We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlton to your Saves list
Hotel Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taboritska 696/18, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic (Praha 3)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel was everything we wanted to arrive at after a day's travel. 4 stops from Wenceslas square on the tram, we thought it was well located. Far from the chaos but close enough to pop into town. The rooms are cosy, like a bed&breakfast. Great wooden finishes, under floor heating, heated towel racks and a lot more. The breakfast was also great, catering bacon and eggs for our English Breakfast appetites as well as everything you can expect from a well catered Continental spread. The staff were very helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for your positive feedback and appreciation of our services. We will be glad to welcome you soon again at Hotel Carlton.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    105
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
78
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights over our Thanksgiving Holiday. From the moment we walked throught the front door we were made to feel welcomed. The room was clean and was very spacious. Lot more room than we had anticipated. The bathroom was large, bright, and had a shower/tub. We had a large double bed (queen size), desk area, mini bar, and flat screen TV. Plenty of closet space. We thoroughly enjoy the daily breakfast; eggs, bacon, sausages, bean, selection of cheeses, meats, and breads. Also they had cereals and cakes. All around nice. We were able to pick up tickets for the public transportation at the front desk; the tram stop was very close to the hotel. The front desk always greeted us with a smile, were very helpful in confirming tour reservations and dinner reservations. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you for writing such a nice review. We are glad that you liked your stay at Hotel Carlton. Our team is always trying to make our guest feel like home, so it is a pleasure to find out that we made your stay perfect.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights / pleasantly surprised very clean rooms - breakfast if bacon eggs beans toast and a continental selection too. This hotel is about 5 mins from Wenceslas square we took the tram 9 four stops into the square we also bought a hop on hop off ticket at the hotel for a city tour minibus for 48 hrs which literally allows you 14 stops around Prague and a river cruise really good value .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear client,

We happy to hear, that you were satisfied with choosing Hotel Carlton for your stay in Prague. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel Carlton was recommended to a friend of mine and me while visiting in Prague. I did not particularly like the location but overall the stay was pleasant. Marek the young man at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. He is a very sharp guy and could carry on a great conversation as our bartender as well as our go to guy for checking in, checking out or when in need of a taxi, etc. Whatever we requested Marek was the man. We were in Prague during off season so the breakfast was mediocre at best. The price was good so if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head and shower while enjoying the other sites in Prague, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing such nice commentary. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here recently when in town for a conference. The price was low enough that I would have been worried had it not been for the good reviews on here.

The room was comfortable, although there was no desk and the bathroom was tiny. The internet was a decent speed, the breakfast was better than I had expected given the reviews, and the number 9 tram into town was unbelievably frequent and very quick.

Overall I would have no trouble recommending the place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for the time you took to write such a nice review. We would be very glad to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Carlton for five nights while on Holiday in Europe.

Pros

The location is great, it's either a 20 - 25 minute walk down to all the main attractions or you can jump on the number 9 tram and be taken to Wenceslas Square, or if you stay on the tram a bit longer it takes you to the river and it's only a 2 minute walk to Charles Bridge. From Wenceslas Square you can easily jump on the number 22 tram to the castle, or simply walk over Charles Bridge and up that way. A 3 day tram pass is 330k (the hotel usually sells them but they had run out when I was there). There really is no need to use taxis and they are best avoided due to constant over charging and crazy driving.

My room was a good size and clean, with a decent bathroom although the shower was a little small it was fine and the water pressure was great.

Breakfast was decent, not a great selection but more than enough to get you started for the day.

The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly one young man who helped me out a lot by calling and confirming tour times.

There is wifi in the lobby and a free computer.

Cons

The only real issue was there not being a restaurant at the hotel or anything decent nearby, but that's not a huge problem as it's so close to the centre of town.


I loved Prague and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to find out that you vere pleased with services of Hotel Carlton. We are looking forward to you next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Managament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed for three nights at Carlton Hotel and had a really nice time. The room was spacey and very clean. Hotel employees were very nice and helpful the whole time. There's free wifi at the lobby and you can use a computer they have in there in case you need it. Breakfast, which was included, was ok. The hotel is pretty close to the city center, it takes about 5 minutes by tram, so distance is not a problem. I'd definitely recommend Carlton hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your pleasant commentary. We truly appreciate your words and hope that you will visit us soon again.

Best regards,

Hotel Managament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Praha 3
Three Crowns Hotel
Three Crowns Hotel
#306 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#321 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#260 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#121 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Praha 3
Aramis
Aramis
#267 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: Taboritska 696/18, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#118 Family Hotel in Prague
#130 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#137 Business Hotel in Prague
#145 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel, situated in the completely renovated historical building, is characteristic by its convenient position, not far from business and historical center of Prague. Hotel features 48 stylishly and comfortably furnished rooms with air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi Internet, cosy breakfast restaurant built in the original historical basement with vaulted ceilings and a lounge providing comfort premises for venues of smaller company events and family celebrations. Parking is available on the street at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.