We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again - perfect position & excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Domus Balthasar Design Hotel to your Saves list
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF ACTUAL RATE
Ranked #34 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will definitely stay here again - perfect position & excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We loved our recent return visit to Prague. After much surfing, we hit on the Balthasar, mainly due to the excellent comments and feedback left. We have to add our own.

The room was magnificent, and all staff were welcoming and helped make our stay very special. The site is just right, near enough to all the sights without being noisy.

We will definitely stay here gain on our next visit to Prague. Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    66
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
175
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Hotel Balthasar is a wonderful hotel at a fantastic price. Balthasar is in a great location, right next to Charles Bridge allowing for easy access to the old town of Prague. The staff at Balthazar were incredibly helpful, answering questions, recommending restaurants and activities, and providing navigational information. The hotel is very clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious. Balthazar is housed in what was most likely an once a house but has been renovated into a hotel. This hotel has a very cosy and welcoming feel, made especially wonderful by the helpful and cheery staff.

The two downsides of the hotel are there is no elevator so you have to drag your bags of several flights of stairs. Also, the breakfast is at a little cafe that is connected with the hotel by a door but is independent from the hotel. If it is busy in the morning you may experience a delay in being seated.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

This was a great find on Lex's part. It was reasonably priced and right in the center of all the must sees in prague, which is perfect for the visitor who isn't spending much time in there. This was my favorite type of hotel: Clean, quiet, not overly stiff and friendly staff. There DVD selections are a riot. The room was huge (in my opinion) and had a fun view of the streets below. There was also a funky book store nearby which had some great finds.

Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Domus Balthasar for 1 night - I just wish it had been more! I booked an attic room and was delighted when I walked in - so much character with orginal beams, huge comfy bed, hot shower, little windows overlooking the red roofs of Prague, and plenty of space. Breakfast in the cafe below (included) was tasty and the gentleman on reception in the evenings booked us into a fantastic restaurant for dinner on request. The location, just feet from the Charles Bridge, was fantastic. I would reccommend anyone going to Prague who wants something a but different, to stay at Domus Balthasar. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed here on business for 3 nights and this is a great little cosy hotel in the heart of Prague. Great area to explore with lots of bars and restaurants in the area, sitauted just off the old bridge. Rooms are all unique with original floors and wood beams, reception staff are friendly and happy to help. Breakfast is basic and we had no problems. If you are looking for an intimate hotel with some local charm this is a great hotel to choose.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I truly loved my stay at the Domus Balthasar. I stayed in the Royal Room (#6) which is located on the 3rd floor. The location is absolutely perfect-very close to the St. Charles Bridge and Kampa Island. The Prague Castle complex is only about a 15 minute walk as is many sites on the other side of the river. The staff was professional and friendly and the breakfast at The Bohemian Bagel was always good. The room was simply fantastic! It was large, sparkling clean and perfectly appointed. The bed was comfortable and the room was very quiet so I slept soundly each night. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The Domus Balthasar is a stone's throw away from the Charles Bridge on the Malostrana side, very conveniently located and walking distance to the tram and metro. Convenience store right next door, and a Starbucks 100m away. Rooms are very spacious, we stayed in an attic room and then a suite. The attic room is a 4th floor walk up, no elevator, and narrow stairway. Not for those with heavy luggage, because there is noone to assist you with your bags. The shower and the sink have the sloped ceiling, so also not good if you are very tall... But the location and the room itself, and the comfy beds more than made up for these quirks. Suite was very large and spacious. Breakfast was at the Bohemia Bagel cafe next door, which was good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Address: Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#108 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design boutique hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle.Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.