We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recomended hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Golden Wheel (U Zlateho Kola)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Golden Wheel (U Zlateho Kola) to your Saves list
Hotel The Golden Wheel (U Zlateho Kola)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nerudova 28, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #44 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recomended hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel is nice, cosy and very close to all landmarks including Prague Castle, Petrin Gardens and Charles Bridge. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast there is ok, nothing to write home about, however there is a selection and you wont be hungry, thats for sure. The staff there are fab!, Very profesional, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much and if we go to Prague again in the future we will stay there without hesitation. We also took advantage of trasport to the airport provided by the hotel. Its quick, not expensive and they even were able to provide a carseat for our little one. We recomend this hotel very much.
The only disadvantage is there is no air condition in the rooms, so yes it gets warm in the summer. Also we got a room with shower only, so it might be a bit tricky when you want to wash a baby in a sink.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    81
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
177
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool. UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed recently in The Golden Wheel with four friends. Every effort was made to locate our rooms together and the staff were very helpful. the rooms were delightful, mine had views of the castle. We were only about a ten minute walk from the Charles Bridge so location is excellent. Breakfast were really nice with a good variety to choose from. We booked to see the ballet through reception which was hassle free. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We would definitely return to The Golden Wheel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I am very glad I got this hotel address from Trip Advisor.
It was just what I was looking for - a reasonable priced hotel close to the city centre, near a tram stop though not in a noisy central street. We had a large, clean comfortable room with a good bathroom. There were nice little touches such as the rose and chocolate on the bed each day.
The staff on reception were excellent - always helpful and smiling and they spoke very good English. Free wifi and when at first it didn't work from our room, the problem was sorted out immediately. Breakfast was OK - nothing special.
If you are sensitive to noise, you might want to ask for a room at the back which I expect would be quieter - there was a bit of street noise in our room as we overlooked the road and slept with the windows open, but the road wasn't very busy and we didn't find it a problem (we walked so much that we always slept well, in our comfortable beds).
There could also be a problem here for people with mobility problems as despite the lifts there are a few inevitable steps between floors - mind you I think that would also be the case elsewhere in Prague as there are many uneven cobblestones and steps all over the city.
I loved both Prague and the hotel and highly recommend both. Public transport is extremely good and cheap (we got 2 24-hour passes for best value).
The highlight of the trip was definitely the fantastic 3-hour segway tour from http://www.pragueonsegway.com which conveniently has it's office just round the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very friendly recepionist who helped us with directions and
gave some very useful tips.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel is clean, has large rooms-for Europe and a friendly helpful staff. We really enjoyed our stay at the Golden Wheel. It is just down the hill from the Prague castle, surrounded by shops and resturarants, a five minute walk DOWN the hill to the tram or bus stop and five minutes by tram to the main attractions. The staff was the best from bubbly and helpful Petra to efficient and informative Robert. The older gentleman who runs the cafe has 40 years of experience in the resturant business. It shows. He met our every need. Love this place. Will recommend it to anyone who asks. Thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here in april and what a surprise looks like a normal hotel from the outside until you enter
A very modern hotel with sculptures
The rooms are very spacius and clean our room was at the back and had a view of the castle
There are stairs and lifts to the floors with a roof top terrace
Breakfast is a continental style and nothing was to much trouble
Hotel is in a perfect location for the castle and only short walk to the town

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

we stayed in the attic room with our 2 children and were delighted with the space and layout of the room. Within the room, there were internal stairs leading to the upstairs room where we slept, which meant the kids could go to bed earlier without being disrupted by our light etc. Both floors had a tv and toilet. There was wifi, but didn't always work very well upstairs. Breakfast was simple and not always replenished if we attended later. the location was good.

Room Tip: would recommend booking early if wanting a 2 storey room as suspect only 1-2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Golden Wheel (U Zlateho Kola)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Wheel (U Zlateho Kola)

Address: Nerudova 28, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#47 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#47 Family Hotel in Prague
#100 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Golden Wheel (U Zlateho Kola) 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Golden Wheel (U Zlateho Kola) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Golden Wheel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Golden Wheel (U Zlateho Kola), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.