We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for budget traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Machova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Machova to your Saves list
Hotel Machova
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Machova 11, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Vinohrady & Vrsovice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Excellent place for budget traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I needed an inexpensive place to stay for one evening for the Prague Half Marathon. The hotel rooms were comfortable and clean and the location of the hotel is in a quiet section of Prague. The staff was helpful and easy to work with. The internet was a problem (it wasn't while I was there!), but the staff noted that it was a problem and tried to fix it. Breakfast was fine. Overall it was a great place to stay for the budget traveler; it's not luxurious, but you can spend four times as much in Prague and have something not so very much better! Close location to Metro and trams makes it easy to get back and forth to Old Town and other parts of Prague. I would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor; I did not notice any noise, but it is generally quieter on higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
26
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here with my party of 23 in March 2014. The hotel was clean, warm and welcoming. It is very well located with only a 2 minute walk to the tram stop into town and a 5 minute walk to the Metro station. It is in a very quiet area. From the hotel to town takes a maximum of 15 minutes

The staff were all friendly, welcoming and very helpful. There are many great places to eat and drink nearby (the beer museum is great for food and drink - 35 beers on tap!)

Breakfast is simple but adequate. The coffee is great - ground to order. With all of the vast array of food in Prague this lighter breakfast was very welcomed. The ladies clearing are helpful and friendly.

I am returning here with my family later in the year

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited in party of 3 in August 2013.

Had room on 4th floor, lift only goes to 3. A bit dated look, nothing fancy at all. Everything adequate though, toilet/bathroom in OK condition, TV worked, beds OK to sleep on, small fridge with mini-bar. No aircon, and the room was hot, but as it had windows and was high up leaving them open was fine.

Breakfast was basic but fine if all you want is a slice of bread with cheese, glass of orange juice and some tea.

Location? Not close to town centre, but walkable still. Better tram or taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a small hotel with basic accomodation in a quiet residential area. It has few advantages, price, location - you can even walk by foot to the centre (20-30 mins), breakfast. Additionally, hotal is located close to very nice park and terrace overlooking wine trees and a city (not the old one unfortunately). We also witnessed a Czech wedding that take place nearby, which was a nice experience. All in all we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very good hotel neat to the centre. The staff is very nice, room clean and big (we have room for 4person) on 5th floor but the elevetor stops max on 4th floor. Breakfast was delicious and great selection. Big minus for no parking place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We read about this hotel on trip advisor. the hotel was worthed it's money. The staff was kind even their english is not perfect. They were willing to help with advices. The room was clean, a bathroom a little bit small but ok for few days, breakfast normal, not poor not extravagant. few minutes from tram station, 20 min walking to the old city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here with a school party for 4 nights. Rooms were ok and clean enough, although fairly basic. Staff were helpful and although not over effusive were cooperative. Some bathrooms were extremely small and there was a pervading smell of drains which given the age of the building we excused! Curtains in rooms were extremely flimsy and did not keep out any light although beds were comfortable. Location was very good - quiet side street, little traffic, within easy reach of plenty of small shops and bars and about 20 minutes walk to Wenceslas Square, or 5 minutes to the tram and 10 to the Metro. Breakfast fairly basic but plentiful continental. Evening meal for our party was quite dreadful and we felt as though the hotel was only equipped for bed and breakfast and had been talked into supplying an evening meal for our party. If you are offered one, avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Machova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Machova

Address: Machova 11, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Machova 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Machova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machova Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Machova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.