We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalina

Kalina
Dlouha 12, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 222 317 715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #752 of 4,271 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: French, European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Gourmet restaurant is located in the historical center of Prague, near the Old Town Square. It is a restaurant built on the expertise of recognized personalities of Czech gastronomy. Top Chef Mirek Kalina prepares culinary delights accompanied by wines from traditional European winemakers which is served by recognized sommeliers Vit Hepnar and Jakub Pribyl.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This restaurant is just a short walk from the old town square in Prague.
The menu is not so big, but the food quality was very good and also looked beautifull.
The service was very good too.

The prices are high, especially for the wine!

Good for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    52
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We slightly ended up in Kalina by accident. We were staying in Prague for the first time and asked the hotel to make some recommendations, of which Kalina was not one. However, a friend had recommended a restaurant that he thought was called Kalina on the river, and so we booked it!
Clearly nowhere near the river and hardly inspiring when you walk in, but that was the last thing that was in any way disappointing. The food and service are almost faultless - staff are attentive, but not overly so, and the delivery of each dish is exceptional. I started with Celeriac Soup with Lobster Ravioli, which I can honestly say as a chef was one of the best thing I have ever eaten. The Tournedos were faultless and the Czech Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir were excellent choices by the sommelier and made a refreshing and good value alternative to what appeared to be a good selection of European wines.
There are evidently many very, very good restaurants in Prague, but if you want something out of the top drawer then I would strongly recommend that you include Kalina on your culinary tour, and at £80 for two including two courses, wines and a couple of aperitifs, pretty good value too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesa de Montserrat, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with some local friends who recommended this restaurant. Always listen to locals! Excellent staff and food was great for all of us, no exception.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with a passion to excel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here without prior booking. We were impressed by the creativity of the menu. Price was on the slightly high end by Prague standard but they were using good ingredients. The wine list was impressive as well.

I had a white truffle pasta which was perfectly made and at 450 czk it was a steal. My friend had a fried veal fillet which was ok but not that special. We had a lemon tart for dessert and it was well balanced and well executed. There was a few starters that were interesting enough for a try, but I passed as I've had a big lunch.

Overall really enjoyed it and I would have gone back here for a full menu if I had another chance. This place is definitely up there compared to many Michelin starred places in London or across Europe.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I don't want to be mean, but I was disappointed by the actual quality of the food. Sure, the presentation and service was all very poncey and "fine dining", but my expectations were for traditional well cooked meals. Instead there was an attempt to do the minimalist reduced cuisine one can find in any European city. Too pretentious for my tastes, I'm afraid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalina also viewed

 

Been to Kalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.