We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, cosy and in downtown: ideal !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Garland Pension

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Green Garland Pension to your Saves list
The Green Garland Pension
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Retezova 10 | Old Town, Prague, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 353 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troyes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, cosy and in downtown: ideal !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This bed & breakfast is the perfect spot when you are seeking a quiet place in the middle of downtown for a very reasonable price.

Like mentioned in other comments, there’s no TV inside the room but honestly, we didn’t move to Prague to watch TV.
The fact the rooms are so quiet in such a crowdy place is wonderful, not to mention you’re in the centre of everything (the exact crossing of Charles’Bridge, the old townsquare and the shopping streets).
Breakfast are fine, rooms are comfortable (we took a 3 beds room for 2) and nicely decorated (The oak beams in the middle of everything may be disturbing, but we loved it), WIFI is available and the 2 women in charge were very nice.

Once again, this is not an hotel, but a B&B. And it was exactly what we were looking for !
I’d definitely go back there if I move to Prague again.

Remark : there’s indeed a couple of stairs to access the rooms, it could be a problem if you’re suffering from impaired mobility. If not, those stairs are no big deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    68
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
112
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Three of us (two adults, twelve year old) stayed here for two nights. The city was packed with tourists, but even though the hotel is centrally located, it was completely quiet, We had a triple room with windows that opened into a small alley below. We kept the windows open at night and with the fans, the temperature was perfect and in the mornings, we heard clocks chiming. The included breakfast was more than enough to carry us through the morning. Marina (?) was lovely and helpful. It's not fancy, but it was clean, cozy, quiet, inexpensive, and perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

After reading the great reviews we were looking forward to staying in a homely Pension in Prague after staying in hotels for 3 weeks.

On my booking I stated that we would be arriving at about 7am as we were getting the sleeper train from Budapest, we knew we couldn't check in we just wanted to drop off our bags. Well, we arrived at 7.30am and rang the bell several times, no answer, I then called the number, on answer. Eventually a young man answered the door and abruptly told us to leave our bags in the breakfast room. We asked if there was anywhere he would recommend for us to go for some breakfast and a look around, he grumpily told us to go up the road turn left turn right and we would be at old town square. When we arrived everything was closed and we had to search for a place to eat breakfast... We later I found out that Charles Bridge was literally a 2 minute walk from the hotel in the other direction.,,, we didn't find out this until our last night.

In the afternoon we went back to check in. The same man was on duty and was equally as grumpy and didn't offer any advice of things to do. I asked if they do laundry, he answered "yes.... But not for guests"... You get the picture, not welcoming at all.

We were given a large double which for a pension was quite pricey at about $130 a night, but it was clean... There was no TV which was disappointing though as even rooms we have stayed at in Montenegro had TVs and it would have been nice to watch tennis and World Cup without going out all the time.

The location is excellent, close to everything and in the morning we met a lady at breakfast who was very lovely and friendly.

The day we left we also met another gentleman who was also really nice, so I guess we were unlucky to have dealt I with the grumpy member of staff for most of our visit.

Definitely a place to stay if you don't plan to spend much time in the room and are ok to miss some luxuries for a couple of nights.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Overall we were very pleased with the B&B. Old building had seen better days, but it was still clean and everything worked. Our room was a not very cozy, but clean. Service was very friendly and welcoming, extra thanks for the nice breakfast! The location was excellent, pretty much everything was within walking distance, but the street itself was quiet and not part of the tourists walking track.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My parents and I stayed here for 8 nights while in Prague for the International Prague Marathon in May 2014. Getting to the start/finish of the race in Old Town Square could not have been easier thanks to the ideal location of the B&B! It also made a great jumping off point for sightseeing around Prague thanks to it's central location, and it was just a quick transfer via tram or metro to the bus and train stations for day trips outside the City.

We were in Room 6, which is a triple room with 3 single beds. The room was very comfortable, and we were incredibly pleased by the shower - even though it was small (typical European) there was plenty of water pressure and lots of hot water (sometimes a little too hot!). What an unexpected and welcome surprise for Europe! The room does face the back courtyard, so there was quite a bit of noise from the adjoining restaurant at night with the windows open for circulation, but we'd read other reviews warning about this and came prepared with earplugs - an easy fix!

The public areas were very nice, with the fridge and coffee/tea facilities available 24/7 as a nice touch in the common room, as well as the fridge with water and beer for purchase downstairs. Breakfast every morning was more than ample with standard bread/cold cuts/yogurt, and nice additions of granola, cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast, and fruit as well. Lots of good, strong coffee with orange juice and milk available too.

We had a bit of trouble with the Wi-Fi signal a couple nights, but front desk always tried their best to get it running again. However, we did have to go elsewhere (i.e. restaurant) to get a Wi-Fi signal to do some internet research for the next day's trips twice. The free Wi-Fi is a great perk, so this is just a very minor complaint, just a heads-up that I wouldn't count on having it 24/7 during your stay.

I would recommend the Green Garland to anyone coming to Prague. The staff was very helpful and welcoming, and they helped us arrange transportation to/from the airport as well. We'd definitely come back and stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here for two nights and the location of the B&B was AWESOME! It is situated right in the heart of Old Town Square but in a narrow street so that it is quiet enough at night. It is an old building so don't expect everything to be bright and new. But still, everything is pretty clean. The owner of the B&B was really nice and the best part is, the B&B accepts credit card payment as well, which doesn't usually happen when you book with B&B. One funny aspect is that the front door is REALLY heavy. I usually have to push to get in. It's quite a fun little game.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Lovely hotel. I felt like being at home. It is like a big house. The room was spacious, so was the bathroom. Breakfast is very good and the dining room is very cozy. It is within walking distance from the astronomical clock.The hotel is in an alley and it is very quiet.
The moment I booked ,I received a mail from the B&B offering me a taxi to get there from the station or airport.
I would certainly go back there if I happen to travel to Prague again.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms must be ok. as the street is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
#202 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#138 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Red Chair Hotel
Red Chair Hotel
#9 of 353 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
U Cerneho Medveda- At The Black Bear
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence 7 Angels
Residence 7 Angels
#87 of 353 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Garland Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Garland Pension

Address: Retezova 10 | Old Town, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Green Garland Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Green Garland Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast u Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland)
b&b u Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Garland Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.