We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere, fantastic location and beautiful rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Save Saved
You added Domus Balthasar Design Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF ACTUAL RATE
Ranked #38 of 668 hotels in Prague
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly atmosphere, fantastic location and beautiful rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed on the top floor (Royale Room) in the Domus Balthasar for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The reception staff were helpful and warming and were always available to answer any questions. The location is ideal being next to the Charles Bridge - allowing us to walk to the main square in only 15 minutes. The room itself was spacious with eveything you would need. It comes with a huge bath tub, a powerful shower and underfloor heating in the bathroom.

The minor downfalls are that because we were on the top floor, the wifi was very weak and would only work if you stood at the entrance of the room. Also the bed consisted of 2 smaller mattresses joined together to create a king size. Although it was well joined it was still a nuisance when sleeping.

Overall the hotel was fantastic and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in the centre of Prague.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you very much for nice comments about our hotel, staff and services! :) We are happy that you enjoyed your time here and that you would recommend us. We have already started to fix the problem with the mattresses so we are working on improvement of the sleeping quality of our guests. Kind regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    64
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
162
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in Domus Balthasar during Christmas 2012. We had the royal room in 3rd floor which was simply fantastic. Extremely spacious, very quiet, nicely decorated in quite modern style, with an amazing wooden ceiling. Unfortunately, although the hotel is just 50m away from Charles Bridge you cannot see it from the windows of the room, you just see the building across the small street.
Service was excellent; all the girls at the reception and Mr Milan the taxi driver who is working for the hotel were extremely helpful. There is wifi available in the rooms and also a PC in the corridor. Of cource there is no lift, as it is a small medieval building.
Breakfast at next door bagel shop (connected through an internal door to the hotel) was of good quality, but quite poor variety.
Overall we had an excellent stay and will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: The Royal Double room on 3rd floor is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel and our staff!! :) We are glad to hear your stay was excellent and that you had a beautiful Christmas time in Prague. We are trying to do our best every day and constantly improve our services as well as breakfast to fulfill the requests of our guests. We hope to meet you here again soon! Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. The location is fantastic-right by the Charles Bridge, which makes walking to most of the sites in Prague easy. We stayed in a suite on the second floor and it was very nice and clean. We had lots of room, and while our bed was comfortable, our kids were uncomfortable on the sofa bed, which was really hard. We ended up putting our pillows down for them to sleep on top of because they couldn't sleep.

Also, because you are very central and in a touristy area, there was alot of outdoor noise (mainly cars driving by) at night that woke me up some but I tend to be a light sleeper. The wifi Internet worked great in the first room, but couldn't find the signal in the master bedroom.

Breakfast was great and in the next door bagel shop which is connected to the hotel. There were lots of choices and we got a discount to eat here for lunch too which was a nice option if we wanted a bagel sandwich to take with us.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and for the money, its a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and comments. We are glad that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us. :) We are sorry that your children were not comfortable on our extra bed. We are trying to make the extra bed as comfortable as the normal bed, we have a big choice of pillows but still - it is just an extra bed. One prefers harder bed, one softer but our guests used to be satisfied with it before. The house has thick walls what makes it technically difficult with the wi-fi. As a compromise to this problem there is the computer on the first floor where the internet use (cable access) is available for our guests for free as well. Kind regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

With the room rates and a staircase to match, what with no lift, Domus Balthasar is truly Over The Top. Truly a valiant attempt in a tatty tourist district but falling quite short of the mark.
Breakfasts are catered in the affiliated bagel shop in which the lighting is mercifully subdued.

Room Tip: Impossible location for a quite night. Select a property away from the tourist centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are really sorry that you were not satisfied with our services. Our hotel is a part of an ancient building preserved within the Prague UNESCO zone what makes us limited in bigger reconstructions. The fact that we do not have a lift is mentioned on our web page, booking systems as well as in our e-mail correspondence. On the other hand we think that our central position in the historic part of Prague is a good compensation for this inconvenience. Our double rooms are both attic (4th floor) and also our most economic rooms. They are normally quiet and romantic and many guests praise this. You might have had a bad luck if there was some more noise on the street that night.

Regarding the breakfast, the reception staff as well as the Bagel staff is always ready to meet the requirements of our guests when they are missing something for their perfect breakfast.

We are constantly trying to improve our services but unfortunatelly not all the requests can be solved that easily. We honestly think that we do not deserve that much irony and we hope that your bad experience (from not having a lift..) did not totally ruin your trip to Prague.

Yours sincerely,
Zuzana Cinková & Domus Balthasar team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I loved everything about my stay here. I don't usually write reviews, but I was such a fan of this place. I traveled by myself, and I stayed in the back attic room which was awesome (exposed beams, spacious, etc.- prob not ideal for anyone 6ft or so but awesome otherwise). The location was ideal- just on the other side of the Charles Bridge. I had never been to Prague before, so I did not know if this would be close or far, but it was perfect- go into town for the day and/or for dinner, and then leave all the madness and walk back over the bridge for the evening. It's such a short walk into town, but it was so nice being able to sleep away from the frenzy. Plus the walk across the bridge is ridiculously beautiful. Awesome staff, delicious breakfast in cute cafe next door every morning (cold buffet plus made-to-order whatever you want from menu). Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in the least expensive room- attic room- and loved it, so I can only imagine it only gets b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and spending your time on sharing your good experiences! We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards and all the best for the new year 2013! :) Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner are just back from a 3 night stay in Prague and we cannot wait to go back next year!

The hotel, the staff and the rooms all exceeded expectations - this is really a hidden gem in Prague! The location is second to none, a 15minute stroll over the bridge and through the cobbled streets to the Christmas markets and near the castle.

We booked the 'good luck' room and were offered a free upgrade to a suite on arrival, we were shown both the attic room that we originally reserved and the suite - we could choose either. As we were staying for 4 days we opted for the extra space that the suite offered but the attic rooms were georgous and we would of been delighted with this room even if an upgrade had not been available! (given the age of the house the attic rooms are a quite the trek up steep stairs so I would keep that mind when booking)

The room was spotless, it had a fabulous bathroom with heated floors, a seperate shower and deep set bath. It also had a small kitchen area with kettle, mini bar, microwave & hob.

Breakfast was in a little cafe attached to the hotel. The staff were so friendly and the food was lovely. There was a choice of fresh bagels, pastries, fruit, yoghurts etc from the buffet or if your preferred eggs and pancakes from the main menu.

The staff on reception were a joy to deal with and recommended a fabulous restaurant for my birthday dinner -'Bellevue'.
They handled tours/tickets and literally anything else you may require during your stay!

I wouldn't hesitate in booking this hotel again and really wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when visiting Prague.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much for such nice words!! :) We are very happy that your stay here exceeded your expectations! We were pleased that we were able to provide you a free room upgrade. Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards and happy new year 2013! Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leakey, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This place is truly amazing! The rooms are huge and comfortable, the staff is superb, the location is perfect! This was the perfect place for our visit to Prague! I highly recommend the Domus Balthasar!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you very much, these words are very kind of you! :) I wish you all the best for the new year 2013! Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Address: Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#101 Family Hotel in Prague
#124 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design boutique hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle.Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.