We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The MadHouse Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The MadHouse Prague to your Saves list
The MadHouse Prague
Spalena 39, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Madhouse is a great hostel in every sense of the term. The staff is always helpful and smiling (this may vary depending on their hangover). Each day there is a night time activity and they sometimes plan day activities too like bobsledding, go-karting, visiting the Beer festival, etc. Great hostel to meet people, very homey. It is located close to everything. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily. The only downside is that you'll be worn out from all the things you do! Would recommend without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capital of the World
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The owners Rod and Kraig go above and beyond to make sure you have a good time. They have lots of local tips what to do, even organize crazy skiing trips, or pubcrawl races. The set-up makes it easy to meet your fellow travelers. Open kitchen with all facilities that you need, and cool movie room to chill out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best at least according to me. I can't praise this place enough! From the start to the finish I've never felt so welcomed anywhere. The staff is incredible, they make you feel like home straight away when you're checking in. I travelled solo but I never needed to be alone if I didn't want to. There's a lot of partying but the rooms are quiet and there's no problem to get a good sleep. The rooms are also one of the cleanest I've seen and very spacious. The interior is unique. I'd never book any other hostel or hotel in Prague, I'd rather change my travelling dates. And I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Skylight windows at the top floor were cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

"As soon as you walk through the door a beer is put in your hand and you're welcomed by the fantastic staff" -Quote from TripAdvisor, which is totally true

Very nice atmosphere and very chilled staff and guests.
They tend to go to pub crawls quite every day which seemed to be quite interesting, but sadly I did not attend.
Not to far away from the main square, about 15min per foot. It is quite a walk from the railwaystation but it is manageable.
You have space in the refrigerator and a big kitchen. There are also 2 PC's in a room behind the kitchen.
You can ask the staff a lot of questions and they know almost anything about prague.
Tipp: Try to talk to everybody and have a good time :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I cant speak highly enough of this place! Its in a great location and easy to find straight from the main train station by tram. As soon as you walk through the door a beer is put in your hand and you're welcomed by the fantastic staff, its like walking into a mates house. The rooms are all new and big with good toilet and shower facilities, cracking kitchen and dinning facilities and a very cosy TV room. The atmosphere is amazing, within 5 minutes of arriving I was taking part in a beer pong tournament and this was the start of one of the biggest bar crawls of my entire trip! Defiantly get involved with all the events they run, always a laugh and great value. So in summary great place to stay, met some amazing people and I didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter all the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great little hostel, all the staff are chilled and are always keep to get on the drink. Laid back attitude to everything but will show you all the great places to see around town. I wish I could have stayed there longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

From start to finish the best experience that we had in a hostel. The staff are so friendly and really make an effort to make you feel at home. The place itself is one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed in and we met the most incredible people! Will be telling everyone and anyone I know that stay here, and hoping I can come back at some point!!!

Room Tip: Was in a 12 person room, but it's split up so the most you have sleeping around you is 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The MadHouse Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MadHouse Prague

Address: Spalena 39, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 420 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idea is simple - at The MadHouse we will give you much more than just a bed to sleep in, we will give you an unforgettable experience and memories to last a lifetime!What makes us different to other hostels? At The MadHouse, we work hard to create an environment that gives backpackers a sense of home and family. Our bright and sunny kitchen provides the perfect setting for meeting fellow travelers over afternoon beer-pong sessions or hostel family dinners. Daily activities led by our staff include anything from trips to the beer gardens, to ice hockey games, to mad nights out.Set up like a big house shared with 40 of your newest best friends, highlights include a comfy TV lounge full of bean bags and sofas where laziness is encouraged and free use of computers and WIFI throughout all rooms. The entire hostel was custom painted by two renowned graffiti artists from Montreal, Pito and Guko, meaning that you could lose yourself in one of our unique and spacious dorm rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and T4B so you can book your The MadHouse Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MadHouse Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.