We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Czech this one out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tyl

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tyl to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tyl
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tylovo namesti 5 / 668, Prague 120 00 , Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 668 hotels in Prague
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Czech this one out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great hotel, very convenient for sightseeing, helpful staff, in a breathtakingly beautiful city.

On this our first visit to Prague we stayed at the hotel Tyl with another couple. The staff were friendly, courteous, informative and helpful, booking us in on a boat trip and organising a taxi back to the airport for us at the end. The hotel room was very comfortable and had extremely effective double glazing which completely blocked out the noise from outside so that you would never know you were overlooking a busy street with trams going past. We all slept extremely well. The bathroom was spotless and the shower hot. The only downside was that there were no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room, although these could be obtained in the small bar in reception. A returnable deposit is required if you want to use the room safe.

Breakfast, served down in the well-appointed basement, was more than adequate to set you up for the day, offering cereals and yoghurts, tea, coffee and fruit juice, bread, cheese and ham, cooked sausages and scrambled egg, rolls and honey, fresh fruit and sweet brioches. There were numerous cafes and restaurants in the immediate vicinity so eating out was not a problem at all. Beer is very cheap compared to English prices.

Prague itself is a gem of a city and easily accessible from the hotel using the excellent integrated transport system. Tram 22 to Prague castle runs around every 7 minutes from a stop which is lietrally one minute's walk from the hotel. 3 minutes takes you to the metro station (IP Pavlova). You can use the same ticket on either mode of transport and both systems are easy to negotiate even if you don't speak any Czech. English was readily spoken in most bars and restaurants, but not necessarily elsewhere. We were very struck by the cleanliness of the streets.

In addition to the standard tourist areas such as Old town square, the castle, the Jewish quarter and Charles bridge (all easily accessible and well worth a visit), the rest of Prague was a wonderful place to wander round with something new to discover round every corner. We particularly enjoyed our guided tour of the Klementinum (near Charles bridge) which apart from being a classical concert venue is also a museum of astronomy with breath-taking views of the city from the roof. Sadly the John Lennon wall in the Little town is now virtually painted over by subsequent graffitti.

All in all, a fabulous 3 nights - we shall most definitely return to this wonderful city and its very friendly people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,
Many thanks for your gracious feedback. We were absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we are very grateful you chose our Hotel Tyl for your first visit to Prague.
We pride ourselves on the service and facilities we provide our guests and this is only made possible by the great team we have at our Hotel Tyl.
Thank you for all the details and useful information you mentioned in your review, they will be very useful to many future guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once more in the future and for any inquiry do not hesitate to contact us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    212
    69
    16
    5
See reviews for
43
208
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a European Road Trip so I only stayed here for 2 nights, we were a group of 10, check in was efficient, and the receptionist Elena was very helpful, we were asked for a 50 euro deposit for each room which was a surprise as it did not state that this was needed on the website; we did however receive all of it back.

The lobby was really nice, the rooms were really big and were clean, I thought the bed was too soft, however most of the group said they were comfortable. The bathroom was a good size, the only problem we all found was the shower head was too low and you had to hold it above your head.

The hotel is in a great location just behind Wenceslas Square!
Prague is my favourite destination to visit so next time I visit the city I will definitely consider staying here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are truly glad that you chose to stay with us it feels like you enjoyed Prague and our Hotel Tyl to the fullest . It is a pleasure to hear that our property was chosen for the European Road Trip, it sounds like a very nice adventure.
We hope that you will come back and visit us and this wonderful city in the near future.
Do not hesitate to contact us for future eventual inquiries.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Expect to be asked for a 20 euro deposit to cover mini bar,located in s
a quiet area with plenty of bars and restaurants close by, 20 min walk to old town. Breakfast nothing special .15 minute walk to main station.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for posting your comments about your stay on Tripadvisor.
Your comments and feedbacks are essential to improve the quality of our services and to guarantee the guests´satisfaction.
We thank you for your contribution and we will forward them to the department in charge.
We hope to welcome you to Prague and to our hotel soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend for my honeymoon and can't praise the hotel enough. Our room was huge- more like a suite and the bathroom had separate shower and bath. Our room was serviced everyday with fresh towels and everything was spotless. The staff were great - spoke fantastic English and were very helpful. Breakfast was buffet self-service with plenty of choice. Massive bonus was the unlimited free wi-fi! Location was lovely - far enough from the noise/hustle and bustle but still within a 10 minute walk of the main attractions. Thank you for a very memorable and enjoyable stay!!

