We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place, on a very quiet street 5 minutes from the old town square and” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B U Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B U Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland) to your Saves list
B&B U Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland)
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Retezova 10 | Old Town, Prague 1, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 275 Prague B&B and Inns
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved this place, on a very quiet street 5 minutes from the old town square and”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Loved this place, on a very quiet street 5 minutes from the old town square and 5 minutes from the St. Charles Bridge which really helped because it allowed me to go there every morning at 6am where I basically had the bridge to myself. The place was clean the staff was super pleasant and as far as budget hotel breakfasts go I was vey happy. I strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    61
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
98
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here in June, 2011. Clean, spacious; lovely and helpful staff -they let us leave suitcases at the hotel while we went off on a three day trip to Dresden. They also lugged our suitcases up long flight of stairs (note: no elevator). Extremely large room with two double beds, couch in room for relaxing, small dressing room off bedroom, good size bathroom. There was a very large dining/kitchen room located in between our room and one other room. Sink, refrigerator, kettle, all kitchen utensils provided. Best of all was that it was on a dead end street (keeping down night bar room noises) with a music school directly across so that lovely piano or singing wafted out of the windows all day long. 5 minute walk to Charles Bridge and other Old Town locations. Would stay there again for sure. About $130 a night for the room which included all taxes, fee, and buffet.

Room Tip: I don't think there is AC. We were there in June and didn't really need it. There is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed before we knew what to expect and it didn't disappoint. For the price unbeatable considering location (perfect and quiet) how well kept the place is and the helpful staff. Breakfast very basic but for the cost about right.

If you are on a budget and want to be right in the middle of the old town, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was an awesome B & B! Really glad I lucked into it. I read about it in a travel book. Perfect location (Old part of Prague), super friendly people, totally safe, clean and nice accommodations, and great breakfast! I totally recommend this place. The price is awesome too! I was pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As other reviewers have said the location of this B&B is just perfect. Our room was on the same floor as reception but we didn't hear any noise at all. We had a triple room which was very large, super clean, with 2 windows facing the street. We went in March so there was no noise whatsoever, including the bars across the street and downstairs. That might be an issue in the summer but we didn't hear a peep. There was a small sitting room outside our room (sort of a shared room between 2 different rooms) kettle, small fridge, table. Wifi didn't work in the our bedroom so we used the sitting room. It almost felt like we had an apartment all to ourselves. The staff was very helpful in coordinating transfers for us. Breakfast was just ok (yogurt, bread, ham, cheese, juice) but it was the same for all 4 days we were there, so a little variety would be nice. I would definitely stay there again though without question. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

As most reviews have mentioned, this B&B is absolutely a great place to stay while visiting Prague.

1) Firstly, central location makes it really easy to explore the most famous places in the city---3-minute walk to Old Town Square (where the famous astronomic clock tower and twin-towered church are located), 2 minutes to Charles Bridge, etc, provided that you don't get lost in the labyrinth of small cobbled alleys in the old town (but that's also the fun part of it, of course!). From the main station, it's a 15~20-minute walk but u can also take metro to the nearest station (there're two nearby, but since we didn't even take metro at all during our visit in town, I don't recall the station name).

2). The receptionist lady Jena is very friendly and helpful, offering us advice on restaurants, directions, etc.

3). We got a twin room on the top floor. (most rooms are on top floor but even on top floor, there's two levels separated by just 3-step stairs, so it's basically the same level, really). Room is simple, nothing fancy. it comes with a shower bathroom. Also simple and small but enough. No TV in the room but free wifi connection is good.

4). The breakfast is included in the rate. Served on the ground floor, it is typical continental breakfast with tea/coffee/milk/cold cheese/ham/cereal/fruit, etc. but it is enough for us.

5). The whole building belongs to the B&B. And there're 3 doors (front gate, door to the reception on the first floor, and then door to your room) to go through, providing safety. It's located in a small alley so it's very safe anyway.

7). Price-wise, we paid 1,300 krons per night, which is not exactly that cheap, coz there're many cheaper places to stay. But given its central location, it is very reasonable.

6). The only "problem" would be the absence of lift for those with heavy luggage or difficulties in walking up the stairways. Otherwise, i couldn't think of anything else that is bad!

All in all, this is a great place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B U Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B U Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland)

Address: Retezova 10 | Old Town, Prague 1, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B U Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your B&B U Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast u Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland)
b&b u Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B U Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.