We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Retezova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Retezova to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Retezova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Retezova 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

We couldn't fault this suite of appartments, the staff were helpful, the location was excellent midway between the Charles Bridge and Wenceslas Square, the accomodation was beautifully maintained and the location was quiet despite being near all the tourist sites and amenities. Don't plan on making any three course meals as the kitchen facilities are slightly limited (no microwave for example) but otherwise a wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — Large rooms, great facilities, excellent location
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    69
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
122
210
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

We arrived late Friday 8th August to the RIO apartment and were dissapointed to discover that it did not have air conditioning, which we believed it had [from Expedia description and hotel's web site]. Apart from this the apartment and location are very good, so I am sure this would be great in cooler weather. We complained to reception and they were very helpful and found us alternative accomodation with air conditioning and gave us a discount on the night we stayed. We would return, but if you want air-con, make sure this is confirmed direct with the hotel.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Lack of air-con
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

It was our first visit to Prague, and we throroughly enjoyed our trip. The Retezova is in a fabulous location in Old Town, and we walked to all of the sights in Prague. The hotel itself is charming and Suzana asked us to see the Singapore and Madrid rooms before settling in. We reviewed both and found that the Madrid was much more spacious to accomodate our family of four. The Singapore was small, but still could have fit two adults and two small children. The Madrid room had a nice size kitchen, bathroom (small shower), and spacious room. The cafe on the ground floor met our needs for a quick bite before heading out to sightsee. The staff was friendly and helpful, and spoke English very well. We would stay there again. The Bower Family.

  • Disliked — The staff and the location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We've just returned from an excellent 4 night stay in Prague at the Residence Retezova and would definitely recommend. We stayed in the Rio De Janeiro suite which is a one bedroom apartment over 2 levels.
We arrived at around noon and although we expected to have to leave our bags and return later to check in there was no delay in getting us to our lovely little apartment. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The apartment was a good size, very clean and the bed was comfortable. We ate breakfast in the apartment each morning and there are enough utensils, etc to make a simple meal if you don't want to eat out every night.
The location cannot be beaten, literally 2 minutes walk from the old town square and lots of great cafes and restaurants, but off the main thoroughfare so it's very quiet ( unless you're snoring neighbour leaves their window open!)
Only bad points about the Rio De Janeiro suite ( and these are extremely minor points ) are that there is only 1 comfortable chair in the living area - which my husband commandeered the whole time! and as the windows face out into the internal courtyard it is a little dull and difficult to see what the weather is like outside.
However, these would certainly not deter me from returning to Residence Retezova if visitng Prague again.

  • Liked — Great location and old fashioned charm
  • Disliked — Only 1 comfortable chair!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

I'd seen great reviews for this place on Trip Adviser but - unless the Rio was a particularly poor room - it really doesn't live up to the hype. Rio and Berlin overlook a small courtyard which was dank and in almost perpetual darkness as the surrounding buildings are high and enclosing. A previous attempt to grow some foliage up the wall had been cut down and abandoned, leaving the whole wall stained and ugly, with no attempt to repaint it. This is the only outlook that these apartments have and the impact is really quite depressing. The courtyard was also noisy as the sound from the apartment above reverberates around.
The room itself was clean and functional. My only gripe was that the whole ceiling directly above the shower was horribly mouldy and it felt quite creepy if you looked up whlst standing under it.
On a positive note, the staff were friendly and breakfast at the little cafe next door was a lovely arrangement.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

Amongst the cobbles of Stare Mesto lays the converted palace, Residence Retezova. It's simply luxurious and caters to all needs within it's separate available apartments, ranging from single/double occupancy and much higher.

The men and women at reception were really friendly and approachable, although I did not need to ask them much, they were always explaining things in detail to other guests and they were very knowledgeable.

I was travelling on my own but do like having the opportunity of cooking my own meals should I wish to. There's a cooker, fridge, plates and cutlery, all available. Turn left coming out of the main door, then right at the top of the road, it will take you upto a nearby Tesco, which is good value.

I can only talk about the Rio de Janeiro suite which I stayed in. It had a classic stone floor. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need. The television is small but you probably won't need it much. There's comfy chairs and then downstairs (I wouldn't recommend this suite for older or disabled guests) is your bedroom. The bed is very big and there's a huge old style wardrobe at your disposal, along with matching chest of drawers at your bedside. The bathroom, which is large too with a great shower, is here.

This suite has access to its own private courtyard. There is one other suite which has access, the Berlin I think, but I never saw anyone in there the whole time I was around. If you're staying with someone, it's an ideal place to sit out with them and spend time together.

The location is excellent, it's near Karlov Most, Starometska, Starometska Metro station and many restaurants, including a tiny small one just around the corner to the left of the residence, which I'd recommend!

My stay included breakfast in the adjoining cafe. It's a cafe in its own right and this is refreshing, as you get locals in there too. The staff are extremely friendly and the place has its own classic appeal.

If you can afford it, stretch to experience the Retezova. If there's more of you travelling together, then it's even more value!

  • Liked — Location, Friendliness of staff, Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

This little hotel has 9 unique rooms. Amongst our group, we had 6 of the 9 rooms. We all enjoyed our rooms & our stay.

First, we loved the location. It is situated close to Old Town Square & The Charles Bridge. Everything seemed close (once we figured out the curving streets). We walked everywhere.

The hotel staff was friendy & helpful. They arranged tours, cabs, etc.

I loved how each room had a character of its own. Go on line & pick the room & price that fits you best. I can say that all of the rooms are clean and well maintained. Most of the rooms were spacious / almost oversized.

Here are a few things to think about when choosing a room:

The Singapore Suite is the smallest room in the hotel, and therefore, the least expensive. While most rooms are oversized, this one is tiny. The beds are located in a loft. You must climb a steep, tall ladder to get to the beds. The bathroom is on the lower level. If this is a problem for you, choose another room. Having said that, my roommate & I thought that this room was kind of fun. It was definitely a conversation piece. If you are okay with the size & the loft, it is a nice room.

The rooms at the front of the hotel have a quaint view of the cobble stoned streets. But, they are a little noisy. Rooms in the back don't really have a view. But, they are very quiet.

Enjoy your stay. Prague it beautiful.

  • Liked — Location & Character of the Hotel
  • Disliked — My room was very small. Others are bigger.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Retezova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Retezova

Address: Retezova 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#22 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#25 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#78 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Retezova 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you decide to stay at the Retezova Residence in Prague's Old Town, you will be surprised. All the nine four-star apartments provide sophisticated comfort, well hidden in their stylish furniture and harmoniously complementing the historical interiors. Air-conditioning ( not Studio Room Type), wi-fi or broadband internet access, satellite TV, CD/DVD players and other facilities are naturally a given. Retezova will enchant lovers of romance, small to large families, couples, friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Retezova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Retezova Hotel
Residence Retezova Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Retezova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.