We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Domus Balthasar Design Hotel to your Saves list
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic getaway
Ranked #49 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel with lots of charm and character. We had a lovely room big room with a large bathroom too. The staff were excellent and very friendly and gave us lots of advice on where to go and booked things for us. Breakfast was great, we enjoyed homemade pancakes every morning which you have in the cafe next door. The hotel has a fantastic location almost at the foot of the Charles bridge and you can walk everywhere in no time. We would definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! :) It is really nice from you. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast as well. We really appreciate that you would recommend us and it will be a pleasure for us to see you again! Kind regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    83
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
200
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not only was the location great but it was spotless, my number one priority. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had the attic room so be aware there is no lift, we carried our own bags up four flights but it was worth it. Beautiful room but bathroom had a low ceiling. Overall, nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for describing our hotel as a nice place to stay! :) We hope to meet you again soon. Best regards from Prague, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is situated right by Charles Bridge. This is very positive for sightseeing, not so positive if you like to avoid the tourist crowds or if you would like to park your car close by. The hotel itself is a very nice, old, renovated building, with a lot of charm. Breakfast was good an fresh, people very friendly. For the two nights we stayed, it was alsmost perfect - but if you have to sleep with your windows open because of the heat (over 30 Celsius), the noise will keep you awake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Spent a few days in this Hotel, and found it excellent. The bedroom we had was enormous, with five large windows on a corner section of the Hotel with some windows overlooking Charles Bridge, and the bathroom was large too, with modern facilities and a bath as well as a large shower. It was quiet at night, the beds were comfortable too so sleep came easy, especially after lots of walking around the City and up to the Castle region. The hotel was spotlessly clean with modern facilities, and linens changed daily. If you want a Hotel convenient for Charles Bridge and all of the main tourist sites in Prague this has got to be a consideration. Staff were pleasant and helpful too. Breakfast in the next door cafe (collect a voucher from Hotel reception) was very good with a wide range of breakfast ingredients, whether cooked to order, or if wanting fresh fruit, cereals, or whatever.
The hotel is an old tall building, which has been well renovated, but if you're not prepared to climb stairs then this is not for you. We were luckily put on the second floor, and although stairs were manageable they certainly kept us fit!

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility this is not a suitable Hotel, but if you're able to manage stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your extensive review. We are delighted to hear you liked our hotel and services and will pass your positive feedback to our colleagues from Bohemia Bagel Cafe as well. :) We hope to have an opportunity to meet you again. Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Everything was amazing.

Friendly and serviceminded staff
Wonderful room
Excellent location
The breakfast was really good

I almost don't want to tell anyone about this amazing hotel so it will have a room for us next time we come to Prague

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for describing our hotel as amazing! Most of all I like the last sentence. It is really kind from you. :) It will be a pleasure for us to meet you again. Warm regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Domus Balthasar in July and found this hotel delightful. It was both quiet and very conveniently located - with close proximity to some major landmarks.

It was spacious, spotless, with the spaces well-designed and the details had been thought out. The staff were fantastic, Zuzana in particular was great to deal with.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, both for the value and the location. I would stay here again if in Prague.

Room Tip: Keep both the of the window panes shut, otherwise street noise creeps in. If both the double panes a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear James, on behalf of our team I would like to thank you for such positive review! :) We deal with our guests with pleasure and try to be helpful in every way to make their stay wonderful. Once more, thank you for recommending us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Prague. Take care, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early July. The location is incredible, the rooms were huge and quiet, beds really comfortable, bathroom enormous and spotless, wifi worked perfectly, breakfasts delicious and plentiful, staff very friendly and efficient - everything was fantastic. Very reasonably priced too. We could walk to everything we wanted to see from the hotel, and then stroll back to our haven at the end of a busy but incredible day. I would not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
I would like to say a big Thank you! :) In your review you perfectly summarized everything what we are trying to offer our guests. Our team love to hear that we managed it. ;) We will be really pleased to meet you again! Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#36 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Address: Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#106 Business Hotel in Prague
#117 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.