you don't speak Czech be prepared for some "misundersatndings" The attendant 'boys' have a better command of English or German than the staff. It seems to be run for the staff's benefit. Evening meals are better taken elsewhere.
Beware the 5% credit card surcharge.
The promised entertainment eg bingo will be cancelled if only a few guests remain. The promise of a strip show ? Well the 'dance floor' remained empty ! Beware of buying drinks for the staff - they have expensive tastes.
The resident rooster will be sure you are up at daybreak (04.00) regardless of how late you got to bed. And he does not stop his crowing - advise strangulation.
Wacky backy is openly smoked. Normal cigarette smoking throughout the premises, at the bar, over breakfast etc. Get to like it ! Was the sauna open ? No sign of it during my stay.
The garden has more to interest than the floorshow (?).
The offer of a car pick up - language problems - took a taxi. Guided tour of city / clubs etc - not available regardless of the website. Owner seems to be resident abroad and looking to sell.
Perversely I rather enjoyed my stay, but it was a bit of a competition.
Located out of town. Metro is 500 metre and tram to town even closer.

Room Tip: Away from the rooster ! The supeior rooms are good and well supplied
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The team running this hotel don't know anything about service. We arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport and whilst this arrived on time, when we arrived at the hotel it seemed a complete surprise to them. The hotel is in need of a good clean and the staff only seem to want to serve the gentlemen who are clearly there to pay for sex. We paid for Suite 9, which stank of stale smoke and needs decorating (preferably by someone with taste). Check out after one night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Villa Mansland combines a material comfort with the human comfort which makes me feel very good.Warm atmosphere, so easy to make nice contacts, only gaymen and boys, very friendly staff with a good attention for the guests, good management, freedom and safety!
I'll come back with pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed in November and was satisfied with the Villa Mansland. My room nr. 8 was well furnished, clean and quiet in the night. I also recommend theirs restauranr menu. Its not that big, but always fresh prepared and very tasty. I was actually suprized about wellness facilities. Big sauna and whirhpool with a professional masseur. I will reommend this place to my friends and come back.

Room Tip: I had nr. 8. Can recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

'One of Prague's best kept secrets' it strangely declares on the villa's promotion. Why would a business wish to be a secret? Some of the reasons become apparent when you stay there. It has some good points. The rooms are spacious, well furnished, warm and comfortable - and reasonably priced. The bathroom facilities are quite good. But there are truely bad points! While David, the manager, is very polite and professional, if he is not around you are left at the mercy of indifferent, moody amateurs. Drink and, amazingly, food is 'served' in the Secondary Cancer Salon, otherwise known as the lounge. This is a digusting environment thanks to the staff and various hangers-on chain smoking throughout the day. This may be legal in the Czech Republic, but it just isn't acceptable by modern European standards. Suggestions on earlier posts that action has been taken to address both the surly staff and the toxic atmosphere appear to be without foundation. So, if these are conditions you are prepared to endure in return for the villa's opportunities, then fine; but if you prefer proper service and enduring health, then this is a secret in which you do not have to share.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed in both hotels this year and there are some experiences here:

Villa Mansland:
Nice place, but:
-very poor breakfast, which needs a real improvement ! The worst experience was the Czech lads are smoking at the table while we eat even not bothering to ask If it`s OK for us. So we have decided to go for breakfast somewhere else.

BEWARE: The guest book on their site:

http://www.guestbook-free.com/books3/rainbowbook/

is very FAKE. Any negative feedback is being removed and also fake guest book entries are made !


Rainbow Inn:
Also a nice place, but more little bit "out of the world". Cleaner as Villa Mansland, but for next time I would prefer Mansland for one reason: The swiss Boss of Rainbow Inn (Mr.Thilo Fercher) is not a really good character, a split personality with very unpredictable behavior which made me really sick. The stay could be great only If he`s not there. His young czech helper Mike is perfect. So you need to have some luck to be there in a right time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Mansland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mansland

Address: Stepnicna 9, Prague Prague 8, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 382 Specialty lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mansland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prague’s unique gay resort Villa Mansland is the only hotel in the Czech Republic to have been awarded three crowns - the highest possible rating - by the widely respected Spartacus International Hotel & Restaurant Guide. Its inspectors praised, in particular, the Villa’s especially welcoming and pleasant atmosphere. Villa Mansland’s unique facilities were also singled out for praise in a very positive report broadcast at peak viewing time by the Czech national television channel CT1.If you're looking for Prague accommodation that gives you a 5-star experience - or one that's aimed at the mass market - then Villa Mansland is probably not the place for you. But if you enjoy staying somewhere where you're treated like a good friend, then this is it! The owner Harry and his team made me feel completely at home - even part of the family. I know it's become a cliche, but in the Villa's case it is true: you'll arrive as a stranger but leave as a good friend. All the staff work to high standards and are respectful, courteous and helpful at all times. At the Villa, the guest is king (or queen!) While there are no super-standard spa facilities and no star chef, there is a professionally-manned Wellness Centre and the kitchen offers good, wholesome food. All in all I enjoyed a wonderful holiday and it will certainly not be my last visit. Many thanks to Harry and his team and my enthusiastic recommendation of Villa Mansland to all visitors to Prague and potential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Villa Mansland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mansland Hotel Prague
Mansland Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Mansland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.