We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THis is the BEST hotel for Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Domus Balthasar Design Hotel to your Saves list
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic getaway
Ranked #49 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THis is the BEST hotel for Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just steps from the Charles bridge, the location is perfect. The rooms are spacious, cool, hip and comfortable and despite the location, very quiet. Beds were great and the bathrooms clean and contemporary. Breakfast is at the cafe next to the hotel and was delish. But it is really the staff that shines here. I was there during the floods in May and almost had to be evacuated. The staff communicated well and was amazing through the entire stay. They were all expertly knowledgeable about Prague and extremely helpful. I even left my necklaces in the safe and they mailed them to me. Service extra-ordinaire! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay in room #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello!

Thank you very much for your excellent review!! Althoung there was a really rainy weather in Prague during your stay you and your friends had a good mood all the time and I am sure you have nice memories as well. Take care and we hope to see you in Domus Balthasar again soon.

P.S. I am happy that the necklaces arrived fine. Next time we will try to manage better weather for you. ;)

Best regards,
Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    83
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
199
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The staff were helpful. The Breakfast was delicious. The rooms were amazing - everything we had hoped so we could easily walk over the Charles Bridge to the Old Town. We hired bikes, we did a walking tour. We love Prague!

Room Tip: Room 8 is on the fourth (top) floor, so pack a light suitcase - not my 30 kilogram monster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much for describing our hotel as a special place! :) We are happy that our services met your expectations! You are right, it is a good idea to explore the city on a bicycle during warm summer days. ;) Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My partner and I visited Prague for a mini break in March. Neither of us had been to Prague before so we were looking for central accomodation. This is perfect. Everything you could wish for; friendly reception staff, clean and comfortable rooms decorated to a high standard, comfy beds. Breakfast is in the bagel cafe next door but we found this to be excellent - so many choices of bages! You can also order hot options including delicious pancakes.

The reception staff were helpful and offered advice as to how the use the tram network. We also booked our hotel transfer from the airport through the hotel which I'd highly recommend for peace of mind. A very friendly face of our driver met us from the airport.

Room Tip: We had the room at the very top of the stairs. Not a problem for us but it is a long way up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you very much! :) We look forward to your next stay with us! Warm regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shizuoka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

観光地へのロケーションは申し分なく、部屋も最上階の屋根裏に当たるところでしたが、ゆったりとした広さでとても落ち着けました。受付スタッフの方もとても親切で、交通手段についての質問に、英語が苦手な私でも解るように丁寧かつ的確に説明していただきました。朝食もシンプルでしたが、ハムとチーズとコーヒー、それから勧めていただいたクランベリー入のパンケーキはとてもおいしくプラハの良い思い出となりました。又、プラハに行く際は再び訪れたい宿です。ただし、エレベーターがないので、重い荷物はタクシーのドライバーに運んでもらうことをおすすめします。
(English translation)
Location is perfect. I stayed the room is located at the top of the building but the room is quite large, warm and cozy atmosphere, so I was able to relax very well. I 'm poor in English but reception stuff Ms. Zuzana Cinková was kind enough to show me the way. Breakfast was simple but ham'n cheese and coffee taste good. Especially cranberry pancake recommended by a wait staff was exellent. All the services gave me good memories. When I go to Prague, I want to stay again this hotel. However, this hotel doesn't have elevator , so I advise you have taxi driver carry your heavy baggage upper floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello! :) I hope you are fine. It is great to hear that our services gave you good memories! Thank you also for sharing your nice photos. See you next time! Greetings from Prague, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Perfect location, perfect service,very helpful staff, nice rooms (both rooms on third floor), small but god breakfast with very god service. The old details like the stairs and the ceiling was an experience. WIFI worked perfect. I can highly recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you very much for recommending us! :) I am happy you had a nice stay and liked our hotel, design and services. See you again soon! Best regards from Prague, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Domus Balthasar simply cannot be beat in terms of a location. We spent four days there and never needed a cab to go anywhere. Great proximity to the tram - and great proximity for everything in old town, Castle quarter and mala strana. Rooms were beautiful and had everything we needed. Staff was incredibly warm and helpful and responsive.
Lovely, lovely place!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! :) I shared your nice words with my colleagues and we all appreciate it a lot! Thank you and see you soon! Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A small and very friendly hotel with only 8 rooms. The room was very spacious and all the amenities needed. Unfortunately the WIFI was down for two days which was annoying. The brakfast was harty and good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
#65 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Address: Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#103 Business Hotel in Prague
#117 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.