We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burger in Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tavern Bar

The Tavern Bar
Chopinova 26, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 2)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 4,271 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, European, Pub, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Praha 2
Description: Welcome to the The Tavern, the friendliest burger & cocktail joint in the neighborhood! Come join us for signature beef, chicken & veggie burgers, house-smoked BBQ pulled pork, Czech microbrew beer, tasty original cocktails, Kentucky bourbon & homemade desserts & pies!Non-smoking venue, cash only.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best burger in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Recently took a friend here for a burger. The place is small and can be packed but we were lucky to get a table on a Tuesday evening. I had visited before and had a great burger so this time I tried the pulled pork burger which was also awesome. It was so good we went back for lunch the next day and both had the great burgers. You got to try the Tav Fries with Secret Sauce its also awesome. I'm glad I live the other side of Prague or otherwise the temptation would be too much and I'd be visiting a lot more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    70
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Hamburguer in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is, by far, the best hamburguer in Prague!! The hamburguers are very simple, without "Exotic" combinations, but just a VERY juicy meat patty with the basic ingredients... It is juicy and tasty.... it does not feel mass produced. It is to be eaten with your hands, the way Hamburguers should be eaten!! Then licking your fingers, it is up to your good manners. Irresistible!!!
I see some comments from people complaining about the "meat not well cooked.... " What did you expect?? a well done juicy hamburguer??? This is an oxymoron.
The small place adds to the "artisanal" feeling of the cooking, the staff is VERY friendly and the very creative cocktails are Superb. Be aware of some limitations: Not open on Mondays. Reservations only for the weekends and the place is so small that it fills up soon. No parking also, but this is a plus: Take a taxi and you can enjoy all the cocktails!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What an american burger should taste like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've always had this perfect american burger image in my head that I never quite experienced, until today!

The juicy-ness, the texture of the ground beef, it's just amazing! We've tried the smoked beef burger, the pulled pork sandwich and the bacon burger - not sure about exact names here.

The winner of all was the classic: bacon burger, but everything else was pretty good as well.
Perhaps the bun could be a bit crispier but then again most of the other burgers I've had before suffered from overall dryness and that impossibility of eating it by hand.

You can definitely chump on these ones with no issues :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Favorite vegie burgers in Prage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a cozy little pub that has a great atmosphere with lots of class and character. Great burgers. Good beer. One of my favorites.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great burger place close to Prague center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is tiny and crowded, but the great burgers, nice atmosphere, friendly waiters and amazing cocktails more than compensate for it. The place is on one of Riegrovy Sady's corners, easy to reach by tram from both Vinohradska and Seifertova streets, depending on which tram is more convenient. A big burger, fries and a cocktail are around 300kc (12 eur), and if you're vegetarian the same meal would be around 250kc (10 eur). Yes, they do have vegetarian burgers, not one, but two :-). Don't forget to book in advance, the place is always busy. I highly recommend the place for burger lovers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tavern Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.