We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Quality - Just what we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Praha Five

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Praha Five to your Saves list
Barcelo Praha Five
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% discount
Ranked #102 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent Quality - Just what we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent 4 nights here as part of a Jet2Holidays package.
The hotel is clean bright and modern - at a first glance the area doesn't seem too attractive but it's only a short walk to a new large shopping complex and the Andel Metro station where you can get Metros or Trams to all of the major prague attractions.
The Hotel offered us a welcome drink on check-in, on 3 of 4 nights there was no dinner buffet so we're offered food from the a la carte menu instead - a decent little menu and the food was pretty good. Beers in the bar and restaurant are quite reasonably priced. Breakfast buffet was more or less identical to any other Barcelo - reasonable variety of hot and cold options, quite good coffee - pretty standard.
Staff were generally pleasant and helpful. The room was clean modern and pretty quiet. TV's have an HDMI port if you want to plug in a laptop or similar to watch something other than CNN or True Movies. (no spare power sockets near the TV though).
I think 4 nights was maybe too long - we got a bit bored of trekking back and forth to Andel, we didn't find much to do on an evening near the hotel, and although it was a perfectly adequate place to stay, we should probably have paid a little more and stayed downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    255
    38
    11
    7
See reviews for
75
359
19
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a short trip here in September. This was booked through jet2.com holidays on a half board basis for 3 days. Everything about the hotel was great, such as location, cleanliness etc. For us the only disappointment was the cooked breakfast and evening meal, while the food was of decent quality, it wasn’t warm enough. As my wife works in a hospital she was only too aware of what food can do to you if not kept at the correct temperature. The first day we thought it would have been a “one off” but sadly this was the same all three days, wish I had said something really. As I say, can’t fault anything else, and was very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

After 2 weeks of business trekking around Europe I had a very pleasant holiday in Prague at this hotel. This hotel is away from the old town and castle district but served as a good base to take the trams or subway for sightseeing. Near the Andel stop, it was cheap and easy (with coins) to buy all day subway passes and ride the B metro line. There are 2 big grocery stores within walking distance to stock up on food as there are limited restaurants on the same block a the hotel.
The service was very friendly and help. The room was MUCH larger than I was accustomed to in Europe. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presov, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have stayed in Barcelo Praha Five for two nights during my bussiness trip in Prague.

The hotel is clean, well maintained and decently modern. It is not directly in the city center however public transport is just on your doorstop. restaurants, shops, pharmacy all is in walking distance.

Biggest surprise was the staff. Check in, check out, info about restaurants, shops, pubs etc. everything was perfect. Big thanks belongs to Marek, Robert, Adela and Martin. All of them were very nice polite ( not very common in Prague) and smiling all the time. If you are planning to stay here the staff will make your time here very pleasant.

I definitelly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quality for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a 3 night city break in October 2013. The hotel is modern, light and spacious; our room was big and had a large bathroom. Everywhere was spotless and staff were always helpful. We had an inclusive breakfast that pretty much catered for all tastes from fat-boy full English cooked to fresh fruit and juice and everything in between. Its a buffet and I had a different selection each day. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from Andel metro and bus station so very easy to get to from the airport on Metro route B.
What I really liked about the hotel was the location. Its a 40 min walk or a 10 min metro ride to the main touristy areas but the hotel is very much in a "local" area. There are a whole range of bars, restaurants and shops right on your doorstep that are used by Czechs, not tourists, and thus, to my mind, are far more interesting. We ate out each night and seemed to be the only non-Czechs around. That's why we came here!
The Barcelo Praha 5 gets top marks from me. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a double room or you may end up with a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Although not located bang in the centre, it was only a couple of stops on the tram. It was a very nice, clean and well run hotel. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. Nice decor and absolutely spotless.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night city break in October! It's a beautiful hotel with all the amenities we required at a low price. We are fans of using the public transport so the location for us was not a problem! We bought a 3 day travel pass at the airport and this suited us as we definitely got our monies worth! Prague isn't a city we would like to go back to but for a first time this hotel is excellent!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Praha Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Praha Five

Address: Radlicka 46/3276 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Praha Five 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Praha Five**** is located 150m from the Andel metro station and only 8 minutes from the historic town centre. It offers free Wi-Fi service throughout the hotel (public areas as well as in rooms). It has a free internet area available to all the guests. All the rooms have air conditioning, a minibar ,satellite TV with flat screen and coffee & tea making facilities in all rooms as a in-room benefit The Nový Smíchov shopping centre and the bus and tram stops are just a 3 minute walk from the hotel. You can enjoy the best cocktails, snacks, salads and sandwiches in the hotel's modern and pleasant bar. The hotel offers a 24-hour airport shuttle service, a fitness centre and a sauna at an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Barcelo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Praha Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Praha Five, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.