We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ahoy! Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ahoy! Hostel to your Saves list
Ahoy! Hostel
Na Perstyne 10, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 566 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very central, supermarket and subway nearby. Great WiFi. Great knowledgeable and friendly staff. Only a couple bathrooms and showers for the entire hostel. Decently stocked but small kitchen. Small common room didn't really entice much of socializing. In-room lockers are small and 10 dollar/euro deposit required for the keys. Wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I only have been in 4 hostels until now, but this was definitely the best. It has everything, since the very good looks, the decoration with the theme of Prague legends, staff is very helpful, informative and very nice, beers and other drinks on the fridge, good and always clean kitchen with everything we need (including 3 bottle openers, free coffee and tea), a living/dinning room with sofas to chill out and a table, board games, a world map where people put pins from where they come from, good music that we can only hear in common spaces, lockers in the bedroom, good wi-fi connection, and a very good organization (the receptionists always present the hostel to the guests and give useful information about Prague, and there are stickers to label the food on the fridge, for example)... And, the most important, in has great location very near the old town hall, and of the places to go out at night, with a Tesco just 1 minute away... It is the right environment to know people from all around the world and have a good time in Prague. The only cons for me are the lack of a good curtain in the dormitory, which made me wake up too early and for those who carry heavy bags, the stairs must be very difficult.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

only pay for 12euro/night (weekend) dorm type room (6person/room) but thats really worth it! The facilities is higher than the price n above our expectation. The location is the best thing we've got here, located at the center of the city and u will find this hostel very easily(only by walking 5-10min from metro). Many yummy resto n cafe arround here and the plus one its very near from tesco when u can buy ur daily product with cheap price.

They have nice n informatif staff, give many advice n thing to do n dont do at prague.

Clean,and art-hostel! Very nice, with wify and kitchen also make this hostel more worth to stay!

At first time we make online reservation only for 1day, but because we very satisfied here, so we add more day to stay here:) ahoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Look no further for a hostel because this one is the best!!! Staff was amazing: helped me print out bus tickets, even called the station when I didn't get the confirmation email, great recommendations for city, dinners, tours, clubs, pubcrawl, day trips too!!! Nice common area to meet people, large rooms with comfortable beds and lots of power outlets, good wifi, clean and available bathrooms and showers (waited once for 2 minutes in 4 nights). Great location with an awesome restaurant across the street. Its a newer hostel, so don't let that stop you - place was awesome!!! Thx Petr!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had a great time at Ahoy! The place has a very nice atmosphere which is perfect for socialising with others or just chilling. From what I saw, all the rooms are very spacious rather than beds being crammed in every corner. The location is in easy walking distance of anything you're likely to want to see and there's a tram stop nearby if you don't feel like walking. It's also two minutes walk from a large Tesco supermarket/department store so anything you're likely to need is easily accessible.

The kitchen is well equipped and the free tea and coffee is a nice touch. I don't know how usual it is, but having a "free to use" section in the fridge for any food that has been left behind is also a bonus and meant that during my stay I didn't have to buy things that won't be used within a few days but can't be taken away e.g. butter. There's also a fridge full of beers and soft drinks which are reasonably priced.

As mentioned by others, the on site laundry service is really convenient. It can take a while, especially if others are using the service but as long as you don't need things available immediately, it's fine.

Free Wi-Fi might be common now but shouldn't be underrated, especially when it's a stable connection and available throughout the hostel.

By far the best aspect of Ahoy! is the staff. They were consistently friendly, courteous and as helpful as you could hope for (even at 3am when you need to buy some earplugs due to an unexpected snorer in the room). They'll run you through all the top attractions on a map and will try to answer any other questions you might have. I and a couple of others who arrived too early to check in at 7:30am were still allowed full access the hostels facilities. I hope they realised how much of a difference great staff can make to someone's stay and keep it up!

Tip for finding the place as I made a real chore of it: The entrance is on the left end of a glass fronted sports store called ROYALOUTLET.CZ (that's currently painted blue). There's only a post card sized sign to the left of the door.
Google Street view has an older image and the store is La Vecchia Bottega. Search: Na Perštýně 10, Old Town, 11000 Prague-Prague 1, Czech Republic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hostel. Stairs might be an issue for some though. Friendly helpful customer service. It is in a brilliant location depending on your walking pace it is at most a 20min walk from the train station. Will certainly be recommending this hostel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

well... first of all, sorry about my broken english, but lets go!!
this hostel has a very friendly atmosphere and a very nice crew.
I stayed 4 nights in a private room. It was big, new and clean. And we had lot of privacy.
The only problem that i saw, was that the sink in the room was broken... but they told us that theyre going to fix it during the week.
Very good location. You can walk all over the city very easily. And have a lot of restaurants nearby.

Liked so much this place!!
Sure that, if come back to praha someday, gonna stay in Ahoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#45 of 566 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel One Home
Hostel One Home
#4 of 566 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#12 of 566 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#101 of 566 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Equity Point Prague
Equity Point Prague
#56 of 566 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Artharmony Pension and Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahoy! Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahoy! Hostel

Address: Na Perstyne 10, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 566 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ahoy! Hostel is the greatest place to stay in Prague’s Old Town. We’re based in the 17th century building, located on one of the main avenues just 5mins walk from The Old Town Square. Amazing monuments and a wild nightlife are here right at your doorstep. We can offer unique private and dormitory rooms nicely painted by local street art designers.We know Prague well and we will be very happy to assist you to have the greatest experience around. We do our best to make sure you feel like home or at your best friend's house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Ahoy! Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ahoy! Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.