We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for boys big and small...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Technical Museum (Narodni Technicke Museum)

National Technical Museum (Narodni Technicke Museum)
Kostelni 42, Letna | Praha 7, Prague 170 78, Czech Republic (Praha 7)
420 220 399 111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 277 Attractions in Prague
Type: Science Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for boys big and small...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Want to see a museum that will make your hard jump and run? This is the one. And even girls and ladies will find many interesting bits and pieces here. This place is REALLY a must if you are spending more than 2 days in Prague.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    52
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kladno
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun for men”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I like the main exhibition hall with cars, flights, motorbikes. Other exbitions could be a bit more interesting...

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Museum in nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The technical museum’s location is great, you can combine the visit it with a pleasant walk through the Letna hill/park with lovely views of the city. The museum itself is very well arranged (with Czech and English notes throughout), easy to visit areas of interest – transport, domestic appliances etc on individual floors. There are also various interesting temporary exhibitions held there. The museum café serves snacks and hot dishes of good quality at reasonable prices, so you can take a break while visiting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Want t see some real rare technical exponates - go there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The main hall is full of cars, bikes, even airplanes - this is the one I do remember from my childhood and I like to visit even nowadays and plan to go with my boy as he grows. Besides, all thinks you see are real historical species - in some cases really rare (like a train Wagon of the first Czechoslovak President... ). Surely worth going if you do like this kind of stuff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The coolest museum I've ever visited!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was recommended to visit the National Technical Museum because during my stay, the National museum was closed.
At first, I didn't expect it to be so spectacular but I changed my mind.

The museum is very easy to reach by foot, and it's a beautiful walk because you cross a very beautiful park (with a nice view to Prague city).

The museum has different floors, each floor has a different theme. Some are more related to Prague than others.

I was really amazed by the collections in the museum. they were all so versatile and they still fitted the theme.

Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to visit the entire museum properly, so we had to rush a little bit. This was also because I didn't expect it to be so cool :-) But definitely take your time for a visit, I would recommend to see it in 4 hours.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Technical Museum (Narodni Technicke Museum) also viewed

 

Been to National Technical Museum (Narodni Technicke Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Technical Museum (Narodni Technicke Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.