We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good music, disappointing service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mozart Dinner

Mozart Dinner
Kralodvorska 652/4 | Boccaccio Hall, Grand Hotel Bohemia, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))
+420 778 091 222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 134 Theater & Concerts in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YOUR PRIVATE OPERA THEATER IN PRAGUE - Excellent Opera Singers, Historical Masterpiece Hall, Michelin Guide Restaurant.
Houston, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good music, disappointing service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The music was very good. Service was disappointing -- one waiter was downright disrespectful. We were at a table for 8 and it seemed there were two classes of service with the tables with two individuals getting much better service. We were forgotten a few times and had to remind the servers to bring us the next course. Apple strudel was excellent, but the main course left a lot to be desired. The vegetarian main course was awful -- tasted like something that had been prepared and frozen, then thawed in a microwave. I wouldn't do this again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slavka D, Owner at Mozart Dinner, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Beth,

Thank you for your time to write your feedback. I very much regret to read that you felt you and your party were not treated same level as other guests. I must say it is not the case at our events; quite opposite we treat all our guests’ equally important. Actually, the way that tables are served at Mozart Dinner, starting from the first rows in the category with tables for two and continuing with larger tables in the back, is the standard way of serving at gala dinners.

I would like to also evoke that all the food served in Grandhotel Bohemia is fresh, including all ingredients included in the vegetarian menu were freshly cooked that evening. I would like to encourage you and other quests, to give any similar feedback directly on site to the manager or our hostess, and we can assure you we will do our best to satisfy our guest wishes.

Eventually, I am glad you found the apple strudel tasty and that you enjoyed the performance.

Thank you again for your time.

Best regards,
Slavka, Co-owner of Top Culture Agency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    33
    16
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One word ... amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Prague is a beautiful city and we’ve always wanted to experience the most of it during our 5 day stay. We’ve stayed in Grand Hotel Bohemia, where they offered us Mozart Dinner and also showed us the ballroom where the event takes the place. The ballroom was so beautiful, that we’ve decided to reserve 2 seats. The whole event was very well organized and we’ve enjoyed it very much. Everything, the show, the singers and the musicians, were excellent!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slavka D, Owner at Mozart Dinner, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Agnieszka,

thank you for your time to write share your experience.

I am happy that recommendation from the hotel concierge was a good one for you and that you enjoyed your evening at Mozart Dinner. Thank you for the words of excellence and we will be looking forward to your next visit :).

Best regards,
Slavka, Co-owner of Top Culture Agency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue, good musicians, less than average, apprentice level service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This evening was planned to be a special event, a day after my brother got married. We were a party of 7. The tickets were bought a week in advance through Via Musica.It was also stated that 1 of the 7 meals was vegetarian. When we came to the Boccaccio Hall, our name was not on the list. Then we were assigned a table, which the waiters saw as a vegetarian table (instead of one veg. meal). There are no waiters that serve you- all the waiters serve everybody, therefore every request had to be repeated a few times, because some didn't remember it, some didn't understand, and some remembered it wrong. Everything takes such a long time! Then it turned out that there was an option of a drinks package that no one mentioned and it was impossible to purchase it on the spot. The food was less than average. My vegetarian meal (especially the main course) was simply not worth it. Plain, insipid- don't know what exactly we paid for. When the music started, the waiters were taking loudly in the back, even after we specifically asked them to refrain from it, and during the last set of music they started grinding coffee or something during the aria. If that wasn't enough they started taking beverages to the tables during the performance time.
The musicians were great The baritone is super talented. The soprano was good too, even though she didn't hit
a few notes. The ensemble - good musicians.

So after all, it was a nice idea in the beginning, but I would prefer listening to these guys somewhere else. The service and then the food were simply a disappointment. Even after all that, when we shared about our experience, we were told that they (the maiters) are sorry, but nothing else. No compensations. No nothing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slavka D, Owner at Mozart Dinner, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Den,

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that your special evening did not work out as you imagined and that it was our fault for which I very much apologize. This was one of the days that things just go wrong. Firstly, your tickets were purchased physically in one of our sales channels branch office and we were not notified only till very last moment. This is not to make an excuse but to explain that we have taken correction actions for similar situation not to repeat.

The misunderstanding with the whole vegetarian table vs. 1 vegetarian meal has to do with it as well. As for the vegetarian meal itself, it is purely vegan alternative that we serve and based on recent feedback we will be diversifying vegetarian meal with more protein and animal origin vegetarian products, and we hope this would satisfy our guests with special diet request.

The drink package options are an advantageous alternative for early buyers and indeed are available only as PRE-PAID alternative (you are able to purchase them online at our eshop) that’s why you were not offered them on site.

Grinding coffee or serving drinks is totally unacceptable once the concert starts, I can only apologize here again. This was misunderstanding between the hostess and the waiters while giving too early signal for a concert block to start, while few of the guests still did not have their coffee served.

I must say I am very sorry for such a sequence of coincidences, I can assure you that our full team puts continuous effort to have every event running smoothly and to give best possible experience to the our customers and if occasionally for some reason we are not so successful in doing so, we do try to offer some kind of compensation. Actually, we were premiering our new event at different venue that very same evening and unlike other time; none of the owners were present at Mozart Dinner that day. If you do ever visit Prague again and would consider giving us chance to show we can do better, we will be happy to host you.

At last, I am honestly glad to hear that our ensemble, the musicians and mainly the singers, brought joy to your evening!

Thank you for your time to write to us.
Best regards,
Slavka, Co-owner of Top Culture Agency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A great night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I was bought the Mozart dinner as a birthday present. What a great night out it was. The musical performers were excellent with a great selection of Mozart arias and music. The five musicians and two singers did brilliantly; the soprano did the difficult queen of the night aria from the magic flute very well indeed. The food was traditional Czech/Austrian fare, which was fine, although don’t expect a gastronomic experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slavka D, Owner at Mozart Dinner, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Dav,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your “birthday great night out” :) and that you price both our singers, I agree they are both brilliant as you say!

I am also glad you found the meal nice, even though the Czech Austrian cuisine may not feel a gastronomic highlight to you, I am happy to read that it was a fine dinner :).
All the best for your birthday!

Best regards,
Slavka, Co-owner of Top Culture Agency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“By European”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

A very gracious European night. The food was inspired by the era of the music. Likewise the musicians dressed relevantly. It was not corny nor second rate. It was superior to our recent private concert in Vienna. The singers were world class as were the musicians. The ballroom is magnificent. Likewise we spent the final night of our extensive European holiday at this event. Perfect! What more can be said.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slavka D, Owner at Mozart Dinner, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Adelaide,

Thank you for such appreciating review, for sharing it with other guests and the time spent on it.

It is very precious to us to hear your opinion that quality of Mozart Dinner in Prague was superior to a private concert in Vienna! Thank you for that! Our entire ensemble does consist of highly skilled professionals who are members of prestigious orchestras, such as Salzburg Chamber Soloists, The Czech Philharmonic and we give highest artistic quality to the performances.

I am glad that your final evening in Europe was a success and we will be looking forward to next visit :)

Thank you

Best regards,
Slavka, Co-owner of Top Culture Agency
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozart Dinner also viewed

 

Been to Mozart Dinner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mozart Dinner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.