We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Golden Wheel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Golden Wheel to your Saves list
Hotel The Golden Wheel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nerudova 28, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #35 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Århus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such a nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well worth trekking up the steep hills for. Nice staff and lovely rooms. Free wifi and added bonus as is the ambience of the old palace building. Still need to write another 80 words due to weird limitations by tripadvisor and not quite sure of what to say ;-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oikes G, Front Office Manager at Hotel The Golden Wheel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you from me and whole staff for your great review!
Your few words are so important for us, for our work and for our future customers.
We would thank you again for your time with us and your review.

Hoping to see you again in our Hotel,
Kind Regards

Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    86
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
53
208
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent a long weekend in Prague and enjoyed our stay at the Golden Wheel. We had a top floor duplex room which worked out great for our family of 4. Nicely decorated, very clean (almost too clean if that's possible--the room had an overpowering smell of bleach upon our arrival and I had to open the windows for hours to air it out!). Breakfast buffet was not super huge but definitely tasty with a decent selection of items (fresh baked croissants were a big hit). Staff was helpful. Location was great as other reviewers mention--street was busy during the day but quiet at night. Parking was the only annoying issue--it was very far away (supposedly a kilometer but seemed much further), so if you have a car, find out where the parking lot is before you book your reservation in case you don't want to deal w/the hassle. It all worked out and I would definitely recommend this place to other!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oikes G, Front Office Manager at Hotel The Golden Wheel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review regarding our boutique hotel****

Me and whole staff are very happy regarding your beautiful words. Regarding the parking space, as you know, our hotel is situated in one of the most old streets in Old Prague and our beautiful building is an Historical Palace of the 14th century. I am quite sure that those who choose our hotel wants to experience the atmosphere of the old Prague´s time and leave the car far from them. The walking in Prague is a must, and a few steps in one of the most beautiful place in Praha are amazing anyway, maybe not for the feet but for the soul...i am sure!

Thank you again for your stay and we hope to have you again in our Hotel for your next trip in Prague!

Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We found this charming hotel through Booking.com and we enjoyed everything.The location which is between the Palace and Carl Bridge, design,big and comfortable room, great breakfast and great staff.I truly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oikes G, Front Office Manager at Hotel The Golden Wheel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review.
We are happy that your stay in Prague in our Hotel was great and we hope that you will be with us again for your next trip in Prague!
Best Regards,

Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocsow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great location (and climbing uphill the street Nerudova allows to burn calories after czech dinner). We had room with a large balcony with stunning views of St Vitus Cathedral and tiled roofs (410). Very friendly staff.

Due to holiday (May 1st) the hotel did not provide a laundry service that day (but is a small thing).

Room Tip: 410 - room with a large balcony with stunning views of St Vitus Cathedral and tiled roofs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oikes G, Front Office Manager at Hotel The Golden Wheel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review.
We would like to thank you for your stay in our boutique hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed one of the best room of our Hotel. Anyway, every rooms in our Hotel is particularly.
For this reason, we invite you to stay in our hotel for your next vacation in Prague, discovering new places in the city and our other precious and beautiful rooms, in the company of our fantastic staff.

From us a special greetings
Kind Regards

Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Very roomy, very comfortable bed, great bathroom, very clean, delicious breakfast and extremely welcoming, helpful, friendly staff. If we ever go to Prague again, and I hope we do, we will stay here. It was the best hotel we stayed at during our two week holiday. (It can be a bit of an uphill walk to get to - that could be a drawback for some.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oikes G, Front Office Manager at Hotel The Golden Wheel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review!
We would like to thank you for your stay and for your words regarding our staff.
We are waiting you for the next trip in Prague!

Kind Regards

Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights mid April, room 411 was lovely at front of hotel. Quiet street,close to castle and tram, walking distance to old town + Charles Bridge etc. Buffet breakfast was good, staff friendly + helpful. Highly recommend. Taxi to and from airport with AAA taxi cost abt 600 koruna.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oikes G, Front Office Manager at Hotel The Golden Wheel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review and your stay in our Hotel****
We are glad that your stay was beautiful in our hotel.
The room 411 one of the beautiful rooms that we can offer to you, so for this reason, we would like to invite you to try the others particoular rooms of our Boutique Hotel as a special guest, for your next trip in Prague.

From me and whole Staff,
Kind Regards

Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great hotel, lovely room with big bathroom. Wonderful service from the hotel staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Nice breakfast, not fancy but good continental choice. Good location. As others have said fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oikes G, Front Office Manager at Hotel The Golden Wheel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your stay and your words.
Me and whole staff of the your Fantastic Hotel loves to work among special persons like you and our past and future guests. Our target is to offer a beautiful stay in one of the best city of Europe and we are a little bit lucky because our Hotel is amazing and my Staff, everytime, do the best for any desires of our guests.

A special thank for you and we hope to have you again in our Hotel for your next trip in Prague!
Kind Regards from me and whole Staff

Gianfranco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#48 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#14 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Praha 5
Julian
Julian
#28 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#60 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Wheel

Address: Nerudova 28, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Golden Wheel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel The Golden Wheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Golden Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.