We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Domus Balthasar Design Hotel to your Saves list
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic getaway
Ranked #50 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Domus Balthasar October 23 through October 29, 2012. We reserved one of the suite rooms, and it was exactly as depicted on the web site. We were traveling with another couple, and they reserved the other suite. We were all very happy with the rooms. The breakfast at the bagel place next door was excellent. Offered all the normal buffet items you would expect and then they would ask each morning if we would like an omlette or other hot item. They were very attentive to our needs. The hotel staff was also very helpful in getting us the bus tours we were wanting and arranging a car back to the airport on our last day. There was a small convenience store right next door to the hotel. You are literally steps away from the Charles Bridge. A short 5-10 minute walk puts you in old town. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you very much for such a nice review. We are very happy you have chosen our hotel and that your stay here met your expectations. Thank you for nice words about our staff, rooms, breakfast etc. We highly appreciate that you would recommend our hotel. Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    83
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
199
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a perfect location, literally on the Charles Bridge on the slightly less busy castle side. Service at all times is exemplary, as is the quality of the room (we were upgraded with the goo luck room deal). Breakfast in the cafe next door was also fabulous. I recommend it very highly indeed and would stay there again when I next go to Prague. Taxi driver working for hotel also an absolute gentleman.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you very much for such a nice words about our team and services! We highly appreciate it. We are very grateful that you shared your experience here and we are looking forward to your next stay in Prague. Best regards, Zuzana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Highly, highly recommend this hotel. Just got back from Prague and can not say enough about the experience at this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and nice and the room was amazing. Perfect location to everything you'll want to see in Prague. The breakfast was delicious and again, the staff was so kind. Don't think twice about staying here! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share such an amazing feedback following your stay with us. Thank you for rating us "excellent" and sharing your comments about our location, rooms, breakfast and the staff. Look forward to seeing you again. Marketa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed her back in July and had just a lovely experience. Location was great, walk right out your door and the Charles Bridge was right there! The first night we were there opened up window and listened to the violin player on the street while getting ready could not have been more perfect. Staff was wonderfully helpful spoke English and very helpful with transportation accomendations! Room were very spacious as were the bathrooms! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel. Sincerely, Marketa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is an unbelievable hotel! From the great staff to the awesome room to the amazing location I don't know where to start. You are right next to the famous Charles bridge. The area on this side of the bridge is less crowded and there are so many great restaurants to choose from within a 5 minute walk. You can walk to Prague castle in 15 minutes. The room was very spacious (room#5) with a view of the bridge. The washroom was big and updated and the WiFi worked well. The beds are big and very comfortable. Not alot of TV selection but we were not there to watch TV. The Bohemian Bagel place next door (attached) was great for breakfast and included in the price. The service here was great! I did notice if you book directly with them you get a discount if you stay 3 or more days and you can arrange to have the driver pick you up at the train station or airport. There is a safe in the room if you need it as well. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel and my wife and I travel all over the world. It felt like we were staying with family (that we liked;-)) Great visit!

Room Tip: Room # 5 was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Allow me to thank you for your beautiful review about our hotel. I was delighted to read, that our facilities and service met your expectations. Regards, Marketa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent location close to Charles Bridge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Efficient and well priced transfer service. Enjoyed breakfast in the Cafe next door. Occasionally a bit noisy as people ascended/descended stairs in hotel. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Domus Balthasar Hotel and for your kind words about our hotel and staff. Yours Sincerely, Marketa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

this was a great hotel. the staff was friendly and the rooms were very spacious. it was a bit touristy but it was close the charles bridge and close to everything. i highly recommend staying here in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for such a nice review about your stay in our hotel. I hope we can welcome you back next time. Sincerely, Marketa Slaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
#65 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Address: Mostecka 5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#103 Business Hotel in Prague
#116 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.