We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gallery Hotel SIS

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gallery Hotel SIS to your Saves list
Gallery Hotel SIS
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Rostislavova 253/17, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic (Praha 4)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #445 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

i have read alot of reviews about this hotel and i must say most them are true. The hotel was very hard to find since this is way off the city center and once you are far from the tourist areas, you will have trouble communicating. but that is not the hotel's fault. i was on a tight budget since i was backpacking so i was not expecting a "shangri-la". i must start with the hotel staff, who was very helpful in showing me how to reach the city center and what sights to see without me asking which was a big plus. i got to my room and although i expected a bigger space, was clean had a big bed and had a nice bathroom. i also noticed that there were only 4 channels on tv and no english programs (not even subtitles) so i recommend bringing an ipod or just stay out as long as you can. this was perfect for me because i only used the room to sleep in. and i must agree with one review that the surrounding areas didnt look safe at night, but found an alternate route at the front where most of the shops were. the breakfast was quite filling but could use a little more variety. all in all, i had a pleasant stay and would recommend this to any traveler on a budget. i am just annoyed at some reviews that tell how "bad" this hotel is when it is not.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    34
    16
    15
See reviews for
9
43
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Although rated 4 stars, this hotel is NOT a 4 star hotel. Although saying that, I couldn't really fault it. I had a single room, which was pretty small, but clean and comfortable.

The free breakfast was nice and comprised frankfurters/hot dogs, cold meats, cheese, breads/toast, some pastries, juice, cereal and tea and coffee.

There are computers near the lobby, and the hotel does have wi fi for free but I had no signal in my room. Not sure if it was just generally poor wi fi coverage or where my room was located. But if you go into the lobby the wi fi signal is strong.

Don't let the distance from town worry you. There is a tram about a 3-5 minute walk away that takes you into the centre of town in about 15-20 minutes. Alternatively just take a taxi - cost converts to about 8GBP, 12USD, 18AUD. Also, there is a 24 hour tram that will take you back to the tram stop near the hotel.

The lady at reception was very helpful and friendly!

There isn't a great deal to do around the hotel, but Prague isn't a city where you hang in the suburbs. Prague is all about the centre of town. On that note, make sure you take a walking tour! An absolute must. So much history to learn about.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

A pleasant clean hotel.
Not very close to the centre but easy to hop on a tram at the end of the road.
The breakfasts were lovely in the hotel and the bar has lots of character.
My only complaint is they were having work done at the time which i WASNT aware of. The workmen started before 8am each morning of our 3 night stay so we didnt get much sleep!!
There was also supposed to be a Spa which i was looking forward to and it wasnt anywhere to be seen!!! Maybe that was what they were building???
They also tried to charge me for water from the mini bar which i hadnt had, this may have been a one off mistake though as after a few words he finally removed it!
Other than that the decor is lovely and its good value for money
I would go back knowing that the renovation has finished so you can get a good nights sleep!!

  • Liked — breakfast and the decor. The bar was nice too
  • Disliked — Noise from workmen
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed at the Gallery Sis for 2 nights, we decided to make our own way there from the airport this was a little confusing but found it in the end, my first opinion of the area the hotel was in was it was a little run down, but once inside the hotel it was lovely and clean, our room was nice and clean also, it had a TV but not for English viewing not that that mattered as i had gone to explore not watch the box, the bathroom was immaculate and also had a hairdryer. It was ideal for a short stay, i wouldnt be booking my family holiday there though. The breakfast buffet was great typical continental style, cheese, ham, bread, cake, and many more items, it was all fresh and changed practically every 10 minutes for more fresh items, i was very impressed.
The staff were not overly friendly, but were approachable, and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for short city breaks.
The area as i said was a little run down, but we were not far away from all the action at all the tram stops were just up the road from the hotel, and the number 11 tram to Mustek takes you right into Wenslas square. I didnt realise how close everything was but once your there, the old town, charles bridge etc etc are not too far at all.

  • Liked — Nice and clean, and near all of the action
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is not a four star hotel as claimed.
The hotel is good for maybe one night on a summer evening.
Problems found were:
1. No heating in the room, in Oct that's poor.
2. No tea/coffee making in room.
3. No shampoo etc in room.
4. No english speaking TV in room.
5. Decor very basic with wires trailing from plug half up wall to light fittings.
6. Breakfast, is cheese, ham, bread, boiled egg, cerial, with weak fruit juice and poor coffee/tea machine.
We have been in many countries and some hotels are better than others. This one won't win any prizes, but may win a prize for claiming to be a luxury 4 star hotel when its not..
Its OK for a very short stay but do you really want to be in a cold room in Prague in Oct with no heating with no english TV, the choice is yours, but dont say you haven't be warned.
On a good note, the hotel staff put us in the right direction to get to the city and the tram is about a ten minute ride to the city.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Poor room quality
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

Generally a good short break hotel. Not luxurious but a little more than adequate which was good for what we paid. The room was a reasonable size, well decorated and and clean. The shower room was good and the shower pressure and temperature wasn't a problem.

Breakfast was adequate and layed out nicely, there is internet available, and most of the staff were adequately pleasant. One receptionist couldn't help us with an easy thing like where to buy a stamp and was pretty useless generally.

We steered clear of using any of the aminities due to what we'd read about excessive charging. There is a local shop around the corner to pick up snacks and drinks etc.

The location was a bit away from the main attractions and centre but we bought a reasonably priced day ticket for the tram and got to the old town using the number 18 from just up the road from the hotel.

The area the hotel is situated in is a bit run down and if you venture locally it's a bit depressing. If you like to watch TV in your room then as long as you speak other languages apart from English you'd be OK. There wasn't one English speaking TV channel available and considering many guests were English speakers it needs addressing. However, you don't go away to watch TV.

On arrival we were asked to provide our credit card details for their records. We had to tell them that we'd left all those at home because we didn't feel comfortable doing this. We said that if need be we'd pay for anything with cash.

When attempting to book a taxi with an external company a feeble attempt was made to stop us. We were told that the hotel phone wouldn't let us dail those numbers and that we could only use the hotel taxi service (This was the same receptionist mentioned above). The hotel charged czK 800 and the company we ended up using charged czK 560. We used the hotel phone to call the airport taxi service incidently but had to say we were calling local tourist information to get connected from the hotel switchboard.

Overall it's a mixed bag with good rooms, reasonable price and most staff were good but there were a few downers.

  • Liked — Clean and well decorated
  • Disliked — No English speaking TV in room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

After reading some of the reviews on here we arrived at the hotel
thinking it was going to be poor,how wrong we were!
Its a very smart hotel with clean tidy rooms,good food and polite English speaking staff.
The bathroom was immaculate and the shower worked perfect.
Its 4 tramstops from the main town which takes less than ten minutes to get to and we would definatly go back.
The sky bar downstairs is a bit expensive compared to other places but we didn,t really use it. The one thing I would say is take a kettle with you as there isn,t one in the room and we missed it, there are sockets and a minibar fridge.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallery Hotel SIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hotel SIS

Address: Rostislavova 253/17, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #445 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gallery Hotel SIS 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gallery hotel SIS is located near the center of Prague close to all major sightseeing. Hotel building is a monument of architecture erected in the XIX century. In the Gallery hotel SIS, we have a unique Glass Art Gallery offering an exhibition and sale of many fine and beautiful works of art by Czech masters of Glassand Crystal. Enjoy our rich program of Health & Spa services while staying in Gallery Hotel SIS.Location of hotel is perfect for its closeness to the major cultural and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gallery Hotel SIS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallery Hotel SIS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.