We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Prague!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Garland Pension

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Green Garland Pension to your Saves list
The Green Garland Pension
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Retezova 10 | Old Town, Prague, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 353 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Prague!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just finished a three night stay and the place was delightful! The breakfast was delicious and served at a reasonable hour, the rooms were spotless, the staff extremely friendly, the value was great, and finally te location was exceptional! My mom and I were able to walk everywhere in the city and see all the sights during our short visit! I cannot compliment this place enough!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    68
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
112
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at Green Garland. It´s very close to the heart of the Old Town, nearby are restaurants, pubs and many shops. The breakfast is basic and enough for a long day. The team of the Green Garland was very nice and friendly. We stayed in a double room that was very big, warn and quiet, the only thing that I could change is the bed because it was a little hard for our back, but you can sleep well. I recommend it if you are looking for a comfortable place to rest for an excellent price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at the Green Garland for 5 nights and was completely satisfied with it. Save for the narrow steps, the room was spotlessly clean and very spacious. Good value for money given it is strategically located at the heart of the Old Town, give or take about 5 minutes walk. Very quiet at night except maybe for the occasional ramblings of a drunk but it doesn't happen very often. Totally recommend it if you're looking for something basic and reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Located in the middle of the old city, Green Garland is the perfect choice for accommodation.
It is at a distance of 3 minutes to Astronomical Clock and 5 min to Charles Bridge.
Nearby there are restaurants and breweries.
Rooms are very clean and warm, the weather was cold outside.
Breakfast is simple and tasty.
A private car park is 5 min away.
We were a group of nine people, we spent 2 nights at Green Garland and we had a great time there.
Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Green Garland has roots going back to the 1200s; the arched breakfast room dates back to the 1300s, and the upstairs rooms, though certainly renovated, seem to have been added in the 15th & 16th centuries. There is no elevator.

The rooms are large; ours had a large ceramic stove (no longer used for heating), a foyer for suitcases and closet, a decent bathroom, and shared a kitchen/dining area with another room.

The morning buffet was not impressively diverse, but it was certainly adequate.

The location is wonderful; dozens of restaurants/shops/pubs are within one or 200 meters; the Old Town Square is only 5 minutes' walk away. Yet, this tiny street is very quiet. Over 3 nights we were never disturbed.

We would return.

Room Tip: In this historic building there is no elevator - nor is one allowed. The front door is always locke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Located on the 14 century building on a charming quiet street, very central (3 min from the horologe) this is a nice B&B at a very reasonable price. We got per our request a large room (room 7) quite unexpected in European standards with a foyer and separate shower room from toilet room. The room was on the 2nd floor (if 1st floor is considered the ground floor per American standards) so carrying the luggage it was not very hard. It could be harder for bigger luggage and extra floor(s) especially for not so young.
They arranged airport pick up and we arrived in the morning. We got immediately in our room and the hostess gives us some info about the area. During our 3 nights stay we did not have too much interaction with personnel but we enjoy the company of the other guests. Through the other guests we got a lot of good info and we pass along what we learn. I did not find the hostess extremely warm, friendly, knowledgeable (or willing to share their knowledge) but they were efficient. We were surprised when they offered us to remain in the room till midnight instead of 11 am per the rule, since we had a night train to catch. It was with no additional cost, since the room was not rented out for that night. It means a lot to us not to stay outside for the whole cold and wet day.
The breakfast buffet was reasonable with the regular type of cold food.

Room Tip: there are 3 bigger rooms. No 7 is one of them and is at the 2nd floor (american) or 1st floor (europ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
#204 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#135 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Red Chair Hotel
Red Chair Hotel
#9 of 353 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence 7 Angels
Residence 7 Angels
#87 of 353 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
U Cerneho Medveda- At The Black Bear
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Garland Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Garland Pension

Address: Retezova 10 | Old Town, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Green Garland Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Green Garland Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b u Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland) Hotel Prague
Bed And Breakfast u Zeleneho Vence (Green Garland)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Garland Pension, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.