Room Tip: If your visit is for a special occasion, mention it when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

I am truly glad that you chose to stay in hotel Tyl on such a special occasion it feels like you enjoyed Prague to the fullest and had a great experience. It is a pleasure to hear that we stood up to your expectation and we proud for our team in hotel Tyl as well. We hope that you will come back and visit us and this wonderful city in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I’m sure you won’t be disappointed in the hotel, taking into consideration the amount you will have paid for your accommodation. The staff were professional and helpful. The hotel is clean, the room I had was a good size, with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. I had a room to the front of the hotel overlooking the Square, very little noise coming from the street, even at night, so the secondary glazing does the job! The bed was firm and comfortable; the single pillow was a bit too thin. I did mean to mention this to reception but didn’t getting around to requesting a second pillow, too busy enjoying Prague!

The breakfast was of a standard not un-similar to any other Continental Breakfast, a buffet with a selection of bread, cheese, cold meats, sweet almond loaf, coffee & teas, “Libby’s” fruit cocktail and yoghurt, there was also a hot plate of frankfurter, scrambled eggs and cooked vegetables.

The hotel is relatively close to the tourist areas of Prague, approximately a 10 minute stroll to Wenceslas Sq or 25 minutes to Republiky Sq.

There are quite a few shops, bars and restaurants in the surrounding ares. A nice place is “Bar” on Lublanska, (the street behind the hotel) for a pre dinner drink and an excellent Czech Cuisine bar and restaurant on the corner of Lublanska & Rumunska. Beer in the area is approx 30 koruna (£1.00) and large red wine is 50 koruna, main course were approx 80 – 199 koruna.

Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

We are truly glad that you chose to stay with us it feels like you enjoyed Prague to the fullest and had a great experience. It is a pleasure to hear that we enojoyed that weekend. We hope that you will come back and visit us and this wonderful city in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

we stayed at the tyl hotel in prague in september it was a really hot weekend weather was extremly kind to us. the hotel tyl was a little walk about 10 min from the museum and it was no. 22 tram ride to the castle area. the no 22 tram stop was outside our hotel to be exact outside mcdonalds cafe which was 2 doors from our hotel.
the hotel its self was lovely everything we wanted small personal and quiet. the rooms were clean and tastefully decorated in fact the whole hotel was spotless. reception staff were very helpful with booking trips and tourist information. the breakfast was very nice no fry up but we didnt expect that there was continetal breakfast with everything you could think of.
no tea making facilities in the rooms but the mcdonalds coffee at 630am is lovely if you have a kind partner who will go and get it ! hahaha!
the sight seeing is amazing loads to see you need 3 full days really. we did do the evening dinner cruise up the river which was pleasant to see prague by night. not great on a wet evening as you need to be on top deck to view really. charles bridge is a lovely visit so is the castle and the fenicular and petrin hill we walked along the top round to the castle which was a long way but a pleasant walk with great views of prague and the river.
most sightseeing venues like jewish cemetry etc... and the castle you pay a large fee but you then enter all the venues in that area, worth reading up on entry prices before you leave to allow enough money for all you want to visit.
ghost walk - well we booked it but it was not good to be fair there was a marathon on in the middle of it so it was abandoned half way through and we were reinbursed so i can not comment on if the tour got better??
to eat out- if you stay at the tyl then eat at the pilsner bar/restaurant 2 streets down it was fantastic if you want to try their cuisine they are friendly and the food was out of this world. cheap too. the ham hock and mixed grill kebab are the best ever. dumplings were plentiful! ask reception of the name as i am sorry i can not remember.

Room Tip: we had 303 room which was at the front of the hotel it was ideal 2 large windows to view the trams a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Hotel Tyl (by Garzotto Hotels & Resorts) and for taking your time to write this review. It was a great joy to read your valuable feedback and nice comments about the hotel and its services. We are very glad that september’s weather was extremly kind to you same as our hotel staff.
We do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

With my kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel Tyl was very clean and comfortable. I stayed there with other members of my family using a total of four rooms. Three of these were very good, the fourth was a bit dark and let down by lack of a decent shower - a hand held shower head over the bath. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and nearly all spoke good English. Breakfast was OK. The location was slightly to the edge of centre ,so we took advantage of being on a busy tram route, and the nearby metro station was useful for travel to/from the airport.The downside of the trams was the noise, but the double-glazing was quite good and, with the air -conditioning turned on to help counter the sound of trams, I slept very well. Good loaction for Opera House and overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir

Many thanks for your review. There is nothing more rewarding for us than the positive feedback from our guest. We hope that you will return to hotel Tyl back one day and give us the opportunity to provide you with the best service again.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the nearest future.

With kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyl

Address: Tylovo namesti 5 / 668, Prague 120 00 , Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#180 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tyl 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tyl is a four-stars hotel situated in the city centre, only 300m from Wenceslas Square and near other great historical and architectural monuments and buildings like the National Museum and the Congress Center.Hotel Tyl offers 33 luxurious rooms. Rooms are fully equipped and individually designed with antique furniture and high quality textiles to create a romantic, elegant and pleasant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tyl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyl Prague
Tyl Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tyl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.