We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creativity, Warmth, and Outstanding Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Wagon

Blue Wagon
Uruguayska 19 | Praha 2, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
+420 725 339 174
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 4,243 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $3 - $70
Cuisines: French, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Creativity, Warmth, and Outstanding Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Nestled in a mostly residential area, it's easy to pass by Blue Wagon and fail to appreciate the magic happening in its kitchen. Mixing creative flavors and proteins (venison, pheasant, octopus) with more traditional Czech fare yields a menu that is fun, challenging and changes frequently. It was so good we ate there on consecutive nights. Each time I had the venison, which is easy to "get wrong" -- but it was perfect in seasoning, sauce, cooking temperature and a duet of thin-sliced asparagus and polenta cakes. The plate presentation is as good as any New York high end restaurant - but expect to spend about 1/4 of what you would in the Big Apple. The best leading indicator is the wine list -- carefully curated and personally selected, and priced for you to enjoy a variety of pairings, not make you feel guilty about venturing into new areas. The wait staff knows the wines (including obscure Italian vintages) and was perfectly attentive. Possibly the best meal I have eaten in Europe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, Manager at Blue Wagon, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We would like to thank you very much for your very nice review which helped us to realize that our work is appreciated and it has also motivated us to keep up with quality of service as you have described. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    33
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you like duck, vension or pheasent this is the place (they do have other dishes as well). The staff are great, the service impeccable, food amazing and excellent value for money. I hope I have time to visit this place again before I leave Prague.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stumbled onto this restaurant and count ourselves lucky. Strong distinctive Czech cooking with real depth and complexity to the flavours. Attentive but not oppressive service. Deserves to be better known. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing! Should cost twice as much.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I rarely write a review but I felt compelled to write this one. The ambiance, is great, the food is great, the service is great and for an amazing price. When I got in I was expecting it to be expensive and almost turned back, but then we saw a main course plates for about 10 euros. Although I have been to better restaurants before (much more expensive) I never saw a restaurant of this quality at this price. It is worth getting out of the touristic area just to eat there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had scalops and tartare for starters, duck ans phesant for mains. We loved every single bite. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves food like we do. If we visit Prague again we will definitely come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Wagon also viewed

 

Been to Blue Wagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Wagon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.